The proposed Dairy law 2019

@digi sijui hii imekupita aje .So apparently there is a law waiting to be passed requiring farmers to sell milk to recognised milk processing companies for them to process and distribute .It will sort of criminalise direct sale of milk to consumers by farmers .Ass licking the chinese has come back to hunt Jameson 1 with the increased number of milk atm’s in the country.Gatheca tunakuonea 18.

Hehehe.
Saitanic this one.

some of the things vendors do to preserve uncleared stocks,
(…and, yes, i know this does not go well with the desired political spin!)

[SIZE=7]Naivasha Hawkers using formalin to preserve milk[/SIZE]
[li]ANTONY GITONGA 20th Mar 2014 00:00:00 GMT +0300[/li][/ul]
By ANTONY GITONGA

NAIVASHA, KENYA: Sixty per cent of milk being sold to the public in Naivasha is adulterated and is unfit for human consumption, The Standard can reveal. The Kenya Dairy Board (KDB) said the milk being consumed in the region poses serious health risks to consumers.

The board revealed that unscrupulous milk hawkers are adding preservatives such as formalin, which is used to preserve bodies in mortuaries.

This came as officers from KDB confiscated over 1,000 litres of contaminated milk been ferried from Kinangop, Nyandarua County to Naivasha. During the operation, 20 people were arrested for ferrying milk in plastic containers, which is against the law.

KDB Naivasha branch manager Hellen Mbugua said that adulterated milk accounts for 60 per cent of the milk sold in Naivasha. She said that raids by the board had revealed that the quality of the milk sold in the lakeside town is not up to the required standards.

“We have come to realise that the milk hawkers are adding preservatives such as urea, formalin and hydrogen peroxide into the milk to increase its life span,” she said.

Ms Mbugua said they have launched a major operation against milk hawkers who are ferrying milk from Nyandarua County, adding that the area has more than 100 hawkers dealing in the illicit trade.

“We have arrested 20 of them and arraigned them in court as the operation continues,” she said.

The manager urged consumers to buy milk from licensed milk bars or supermarkets.

“The milk the hawkers are selling is full of poisonous additives,” she said.

@gashwin please ondoka Hapa Kama huna ngombe. Yes I know people do that but do you Know what these companies use to preserve? No sulphuric acid.
So niuzie Sacco maziwa which sells to brookside and they dictate the price yet cost of production is high?
Juzi watu walisema Hapa Bei ya maziwa imeshuka, ukasema kwenu bado na uka suggest watu watafute njia ya kujitafutia market without relying on govt and Saccos.
I headed your call and nikafungulia Bibi milk bar ata uliona nimeweka thread ya kufungua mpesa so that she can supplement her income, which according to plan she will save more from milk and expand the dairy farm nitoke kwa mwarabuste.
Sasa what uhuru want is me to close the milk bar and sell milk to a Sacco that will sell to him at 30 and I get 25, yet the cost of production remains high?
How I wish him and you who supports him daily can die just now.

Those Mfuckers have no limit to their greed. Najuta kurushia hio mbwa kura, nimechuna masikio, hakuna cha witù witù tena, kwanza kama ni mbwa from one those fcuking families.

Bio played smart.
Brookside will not be trying their shit there anytime soon.

Leta hekaya Jakipash…

yeye hapo hakuna liwe liwalo bana,I am moving to the courts,dairy farmers mnaweza rusha kakitu kwa paybill,yaani maisha ya akina ngina iko seti na bado,mmoja aniwekee ile wimbo ya muigai was njoroge

Which company uses sulphuric acid to preserve milk?

The problem with small scale farmers is that they are unable to position themselves as sellers of safe milk. People would love to buy raw milk coz it’s cheaper, but it seems to me that many small scale farmers have not seen the need to brand themselves - and stand by their brand.

naona waki criminalize mpaka kunywa maziwa ya ngombe ile umeweka

Yes it’s a confidential information, one of drivers told me hawezi kunywa maziwa ya packet and I enquired why, that’s when he told me he was a driver in brookside for years and he knows what happens to raw milk between collection from Farmer to Depot, how do you think the milk remains fresh and clean before it’s processed yet it has been mixed with other farmer’s who don’t even wash their cans

They have through Saccos but these Saccos all are supposed to sell to brookside. Even mukurweini wakulima dairy sells the suplus there yet the package and process yoghurt but some percentage must be sold there.

hallucinations zako za tumbaku hatutaki kwa hii serious matter,sema ni nini ama ufunge bakuli,hii yako ni kama ile walikuwa wanasema kuna conspiracy ya kuuzia dim eyes maziwa iko contaminated na melamine

Milk farmers are getting a very raw deal from processors, in nyandarua, which is the main source of the naivasha milk, we are being paid 26bob a litre. I suspect its because they are reselling to brookside at maybe 30-35bob. 26 bob/l is bullshit. Hell 35bob/l is still borderline kazi ya hasara for the farmer. But we all know where this is headed, they are putting up another bid for githunguri dairies, total monopoly.

What we need is more and more farmers coming together and having small saccos that sell directly to people. Why is Mukurweni forced to sell to Brookside? Is there a law that mandates such?

Mega-Saccos are a recipe for disaster. They will just be mismanaged and sold to brookside

@Nyatieng Could you please explain why farmers are finding it hard to do this?

Do you know what led to collapse of KCC during moi time?
Mama ngina was building brookside company few kilometers from KCC, when it was completed she needed cooling and processing machines, that’s how police guarded as the machines were being removed from KCC since the farmers around were protesting. Since farmers had no where to sell milk to especially in nanyuki and kiganjo and that time the land had not become maguta maguta Farmers were keeping large herds of cattle, she started buying at 5 per litre.

Watu wademonstrate, I hate laws that seem to punish the poor, especially farmers with small land holdings.

Najua hujui kizungu, si nilisema sulphuric acid?

Siyui eh are we still resisting Brookside milk or Baba lifted the order upon reaching canaan, the handshake of milk and honey? Bila lube…

Vile @gashwin amesema. Directly traded milk undergoes through stages of dilution. From the farmer to the broker then at the retailer stage. I once found some fellows in the ‘dilution’ process only for them to claim they were making mala. The milk is so watered down you do not need to add more water while making tea.