The Rotten Apples Among Kenya Police?

Fuck it. Everyone I am trying to call is either mteja or not picking up. It is a Sunday, so I understand. But I am too livid to let this thing wait any longer.

Early this morning, a friend of mine George is leaving the Wizkid concert at around 4am. At the KICC gate right next to the City Hall, he and his friends witness a police officer shoot at a girl who was riding shotgun, for no reason at all.

At this point, they could have decided to run away like the rest of the people, but what happened next is something I consider brave. He and his friends confronted the policeman to ask why he did that. You will see it in the videos attached below. They confront him and try to force him to go to the police station and record a statement and that is when this policeman decides to threaten him saying “Nitakuua.” Watch it for yourself. This is a uniformed police officer being asked to account and instead decides to threaten the life of the witness.

Unfortunately George did not get to record the plate of the car or the girl who was shot.

This police officer walked away, just like that, into Uhuru Park, and so my friend decided not to follow because it was already dark and they had already been told they would be killed if they persisted.

On the way back, George and his friends are arrested by other cops, who also threaten to kill them by saying that they are trying to incite the public against the Kenya Police. At the station, they are not charged with anything. Instead, their phones are confiscated and the videos in there deleted. Luckily, by the time they did this, he had already forwarded the video to his friends for safekeeping and backup.

This is the country we live in right now. Where police officers can just shoot people anyhow and literally walk away with it. Eye witnesses are arrested, harassed and their lives put at risk.

I do not know whether this cop is going to face the full extent of the law. I have tried to reach to the human rights activists and lawyers in my contact list but nobody is online or available.

I wonder, when you watch this video, whether you see a kid who is trying to incite the public against an officer of the law. Or an uncelebrated hero who put his life on the line to show the rot in our police system. Who exactly is the criminal here?

Share away and let IPOA know who this copper is and what he did. This is not right.

Utumishi kwa wote indeed.

[MEDIA=facebook]id=10207618710746456;type=video[/MEDIA]

[MEDIA=facebook]id=10207618718466649;type=video[/MEDIA]

Walevi ndio waliwao.
Woi, pole lakini.

Mtu anashout ati ‘kill us all’. There must be a reason.
I hope justice will prevail.

Without the mama who was shot, and the evidence, this may be a hard nut to prove.

BTW @Ruffneck you haven’t stated whether the girl died…did she?

Tho. hizo videos just show how drunk the guy/guys was, huyo dame amejulikana ni mgani?

Risky business

With an officer of the law, that’s a different case. Discharging a firearm carelessly, endangering the public are among the offences he can be charged with without the lady available as a victim.

The problem with this country is that young people have voices in the wrong places; their butts. Farty opinions. Mnajua kujifanya rights’ [B][I]conscious[/I][/B] sana, then mnapiga kura vijinga.

Kama haikuhusu, unaingilia kwa nini?

Hii maneno ya kujifanya human right activists mpunguze majamaa.

Si ati natetea hio ng’ombe ya kiganjo, lakini hapa tuelezwe kinaga ubaga. Nilirequest @Meria Mata atupe uhondo kamili lakini sijui kama import amem-ban from logging in mpaka afikishe threshold.

Haiya, na iko watu wako serious eti tuwache activism na ni shida ina-affect all Kenyans?

THE OTHER SIDE OF THE STORY

Central: Kicc police station:
OB NO: 04/23/07/2017
Subject:(.) shooting incident report(.).
Refer my OB NO. 4 of 23/07/2017 (.)
It was reported by No. 107524 p.c Reagan Akoko that while controlling crowd at the entrance of kicc along city hall way, he spotted a motor vehicle reg no. KAZ 073X which was obstructing other motorists (.) the officer approached the car with intention of requesting him to clear the road, however confrontation ensued and the driver of the said car grabbed the riffle of the said officer namely AK47 S/NO KP-17121095 the muzzle and extended his hand to the trigger which led to the discharge of one shot (.) one passenger namely ANN WAIRIMU aged 23 years who was seated on the front passenger seat was hit on the right hand and left thigh causing fracture (.) the driver rushed her to Kenyatta national hospital where she is undergoing treatment in a stable condition (.) scene visited by OC crime (.) further investigation in progress (.) case P. U. I (.) inquiry file NO. 1/2017 opened(.)
Releasing officer IP Atemi

This is why you install a dash cam on your car. A good one.

Mbona ipunguzwe? Hio sio impunity against common mwananchi?

I like discussions like these BTW. Everyone should weigh in with their two cents. It is good to understand our diverse thoughts.

Si ni nyinyi ndio ukula nyama hessy akiangusha maboys… Kuleni ujeuri yenu sasa…

The police service in this country is rotten and murderous, I do not like cops one bit hawa watu hujiona above the law huwezi waambia kitu, I salute those brave Kenyans for taking on such irresponsible fellows, and this is why I am against extrajudicial killings sio ngumu mtu innocent amalizwe like that girl and the case covered up.

I would have the guy recording the video he’s annoying.

Is that the guy who broke your front tooth?