The school girl who committed suicide

Okay. So there is this news article I have read and watched, on social media, of a school girl who committed suicide coz a teacher read out loud her personal text message(s) to the rest of the school.

I do feel for the family for losing the child but in what way really should the teacher be blamed for her death? Guys could you help me understand that coz I have seen so many kenyans bashing him and yet, from what I understand, he never did it knowing that she will commit suicide based from his ‘punishment’ (coz that’s the only way death by suicide can be criminally tied to another person). To me I just see gullible kenyans who are easily swayed in whatever story they want to believe is true/right just like they do during elections.

Rink?

The teacher should have handled it better…what happened to guidence and counseling.

she was a darwin award winner ! good riddance

in our days there was none of this softie softie guidance and couselling nonsense. ilikuwaga nyahunyu sita za stima kwa matako for the slightest infringement and look at how strong we turned out to be!

I agree with you kabisa, huyu ni good riddance to the world. Sijui kama angewezana na maisha, niambie uamke asubuhi landlord akuambie uhame end of week, upande ma3 concodi akuite bunduki kisha boss wako kama wewe hutumia akili au la, what do u do? look for the nearest septic tank and dive in?

Vile Gashwin amesema. siku hizi unaskia ati mtoto anajiua sababu ameambiwa arudie darasa.

@shocks n @Kaffir ujinga nayo… nt everyone is born strong sme pple r just vulnerable n have low self esteem…

To me the teacher is a dumb as sheep. I saw those tutabia from primary school teachers of reading love letters written by children out loud. For christs sake, its a child and they get into relationships too. Whats wrong with a child liking the other? Children do that all time. And they are not fucking anyway. If they were talking abt fucking, then its a matter of calling the kid and telling her that it cannot not be done just like that and that letters should be a litttle more cleaner for her age. Sio kuleta drama kama mama wa soko kusoma barua hadharani. Young girls do commit suicide when you expose their private stuff. I have seen it severally.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=XJ6EbcNvKWo

I’ll bash that teacher anytime any day. He is a let down to parenthood, could he have done the same if it was her daughter.

A iii. Kwani how soft have people turned to? I know of ladies who got pregnant whilst in school, got shamed by their colleagues/teachers, rejected by their parents and boyfriend and yet as we speak they are very much alive. If you know Oprah Winfrey’s story you will know that this lady underwent a very tough life as a kid which many men (including me) could have maybe found it really hard to go through and still emerge as a billionaire (or multi millionaire. I don’t know her networth actually hehe. But you get my point). I mean how would a text message evoke a suicidal deed surely even if it was that embarrassing? To me this means that this child already had some suicidal thoughts at many previous occasions only that this event just flipped her switch completely. As for the teacher, am pretty sure wherever he is he is wishing he could return to that fateful time coz I just don’t think he thought it would escalate that quickly. But that’s my thought.

An adult kusoma love letters in public is dumb. It leaves marks on children. And to all teachers: Relationships are normal. Ujinga ni mbaya sana. It oftens lands an apparently harmless person in jail or kills him. Its even more dumb if the letter was explicit.

Of course he could have handled it better. Am pretty sure even for us all, there are some few isolated incidents where our parents/lectures/supervisors had made the wrong move to some of our actions (a move that you may have felt of even killing him/her but of course you didn’t). Suicide though? Even though it’s a kid, I don’t feel like the teacher should bare the bigger blame. I think there some other people who really didn’t do their home work (read parents).

Takes me way back when a classmate’s letter was read out to the whole school at parade…in a mixed school!! Always felt some of these beings we call teachers are pure sadists.

Well…I think we all can write a list of dumb things our pri and high school teachers did just to make us feel all worked up or really embarrassed. But the question here is, is that dumb thing this teacher really equate to suicide? I personally think that there is more to that.

The kid was obviously suicidal or had other issues. But the teacher’s approach is unreasonable. I dont think that its justifies any disciplinary action for the teacher though. Its a small mistake turned tragic. Its just like lighting a ciggarette near a overturned petrol tanker and killing people, only to be later told this was the costly mistake. A person like that isnt punishable, but just dumb for an informed person.

I’d rather he had caned her. Girls can be very sensitive, especially when it comes to the image they would like to project for the world to see. If she had not committed suicide she would probably have had zero self esteem.

Most probably he wouldn’t have. But I do know there are some teachers who would never spare their kids if they have to give them capital punishments ar school…kwanza ni zile za “iwe onyo…”

One has to be very careful, nay extremely careful, when dealing with teenagers/adolescents.