The selfish generation

Lakini tuseme ukweli, we are the most selfish generation yet. Yaani hii kanairo imetufanya tujifkirie tu…U make 20k and after family the only thing on your mind is booze and women…singo mathaz wanaishi better lives than our cousins and siblings huko home courtesy of our hard earned moneys.
Ukisaidiana kidogo lazima utangaze kwa kila social media app. Public schools za home are in pathetic condition coz to us its the responsibility of gava. Hatujui our grandparents gave out their land for free, sold cows to build the very same schools that were the responsibility of the gava.
Yaani sahii ukiunda group ya kujenga police post unawekwa silent but ukisema bash ya esto utaona watu wakichangisha bila kuuliza.
Corruption shouldn’t be an excuse for us to abscond our social responsibilities. Just coz gava eats what is intended for our schools and hospitals doesn’t mean we shouldn’t come together and continue building our society.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=dGJGcsml5FU

they failed there… govt should build public schools not citizens

I agree with you. But government has limited resources. If you’re to wait for the government to build you 10 classrooms that won’t be done in your lifetime.
You need to pull the village together, people who will directly or indirectly profit from that school and pull resources to build them.
In eldoret in the late 80s parents wanted their kids to go to Moi Girls so they approached the administration. They then fundraised to build classrooms so that they could have their local quota increased.

thread closed

uwa inaniuma kuona choo za public schools ocha funded by USAID, wazazi hawawezi chimba shimo na wanunue mabati wajengee waototo wao choo.

I’m personally against kufanya projects zenye government should do. You should not pay taxes and build police stations. Muache kimbelembele. You should instead hold politicians accountable not using your money for projects you have already paid for.

When you see a grown man blowing cash on women and booze as cousins and siblings suffer, don’t be too quick to judge him. He might be a self-centered guy, or he learned from those same cousins and siblings so he decided to enjoy his achievements alone.

People act the way they do for a reason and sometimes it is out of experience. Maybe several years ago he hit a rough patch and none of those people helped him, so when he got back to his feet he vowed to eat his sweat alone.

You don’t help to be reciprocated. The fundamentals of building the village school is to help that village kid like you get an extra step in the society. Ukisomesha cuzo it means there’s 1 less poor person in the extended family, spread wealth pale nyumbani.

Hii comment ni kama ile ya feminists wakisema “…don’t tell women to take care of themselves and tell rapists to stop raping women”
One can actually do both. One can lobby politicians but also come together to speed their development.

What you are suggesting is backward because it encourages corruption by politicians and bureaucrats responsible for building better schools. You pay taxes for a reason. You should demand better services and hold politicians accountable.

Upuzi tukunywe Glenfidich polepole. Hawa cousins unasaidia kutoa umaskini and instead they want to bring your business down. I only take care of my nuclear family wengine huwa bure sana.

Drink away bro. But remember ukizeeka utajipata the only rich dude surrounded by poverty coz hata uwalenege aje, can’t change family.
I hope to transform my village the best way I can…have the number of educated & skilled graduates from the area increase and so the socio-economic level of the village increase as well.

If you’re such a philanthropist fungua aid kitty or children fund na usomeshe watu wa Turkana na Homabay. You want us to embrace nepotism and blindly thinking that it’s a virtue. Moreso, clearly you’ve never dealt with relatives. Watu hukuwa na mentality “relative wangu ndio mkubwa na since tunajuana hawezi nifuta.” People do shoddy jobs na wengi have the audacity to steal na usisahau wenye kukudakua because they know a part of your finances or life.

I ain’t got too much but charity begins at home. The little I have will be to build from me outwards. My family, extended family, village, constituency, county then country. If we all do this the country will be better.
Kwanza Homabay has a high concentration of learned individuals. The least they can do is put together resources to build each other up. But let’s not digress from the topic. Whoever you can help, help…but don’t be boozing on 15 yr alcohol then telling someone where they should donate.

Please expound on this…

Umexplain tu sana. A person does with his money what they deem fit,thats why its hard for bazungu ku understand why diaspora bonobos send money to parents even though the patents are still able physically or even well off

Our budget is 3.7 Trilion bob. Even without corruption, it would take at least 10 yrs for your village school to be upgraded in any way. Priorities are too many.
Read the vision 2030 blueprint and if your village road is not allocated for tarmacking then your village school wont be transformed to a National school. Upgrade of schools countywide is a project that won’t take less than 5yrs if its the only priority for any gava.

Umetumia word resources like it was something big. Taking into consideration the amount of money stolen,‘lost’,wasted or misused,kenya would be at par with major developing countries. Ukisema resources,i picture jobless grads,prisoners,NYS you name it,kuna wale wanajua basic construction,that is resource …if resources is money to you as you’ve made it sound,then you are probably right,everything on paper sounds legit. Kenya is loaded to the raffters but the people you put in office…

I believe we pay Taxes so that GoK can do the basics with the money. Water, Sanitation, Health/ Hospitals, Education and Roads. Hizo vitu if accessible and affordable to wananchi the rest falls in place.

Halafu ni hapo kwake tu watakujia vitu usiku. Then he will spend his time worrying kama ameibiwa. Halafu he will go back to default settings aseme, ooh ushago ni wachawi! ee ushago ni wenye wivu! aa ushago hawapendi kuona mtu anaendelea! etc.

Perhaps he just never dealt with your relatives, you know, the ones you have described.