The state of the economy. Ctrl+P

Mamayao, In my free time, I roam in Nairobi at night, moving after one entertainment spot after another. It is part of my job.

I have been doing this for 12 years. And now I am deeply afraid. Gravely afraid. Guys, things are not right. I got home at 1 last night and I have not slept.

Last week, we were at a popular entertainment joint in Westlands on a Wednesday. At 8.51 p.m. there were just the two of us.

Last night same story. I patronized two joints on Mombasa Road and the places were deserted. Completely. On a Thursday night. And it is end month. And it is a festive season. Then we went to Nextgen Mall. No 7. It was empty, only one section of the expansive place was occupied.

Want to know the status of our economy? Look at the grim faces of waiters and waitresses.

This is not mere hating on the government.
Of course you have read that the wages have stagnated in the last ten years. People earn less now than they did in 2008.

Another one Ctrl+P
I was very sad last night, I went to my joint and they were all watching TV. I called my first customers (employees) one by one asking them what the problem is.Each one of them told me they are ready to work but there are no customers.I was very disappointed given the shelves are full but no business. My worry is,their salaries may be delayed given I don’t have to borrow elsewhere to pay them.Things have been very sloppy for a while in anticipation the festive season would offer relief. It Is even worse.Every sector is in limbo.Whenever I get a customer I explain too much not to lose sales to a level a customer ends up doubting, we are messed up.

The economy is growing at 5.5%, you just have to look at the right places. That’s what @Ice_Cube told me.

Ushumi ni baya my fren, this year zile biashara nimeona zikicollapse hapa kwetu ata haziesabiki. Ata biz yangu inafaa sai iwe peak but there’s no difference with the other days.

Kama unataka kukamua waitress wa paipu na uko na kakitu, this is your time. Kuzorota kwa ikonomy furaha ya @uwesmake

I don’t like this it should end pesa irudie mwananchi was kawaida

Things might be bad, but, let’s keep in mind also, people tend to scale down on expenditures, whenever the drums of hard times ahead start beating.
All G.o.K need to do is assure it’s citizens with facts that we are headed on the right direction, then we can burst our piggy bank and cut of mattresses open, to get those savings.

In the oil industry we are selling at losses upto Kes. 3/- per litre to evacuate stocks and still there is no demand for the products. when i see @spear yapping economy is growing at 5% I wonder which sectors he is analyzing. There is nothing the government is doing to stimulate the economy. the much hyped SGR is on loan and chinese repatriate every coin and worse they bring their own equipments and machinery thus zero impact on the economy.

2019 will be here shortly. If u have cash, convert it into dollars or euros, mi nawaambia watu watajua hawajui. Don’t waste your money on useless purchases this festive season. Kaa na pesa yako mjamaa, cash will soon be king. Kuma tutapewa ata na 20 bob sasa. I have warned you.

All these major projects undertaken by Jubilee should be stimulating the economy big time. Lakini wapi

GDP might be growing, but the formula for calculating GDP also includes government spending.

The only aspect of GDP growth right now is government spending, majority of which is loan funded. I think the rest of the economy is in recession.

FYI Am closing shop mid Dec if things wont change for this festive season, wacha nirudi ocha kidogo coz coming back won’t be that hard.

I thought I was the only one going through tough times ata mimi nakumbuka sana my business isn’t doing well as it used to its a shame

mabroka wa mugunda pia sisi naumia

Sisi brokers of foodstuffs are okay, and things can only look up as we head to the hedonistic season.