The Terminator: Who thinks up these movie plots

I have had a bit of a retro-weekend watching old movie classics that I loved when growing up. Rewatched terminator 1, 2, 3.

It got me thinking… who thinks up these movie plots??

The scenario in the terminator for those of you who havent watched it is this;
Apparently, some time in the future, computers and machines will reach a technological singularity ( https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Technological_singularity ). This is the basis of the movie… machines will become so intelligent as to decide that humans are their greatest threat so they should either be exterminated or turned into slaves.

Now in the movie, this has already occurred. However, there is a human leader in the future who is literally kicking the robots asses. So what does this superintelligent robot do? It sends a robot back in time to kill the mother of this human enemy.

But wait, theres more! The humans fighting the robots in the future also send a human back in time to protect the mother of the resistance fighter. This protector shags the very person he is sent to protect and is actually the father of the resistance fighter.

Who thinks this shit up???

Mzungu huwa 100yrs ahead. Sisi wacha tutulize na inspector mwala

Kenyans produce good realistic movies, but cannot afford budget for action and scifi. I also hear kenyan government requirements are equivalent to US sanctions against north korea and not forgetting that religious bigot mutua. good producers in kenya are relegated to producing soap operas, which they do once in every few years. these soaps air in the dead of the night. otherwise primetime TV is occupied by lacklustre comedies made by talentless “comedians” speaking in fake tribal accents and spewing equally repugnant tribal hate and indecency. kenyans are now tuned to laughing at indecency and display of ignorance. ooh and those weird mexican soaps without sound occupy primetime too. our women spend time listening to awkward foreign voice overs.

I’ve watched terminator 2 countless times, you can imagine a 1991 movie and the technology that went into making the villain. As a kid then, the villain in T-2 was pretty scary. Bullets can’t stop it, and even shattering it into a million pieces doesn’t work. It is an indestructible machine. It could take the form of anyone or anything it touches.

True, budget is a big problem in the industry.

On the extreme side of this budget issue, Uganda’s Wakaliwood is also having issues as can be seen in this ultra-low-budget movie review here:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=CNfcBgnJZNY

I think in the world, the most movie prolific nation may be Nollywood. But with them they have a population that makes such endevours reasonable. Here in Kenya, if you are an actor, that is a side thing you are doing. Only the top actors here can make a decent living like that papa Shirandula guy

I read somewhere that these technology fiction hollywood films are based on actual events that happen deep under the mountains at Area 51. I dont know how true is that…

T2 is my favourite and the one I have watched the most since I was a kid. But ata kama ni sci-fi, these guys went went overboard when they thought up that liquid enemy robot.

Some ineteresting clips of the liquid robot:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=u8h8d2XLWKY

:smiley: :smiley: :smiley:

Sounds like a nice plot for a movie to me!

Ask this guy
[ATTACH=full]232832[/ATTACH]

Terminator was very good, but the movie that everyone watched and wondered what the hell those producers were smoking to come up with such a story line, is called THE MATRIX.

Hehe, that was another movie made by a seriously deranged thinker. Sometimes you wonder how major studios agree to produce some of these plots coz movies take budgets and these guys arent going to produce anything that they think will crash.

I guess they were lucky that Terminator and Matrix didnt crash.

huku kenya ukitry ujanja na you succeed kutoa a good film the government wants in your profits …kazi yao ni ka ya caretaker they dont want you to smoke weed and also if you make a lot of money without giving them a share they get angry

Most movies are book adaptations. So we really can’t compete because neither English nor Swahili is spoken fluently by all Kenyans. Why do you think Tanzanians are so good at making music?

I think the theme of this movie may, in the near future, become a reality. Fully autonomous but destructive AI will emerge. I have seen people like Elon Musk cautioning againist uncontrolled AI development that could be destructive and irreversible. There is an entity known as OpenAI which was founded by Musk and Co. They fed AI machines with just 40 Gb of data and it was able, with a level of accuracy, predict what a human could say or write. More effective AI solutions will have far reaching consequences

The first person in a long time who shares my thoughts. Our biggest problem is that most Kenyans are now becoming culture-less thus the content is not unique. I always believe things to do with culture i.e music, film etc should be steeped in culture and local languages and not just aping western music and throwing in some few swahili words. Tanzanians seem to be getting it, alongside other few local acts around.

Bodyguard from Beijing, ndio ilikua movie enzi zetu za cassette.

Saa hii mzungu anafikiria how to explore mars while sisi wakenya tunafikiria elections za 2022.

On all of this Sci-fi movies, There’s normally a whole dpartment that does research on what the future of humanity and technology potends. Most of what you see in this movies will actually come to pass. I remember watching Star trek back in the early 90’s and would wonder how a door automatically opens when you get close to it, how a small plane can take off vertically, how you can talk on phone and see the person on the other end. Remember this was the days of landlines and phone booths, no cell phones then. I can tell you for a fact, what the US military has right now technology wise, though secretive, is 30-40 years ahead of our time.

That show Japan video topics ya early 90s, 1992 to be precise, ndio hiyo technology tunatumia sahii. LED and LCD tv’s. No one would imajine a tv would be that thin.

So its true, kuna technology mob yet to be released to the public.

kuna vitabu za kitambo zinaongelea such stuff alafu majamaa wa matrix wakasoma na kutengeneza movie.

kama time machine ya h.g. wells, simulacrum and simulation, Plato’s allegory of the cave etc.

but I don’t know kwenye akina Plato walitoa hizo ideas