They casted a black girl as the Disney Mermaid in an upcoming action movie and white racists are MAD!

https://www.google.com/amp/s/amp.capitalxtra.com/news/halle-bailey-ariel-little-mermaid-racist-disney/

I think I’m going with the unpopular opinion here, there are plenty of young redhead girls who are born to play the role and need a Hollywood push, and nobody would have cared but instead they had to go for the controversial route.

In my opinion this is insulting for black people as it makes them seem like the only way they get the spotlight is by appropriating European culture cause the source material is originally a Danish story, I don’t know what Disney are trying to achieve here as it will only make the racists more racist and isn’t exactly the best way to spread diversity, just let people play who they’re meant to play but oh well it’s just another bland boring live action remake that’ll do well in the box office and get trashed by critics.

Nvchieth akanyal krik

Ukona pic ya dem moja for nearly 4 years, such loyal and obidient slave husband you’ll be

[SIZE=7]Halle Bailey’s Casting As Ariel In Little Mermaid Met With ‘Racist’ Backlash Online[/SIZE]
4 July 2019, 13:22 | Updated: 4 July 2019, 13:59

https://imgs.capitalxtra.com/images/60478?crop=16_9&width=660&relax=1&signature=sELMc3HDah2gDox8RgC4S-qTbwA=

Halle Bailey’s casting as Ariel was met with criticism from some Disney fans. Picture: Getty/Disney
https://static.capitalxtra.com/assets_v4r/gusto/img/facebook-share.png
https://static.capitalxtra.com/assets_v4r/gusto/img/twitter-share.png
https://static.capitalxtra.com/assets_v4r/gusto/img/googleplus-share.png
The Chloe X Halle singer was announced as the lead for Disney’s live action remake of ‘The Little Mermaid’ this week. However, the news has been met with criticism and a #NotMyAriel trend.

This week, singer Halle Bailey was announced as the lead role of Ariel in the upcoming Disney live-action remake of ‘The Little Mermaid’.

The 19-year-old, best known for performing alongside her sister Chloe in their R&B duo Chloe X Halle, has acted previously in popular sitcom Grown-ish.

“In case you needed a reminder… Halles get it DONE,” wrote Halle’s Twitter account. “Congratulations @chloexhalle on this amazing opportunity, we can’t wait to see what you do!”

[URL=‘https://twitter.com/chloexhalle/status/1146509551497170944/photo/1’]View image on Twitter
https://pbs.twimg.com/media/D-k4HKyUIAEIZbx?format=jpg&name=small[/URL]
[INDENT][URL=‘https://twitter.com/chloexhalle’]https://pbs.twimg.com/profile_images/966457799642370051/avuMX5XX_normal.jpg
chloe x halle

:heavy_check_mark:@chloexhalle[/URL]

dream come true… https://abs.twimg.com/emoji/v2/72x72/1f9dc-1f3fd-200d-2640-fe0f.pnghttps://abs.twimg.com/emoji/v2/72x72/1f30a.png

11:02 PM - Jul 3, 2019[/INDENT]

137K people are talking about this

Twitter Ads info and privacy

“dream come true,” was also posted from the duo’s account alongside a picture of Halle as Ariel.

The groundbreaking casting announcement lead to hoards of congratulatory messages from celebrities and Disney fans alike, including actress Zendaya who was previously tipped for the role.

However, despite the positive response, others were quick to criticise Disney on their choice of casting, with many arguing that Ariel should have the well-known red hair and pale skin she sports in the cartoon.

The hashtag #NotMyAriel even began circulating on social media as users fought against Bailey’s casting.

[URL=‘https://twitter.com/billievanderpol/status/1146667382783393792/photo/1’]View image on Twitter
https://pbs.twimg.com/media/D-nH2A1UwAAWaeg?format=jpg&name=900x900[/URL]
[INDENT]https://pbs.twimg.com/profile_images/1109081124469239808/H3FlE0Er_normal.jpg
billie :heart:@billievanderpol

my childhood ruined #NotMyAriel

9:29 AM - Jul 4, 2019[/INDENT]

106 people are talking about this

[URL=‘https://twitter.com/ShortNoze/status/1146565185223761923’]
https://pbs.twimg.com/tweet_video_thumb/D-lq84-XUAEXZ4P?format=jpg&name=small[/URL]
[INDENT]https://pbs.twimg.com/profile_images/1098425192903294977/PS2eb4h9_normal.jpg
Courtney Moss@ShortNoze

@Disney I’m sorry but being a little girl with red hair Ariel was character I looked up to when I was growing up. Very upset by the choice for the remake. I will not be going to see it, you’ve ruined it for me. #notmyariel #childhoodmemoriesruined #longliveredheads #LittleMermaid

2:43 AM - Jul 4, 2019[/INDENT]

62 people are talking about this

[INDENT]https://pbs.twimg.com/profile_images/959482293143375872/Kb4EyR6-_normal.jpg
Mike and Elio@MikeandElio

And just like that @ Disney ruined the live action little mermaid. Fuck Disney #notmyariel

11:15 PM - Jul 3, 2019
Twitter Ads info and privacy[/INDENT]

26 people are talking about this

While many users were accused of racism, others responded by arguing that they were simply upset that the iconic Disney princess wouldn’t look like she did in their favourite childhood film.

“Ariel is a damn mermaid why the fck does it matter if she’s black and tiana being white is fcking b*llshit especially with her story and background, just say you’re racist and go,” wrote one.

Another fired back, “I am not racist. Ariel should have red hair and pale skin and it’s fine that she won’t bc Halle will do an amazing job, but it will not feel like a live remake of the animated movie.”

[INDENT]https://pbs.twimg.com/profile_images/1138329893794668544/4XWpaOan_normal.jpg
Hillary Monahan@HillaryMonahan

White people complaining they cast a black girl as Ariel: Disney created 49 films from 1937-2009 before delivering their first black princess with Tiana. Black girls watched an entire catalog NEVER seeing themselves. For 70 years.

You spoiled, racist brats.

1:47 AM - Jul 4, 2019

125K people are talking about this

[INDENT]https://pbs.twimg.com/profile_images/999341067647336449/untkpO0P_normal.jpg
Skyler Shuler@Skylerhxc

“iM nOt rAcIsT bUt tHe LiTtLe mErMaID nEeDs tO bE wHiTe”

Spare me the nonsense that Ariel NEEDS to be white, she is a MYTHOLIGIAL SEA CREATURE.

11:19 PM - Jul 1, 2019

392 people are talking about this

[INDENT]https://pbs.twimg.com/profile_images/1003214643979063296/aJVJiEFE_normal.jpg
RED LOCKS AND THICK SOCKS@Cola_Red_Hair

This has nothing to do with race, this has everything to do with her not looking anything like Ariel. If you truly are anti racist you shouldn’t support black people being forcibly put into places and should pressure disney to make another black princess https://abs.twimg.com/emoji/v2/72x72/270c-1f3fe.png.[#NotMyAriel](‘https://twitter.com/hashtag/NotMyAriel?src=hash’)

9:43 AM - Jul 4, 2019

76 people are talking about this

[INDENT]https://pbs.twimg.com/profile_images/900321167315091456/ftET2xLV_normal.jpg
EvanMcSwag@evanmcswag992

I guess we non-black people can’t say anything about the casting because whatever we say, we are just some racist people. I just want the movie to be like the one I watched when I was a kid. Is that too much to ask? #notmyariel

5:52 AM - Jul 4, 2019

128 people are talking about this

Both Disney and Bailey are yet to speak out on the responses.

What a sambo-like position.

:D:D:D:D This is the same argument racists made about Obama breaking the Whiteman domination of The White House and Presidency…

See if you notice the sentimental “Keep America Great” bs:

While many users were accused of racism, others responded by arguing that they were simply upset that the iconic Disney princess wouldn’t look like she did in their favorite childhood film.

“Ariel is a damn mermaid why the fck does it matter if she’s black and Tiana being white is fcking b*llshit especially with her story and background, just say you’re racist and go,” wrote one.

Another fired back, “I am not racist. Ariel should have red hair and pale skin and it’s fine that she won’t bc Halle will do an amazing job, but it will not feel like a live remake of the animated movie.”

@Makonika hii dogi naweza pata wapi ?

Omosh ako na dem mmoja wa brown kama huyu mtaa fulani.
Tunaweza ongea.

#S.J.W tings,#Wokedisney, familiarize yourself na intersectionality theory, my frens

Si wanaume mnajihusisha na maneno ya umeffi siku hizi.

Hii ni nini sasa mna discuss? Cartoon ya wasichana? :D:D:D

Ingekuwa Batman ni afadhali kidogo… little mermaid??!

And trying very hard to spin it politically while at it…