THIMBIGWA STORES

This has just come to my mind this morning while driving along the junction of Ronald Ngala and Tom Mboya Street.

There was once a general store (shop) known as Thimbigwa Stores right opposite a club formerly known as New York or something of the sort, which is located at the junction of Tom Mboya and Ronald Ngala streets. Now, this shop was known to serve its broke customers of soft drinks, expired cakes and scones at lunch time while other people were busy devouring ‘fish & chips’ at eateries along Luthuli Avenue while the rest (and the majority) attended crusades at Jivanjee gardens and or simply ate ‘air burgers’ at Uhuru Park building castles in the air on how some day they will make it in life. I was a stauch member of the latter.

After the death of the store’s owner and family Matriach, Thimbigwa Stores shiny eyed inheritors and new operators, some two 24/7 mutura stinking pot bellied brothers realized that a bulk of their lunch time customers were just some frustrated working class fellas who coudnt get their salaries arithmetic right to run them the whole month- who ended up in chang’aa dens in the evening after work, trying to make ends meet.

That’s when they went for the kill and introduced cheap hot drinks.

There was one condition though, you had to buy a soda (either a coke or a sprite) to be served a hot drink. No glasses here, so you balance your soda and drink depending how ‘conc’ you wanted yours. My favorite was Safari Cane blue label with a coke chaser. For new comers, you would buy your drinks and be directed to the yellow telephone booths out there as your counter. Interestingly, a telephone booth could host up to a maximum of five patrons (imagine 5 chang’aa drinking fellas in that ka space), I thank this place since I made many (useless) friendships. By that time I was still hustling at the KNT (Kenya National Theatre) and once in a while, my friends and I would come with some naive campus chics ready for a night of wild sex at Stella Awinja.

Woe unto you when the Kanjo cops showed up during the day and demand an explanation on why the coke you are drinking is colorless, that’s when you direct them to the shop owners and they would ruka you 60 feet insisting that the only thing they sold you was soda, hizo zingine ni zako. I ended up spending a couple of nights at the Kanjo cells and at central police station, but kept on coming back because of their friendly prices and the company of friends I had made there.

That’s when the two pot bellied mungiki brothers decided to knight me and promoted me to be drinking inside the shop while sitting on old wooden soda and plastic milk crates. That’s when I realized that what was once a shop run by an old mzee had since been transformed to a dingy wines and spirit joint, though I could still see some old stock on the counters, some dusty Kimbo and Cowboy cooking fat (not oil), a box of nacet razor blades, pictures of Jomo Kenyatta being taken to prison, an old picture of a fat man who sold in cash and an old weary man who sold on credit and another one of Dedan Kimathi in handcuffs, some sewing threads and handcarchiefs here and there, half a bottle of Tree Top juice still confident to get a buyer, a rusty weighing scale, etc,etc.

Memories…

heheheheheh, me i begun drinking there when it was quite an official drinking joint with crates as seats but the urine stench was so pungent, took my MaryCane, Naps sachets there everytime before i headed to Monte or Achievers, bigUP

:D:D:D mbona waKenya hupenda kuanza sentensi,[SIZE=6] “Me, I”[/SIZE]?

Kabisa Champe, hapa ndio ilikuwa starter point ya wasee wote wa Eastlando. Ukitoka hapo ata kama ni F2, unanusa beer moja mpaka asubuhi na utadance ngoma zote. Enyewe God ametutoa far…

sasa vile wewe ni mukorino unataka kusema wewe ni mu Pakistani ama vipi jamaa?:rolleyes:

Ask Gashwin and other english teachers, hivo ndo tulizoeshwa, n why do Americans like putting it as we was doing well

Life in the streets ain’t easy. Lakini umekosea sababu Mfangano and Tom Mboya do not meet.

It has reminded me of wahus keg bar behind thimbigwa stores, now is called millennium hotel. On Fridays it was always packed with college students. Kila mtu ako na bag akikunywa makali na keg

What is the name of that street where no 58 Double M buses park, hapo former club New York? I think it is the same street that extends to OTC if I aint wrong…

Ronald ngala

Thanks, that’s the name. I will amend accordingly. BTW, kulikuwa na kwa Wahu na kwa Kinywa hapo nyuma- those were the first back street pubs. They were all off springs of Thimbigwa:D:D

we used to drink Keg with Nescafe, ati kana kaa nguness, na mayai boiro zikifuatana

Memories, I never had the courage to venture into Thimbigwa which I think this was the first wines and spirits in Nairobi, followed by another joint towards KBS station opposite Afya Center…

There used to be a very nice joint there known as Drywood hotel.

Pia Madukani…opposite imenti hse

Nescafe ya 5/- inamwagwa kwa Jug inakuwa Guiness, hahahahaaa. Nishawahi enjoy madem fulani hivyo na wakaingia box serious base fulani Umoja ilikuwa inaitwa Rhumba base:D:D

Yeah, I know the place. The guy at the counter was short hyper and mjuaji dude called George. but this was a gisty place- compared to the good, old and stuffy Thimbigwa Stores

Sweet Lord! I thought I was the oldest mzeee in this kijiji !. My oldest brother used to take me to town for fun sometimes and we would pass there. He loved Popov and he would buy me a small pepsi ! Then he would take me to No. 10 Maringo Stage back to estate. He would then go to work at The International Casino, hapo Chiromo Exchange. Such strong memories!

Hii naijua and I was a customer. My favorite was keg halafu nakamua tu-merry cane sachets kama tuwili hivi per cup ndani yake. I remember going to K1 one day after imbibing that concoction and in the dance floor there was a crazy Indian guy in a suit dancing Michael Jackson moves. You know how vigorous those MJ moves are. Kidogo kidogo merry cane sachets flew from his coat pockets. Na vile nilikua nimeona anakaa birrionea. Bouncers wakabeba mtu nje. Took the sachets tukicheka and added to our stock. Hio beer moja ya kunyonya was just pure merry cane after a while. I stopped going to those backstreet keg dens when I chipsfungad kunguru fulani frequenter wa hio base back to the hostels at KNH. Kunguru ilitoa vitu kama uji kwa Kunyi. Almost puked my guts out. That was my turning point.

I can see members signing in, one by one. Tuko wengi mjamaa…

Nice story but umeharibu na hiyo story ya chips funga. Delete that bit halafu uiweke kama post kwa hekaya tucheke kidogo mjamaa…

AAAAARrrrrrrKHhhhh… hapa leo siombi mbicha