this bill will ruin rental business

Bond, [05.03.21 19:26]
Tenants to Decide How Much to Pay In New Law. Tenants could soon have a say on how much rent they wish to pay should the Landlord and Tenants Bill pass into law.

The bill proposes that landlords and tenants agree on the fair amount of rent based on the market rent and prescribed services.

Tenants will also be protected from the arbitrary increase of rent by landlords with the bill requiring landlords to provide a signed explanation entailing reasons for the increase, which should only happen after 12 months after the last increase for residential and two years for business premises. Moreover, landlords will be required to give tenants at least a 90-day written notice of the intention to increase rent, detailing the amount of new rent.

Increased rent will have to reflect in an increase in services, undertaken capital expenditure, or inflation of economic trends.

“Landlords will also have to give a one-year notice before evicting tenants in residential premises and a two-year notice for business premises,” reads part of the proposed law. If landlords fail to provide the prescribed services, they will subsequently have to reduce the amount they charge tenants in rent.

In the event a landlord wishes to decrease rent for tenants, however, it will have to be proportional to a decrease in services provided.

The bill also requires landlords to keep records of rent of the premises and provide the tenant with a copy failure to which they will be liable to a fine of one month’s rent.

“I think this law should be passed without any objection. The landlords have a tendency of setting rental prices and increasing them without considering how the tenants would feel about it. It is time that ends,” a Nairobi tenant told Kenyans.co.ke. Presenting fake or misleading material in respect to the agreements with the tenants will lead to a fine of Ksh 20,000. Tenants will be expected to pay rent in advance even as landlords maintain responsibilities for repair, maintenance, cleaning and lighting of common areas of the building.

The Bill, which was pushed by the Majority Leader of the National Assembly, Amos Kimunya, seeks to balance the interests of landlords and tenants by ensuring landlords earn a reasonable income while protecting the tenants.

I think it’s a sensible deal. Rent and land prices in are exaggerated.
People don’t get value for money.

Given the pace at which GOK is building housing and then this, I’d say they are trying to boot the small time landlords. More homes are great for the economy, and the more accessible a decent house is, the more stuff people will buy, the more people will spend, the more taxes GOK gets

It is good to create a new avenue for Government officers to make more money… whatever they have been collecting from other sectors of the economy has not made them Dollar billionaires yet!

owners of capital will always reign supreme like royalties in every situation. bill kama izo ni kelele tu

Ooh yes. Win win… Lose win. Having decided to be a perpetual rental guy, who will protect me? The current Rental tribunal laws are not working… How can we improve tge the situation. Thanks to our Bonobo life… You should see how mortgaged guys in wherever world suffer… Foreclosures. Let us have a fair playing ground. Landlord increases rent =better services than before.

Landlords will find a way to circumvent the law. They’ll be asking you to sign a one year lease and pay yote in advance.

I support this

He he he he, Sambamba saa zingine unajazanga gumboots kwa akili unashindwa kufikiria. Apart from the high end residences and offices, ni wapi hii Kenya utasumbua tenant alipe ata three months in advance, wacha one year?

Until a smart law firm starts a tenants association that charges a small fee in exchange of enforcing your rights for you.

Tenants wapate wapi? Sometimes hata hawawezi kulipa one month deposit all at once… But the whole thing could end up worse for the tenants because the law is skewed to protect the tenants who DO NOT PAY and not the landlord who has taken loans and is paying taxes on the rental income… we need to honestly review the issue and balance things… at least ensure the interests of both the tenants and landlords are taken care of… if it is unbalanced, extra judicial actions will be the answer to this… unfortunately!

Dead on arrival. Most politicians are heavy into rental property. 1% ers make laws to serve them not to serve tenants/peasants. The probability of the bill passing is in the negatives.

Is this proposal part of the Great Reset, a time when only the super elite will own land or apartments outside of their primary residence? Rent prices should be based on market forces, supply and demand, not socialist principles!
In the US, it’s almost impossible to evict a tenant because of rent moratoriums due to the pandemic. Its creating a bad precedent whereby tenants feel that paying rent is optional. As the world economies become more unstable and inequality widens, I think it’s dangerous to assume that things will always be as they were. The government can easily pass laws that undermine property rights and you’ll do nothing about it.

Hmm, this law could be beneficial to big landlords if it pushes the small landlords out of the property market. I am tempted to even go further and speculate that it is not coming from Amos Kimunya but from someone above Amos Kimunya. It offers the country both opportunities and challenges. My initial reaction is to think that this will be beneficial to the economy in the long run. But with no access to live data on which to base any argument, I’d not want to speculate any further. The opinion I can offer with certainty is, this will have a massive effect on the economy if passed, both at the micro and macro levels.

This just like most economics policies can only work in developed countries.
It’s not until a country like ours rise up, overthrow the capitalist system and introduce an egalitarian and participatory socialist system most probably two and a half centuries to come

Na wakupe hiyo notice of eviction ukisign lease. Wengine will just covert to daily rates kama hotel. Unalipa per day per month. Mwezi ikiisha unaambiwa nyumba zimejaa. Others will convert to Airbnb. Huwezi cheza na Mali ya mtu

Jaruo Uvocorp ikikulipa tembea Mombasa or TZ. Rent there unalipa 6 to 12 months in advance.

Is that so??

Mjamaa hio account ya uvocorp naweza pata aje. He a brother in need.

Trust me, politicians are normally plain STUPID! They have passed lots of bills that will EAT them when they leave office without blinking… this one is likely sponsored by Kamwana… It is very clear he wants to undo the prosperity that was brought by Kibaki and take us back where Moi took us before he left… you cannot rule rich people… make them poor, rule them forever!