This is Guka - Quit the Whining!

Ask any ‘Kenyan’ why they are poor or facing hard times and the answer will come hard and fast; “It’s coz of our corrupt leaders. Since the time of Jomo, the father of corruption, they have looted everything. Just look at NYS I, NYSII, KPC, Kenya Power, Maize scandal, Sugar Scandal…bla bla bla”.

Now, corruption is on another level in Kenya. Nobody denies that. But it is NOT why the majority of Kenyans are faring badly.

I don’t know how many times I am going to say this, BUT THE REASON WHY POVERTY IS DEEPENING IN ALL AFRICAN COUNTRIES - NIGERIA NOW HAS THE LARGEST POOL OF POOR PEOPLE IN THE WORLD, WITH 80% LIVING UNDER $2-A-DAY - IS THE UNSUSTAINABLE RATE OF POPULATION GROWTH.

Of course corruption plays a part too, but population growth is the key driver of poverty. That, and a couple of other factors like low IQ, which incidentally is a result of poverty itself; poor families cannot feed their kids a nurturing diet so the kids are stunted (40% of kids in Kenya are) and suffer brain damage and grow up to become stupid ferkers who blame serikali for all their problems. Repeat. And repeat again, and you have the situation we have in THIS COUNTRY - a population of 50 million, up from 8 just 50 years ago, three-quarters of whom are intellectually-challenged, although not for any fault of their own.

Enter the corruption bogeyman.

Unintelligent, poorly educated people always lurch onto something - witchcraft, satan, god, serikali, demons, angels, corruption, etc etc etc ad nauseum - to try to explain their situations. It makes them sleep better in a coping phenomenon psychologists called dissociation. A road accident that kills 20? Lets not blame speeding because the stupid driver CANNOT MAKE THE CORRELATION BETWEEN SPEED AND CONTROL. Hiyo ni mapenzi ya Mungu. Deaths from cholera? Ni kurogwa, sio eti hatukuosha mikono. Poverty? Ni corruption in gavament, although my dad has 11 kids and expects the first three children to educate the others instead of investing at the NSE and buying their first homes.

In times past, I have given the example of South Korea, which our politicians and so-called intellectuals like quoting eti we were on the same level in 1963. In that year, South Korea’s population was 27.2 million. Today it is 51.2 million. THAT IS ABOUT 96% GROWTH IN 55 YEARS.

KENYA’S POPULATION WAS 8 MILLION IN 1963 AND IT IS 51 MILLION TODAY. THAT IS ABOUT 650% GROWTH IN THE SAME PERIOD.

With such growth in population, no social systems - housing, healthcare, education, infrastructure can cope, ESPECIALLY WHEN CORRUPTION KICKS IN. Slums sprout up, the country cannot feed itself, crime rises, and the entire place becomes a shithole.

I dare say that if our population was 20 million, Kenya would be a developed country. For a start, everybody in the cities would be living in very decent housing. Reason why, by the way, Botswana is the only developed Black country (Population 1963, 600,000. 2018, 2.2million. Growth? 350%, almost half of Kenya’s).

Let me give a personal example that I like tossing out when we have a family gathering; if my own parents did not have 11 children like they did and instead had only two I, FMCP, would have been a dollar millionaire through inheritance at the time my dad died in the late 1970s. Dividing his estate between the 11 of us meant that we all walked away with a kaplot worth next to nothing each. And growing up, we ate less protein and went to cheaper schools because his resources had to be divided to serve 17 people, including some relatives. That right there is poverty.

Whine about corruption as much as you want, BUT AS LONG AS THE DIAGNOSIS IS WRONG, THE TREATMENT WON’T WORK.

We need to breed less or we will continue bleeding.

Unfortunately most who are reading this will be in the group who are likely to have fewer kids.

Ngoma–gaka kaguka nikaguthuo nyundo ya mutwee keheree…wacha kutetea wezi…shenji type…our problems have got nothing to do with population at all for as long as thieving continues

Let them be, some people morning check list includes

1. Hate on my neighbour. Anaendelea aje? Uchawi, corruption ama ameiba.
  2. Hate on this tribe’s man. Why do they own all those shops, businesses, land etc.
  3. Hate on this anonymous fellow. Why is he happy and fulfilled and I’m miserable.
  4. Hate on this government. My tribal chief lost severally and he is just as baad or worse but he is our own.

ETC.

In this life, time is short and the best decision I made was to swim with the big fish not the small fish. My perspective of life and experience has been radically different.

@admin its time you do a system audit. The sudden surge of multi handlers is too much. Some senior elders, elders and staff are cowardly using them as attack dogs.

Too many unfulfilled sad people running around looking for anything and anyone to rant about.

Have a great day Guka.

Lakini umeona vile watu wanazaa tu kama panya? Hapo uhuru highway unaona hao wamama wa kuombaomba mtoto mgongoni, mwengine mkononi, wa tatu amemfuata mguu chuma. Woote under five. Jeez.

Halafu land fragmentation where the father gives his son a place to put up a simba making it difficult for the country to increase agricultural productivity.

Uko na point mkuu. Ukigonga point ehera wacha kuogopa elders admin admin system audit meffi. Umedinya point wacha tuchambue.

Hi shida yote inaletwa na wrong prioritisation.Our infrastructure fails to support people from all walks of life.There are funds set aside to support such people but since it was used up in “other ways” they are let to roam and fend for themselves.Kuzaana watu wataendelea kuzaana unless we also put a check to it,calling people stupid,unintelligent or whichever will not help.Wa Turkana na shida zao wanazaana na mtoto analelewa anakuwa mkubwa with all their shortcomings that we know.We will also not rule out laziness amongst some of them

are you by any chance involved in the mass sterilization program disguised as Tetanus vaccine?

T

This is one of the greatest comments I have read in a long time. People just do not want to face the reality, and want to spend time ranting and whining.

It is difficult to understand how wrong prioritisation by the government make people have many children.
It is surprising you are not able to make any connection between infrastructure and population growth, or street families and population growth.

Tax as a percentage of GDP in Kenya is below 20%. This amount cannot support meaningful social welfare spending like the one you are alluding to here. In welfare states, tax as a percentage of GDP is above 40%.

The example you give about Turkanas is a clear manifestation of what is wrong with us as country. That people should give birth because the children will eventually grow up to be adults despite the problems is your perspective of life. With this reasoning, why would a poor rural villager not have as many children as the number of years they are fertile?

You know sir, it is difficult to understand some people. The other day I saw a thread that purported that Nairobi is becoming an ‘elitist city’ because unplanned kiosks were being demolished.

Fikira kama hizo make you sit down and wonder whether we belong to the same, thinking species; the same people who want a clean functioning city do not want unplanned structures to be removed. They decry crime but don’t want boda bodas to be zoned. They want good housing for everyone but don’t want to pay taxes (which is why our tax ratio is so low). Etc etc.

It would be funny were it not so tragic.

Ni vile sitaki kuongea sana but education,infrastructure and health have to be near perfect before we start blaming people on stupidity.Let the govt do its part first

A big population has never been the problem. The problem arises when a few people or entities hoard the most important factor of production; land. In Africa, when you deny people access to land, you condemn them to eternal poverty because land happens to be the only available means of production. Our traditional societies never perished despite being ‘backward’ for thousands of years. In fact, they celebrated life more than you will every do. There were no beggars or extreme destitution in Africa because everyone had access to land, which forms the basis of all production. Anyone who could work was guaranteed some form of decent existence. Kenyatta’s land in Kahawa sukari has been idle for decades while neighboring communities would go hungry due to lack of farming space. When people have enough food, it is easy to work on up-lifting the other aspects of life.

As I like reminding people always, Africa would have become another America, Canada or Australia if it were not for the fairly large population that could not be expunged by colonialists. Given a chance, I would introduce radical reforms in the land ownership structure to move away from the British system whose core objective was to deny people access to productive land. Such a system works only when the displaced population has access to other means of production. The current ‘plot’ culture is a direct derivative of this flawed land system. Although no quantitative data is available, I can hypothesize that the ‘plot’ culture accounts for a significant fraction of the inflation that we experience as a country. It is retrogressive and economic suicide when people pay millions to buy land that, technically speaking, was acquired at no cost. I still live in hope that someone someday will rise up with enough courage and determination to set the land issue right once and for all.

Gukas’ old biased opinion will never look at it this way.

Kwenda huko, hatuna population crisis in kenya, just coz population imegrow haraka it doesn’t mean that it is a proble. Move around kenya utapata we are just conjested in specific zones leaving bare land in the rest of the land, how comes we have people owning thousands of acres? We have never bothered to irrigate north eastern, eastern and a huge part of coast. We are blessed with the ocean but we dont have desalination plants, we don’t have deep sea fishing companies oh! and by the way what happened to that water which was discovered in Turkana!?

The only way is for the government funds not to be stolen but to be used for the intended purpose. Those who have looted billions to invest heavily in industries and not just storing them in foreign accounts or building hotels that whose cost will not break even in thier life times. Ministries involved in land and housing plus counties should build nice houses with plans to slowly eliminate slums.

Jst for fun… The same way the government uses billions on rail and roads it should also spend on water, make it extreemly cheap to make irrigation possible by everyone,Maize from farmers be bought at fair pricing not a few people importing.

Very wise, why pay millions for grabbed land. Why conjest in specific areas, and why in the hell is electricity so damn expensive!!!?

The problem with you is your theoretical reasoning.
In 95% of Kenya, Land is not a problem. But most of the land is arid, cannot be used for any meaningful agriculture due to inadequate rain and water.
Most of what you say cannot be supported, no need to respond to them.

Unasema nini wewe sasa? Why doesn’t the goverment not avail water. Why does Las Vegas, Dubai, Qatar e.t.c have adequate water!? Do they have adequate rain!?? The absence of rain shouldn’t equate to absence of water.

He is the kind who says “it is not doable in here” but elsewhere it is possible.