This is Guka - Wale Tulipigania Jubilee Tukubali; Uhuru Kenyatta is a Major Letdown

We did what we thought was right, and in many ways it was. The other side was not something we could countenance.

And there were good reasons why we supported Uhuru Muigai Kenyatta. After all, he’s a scion of the great Jomo, who saw this economy grow by 7 per cent for a straight 15 years, brought the UN to Nairobi and basically established the foundations of modern-day Kenya (those who know, know, forget about the imbeciles who think that everything they see, from the armed forces, NYS, parastatals like KQ and KPC to buildings like KICC, are from spontaneous miracles).

Furthermore, Uhuru was educated and young.

What could possibly go wrong?

Well, just about everything has gone haywire.

We now have crises that were unthinkable during the Kibaki years. I mean, why would a responsible gavament allow cartels to import tax-free toxic sugar that’s EQUAL TO THE COUNTRY’S TWO-YEAR CONSUMPTION QUANTITY at a go? What was supposed to happen to our farmers in those two years foreign sugar was flooding the market? Shouldn’t the imports have been to meet the local production shortfall for the year at most?

Elsewhere, which responsible gavament in history ever allowed the national debt to rise by 500% in five years, from just Sh1.2 trillion in 2012 to Sh5.2 trillion in 2018?

At a time when global oil prices are at around $70 a barrel, Kenyans will be paying the highest prices at the pump, at about Sh130. Everything is transported by oil, so the ripple effect of this will be far-reaching, to say the least.

This morning, the whole nightmare hit home when I purchased Sh500 worth of emergency electricity. Sh66.31 went to tax. Sh56.33 went to fuel index. Sh17.80 went to something called REP I don’t even know.

ONLY Sh356.07 WENT TO BUY THE ELECTRICITY. And mind you, I was using money left-over after KRA got its initial taxes!

I while back I thought Mzee Kibaki had started an ambitious programme to retire thermal generators. We invested heavily in geothermal and other green power sources. WHY IN GOD"S NAME ARE KENYANS STILL PAYING FACELESS CARTELS BILLIONS TO HAVE STAND-BY FOSSIL FUEL GENERATORS? What gavament can say it cares for its people when, after you pay taxes on your salary, you still have to pay a tax of beyond 13 per cent (Sh66 out of Sh500) when purchasing electricity ON TOP of paying cartels another 11 per cent as fuel charge?

Yesterday, we heard Uhuru has promised the Americans that road from Mombasa to Nairobi. So, now we will have two highways joining the two cities, two railway lines and an air corridor. Overkill. All on debt, about Sh450 billion of it. What ferkery is this? Surely, is this prudent investment?

And the following week Uhuru is expected to pen another loan agreement with China for Sh350 billion for the SGR extension to Kisumu. This will drive the national debt to the region of Sh6 trillion. This is not only unsustainable but totally stupid. If for some reason the Kenyan shilling depreciates against the dollar there will be hedge-room. We wil be ferked like Greece or Argentina because this debt will rise to even Sh10 trillion because of foreign exchange adjustments. Bluntly, our dear country is being sold off. Is this what Kimathi and others died for, for their sons and daughters to be sold to perpetual slavery?

And don’t be impressed by the Western invitations and visits. The hyenas have smelt blood, which is why the likes of the kaburu May are circling. They want their bite of Kenya, thanks to Uhuru.

And to hear him talk you would think that he was patriot! How he loves Kenya and its people. How can you love us when you are selling us to slavery? Surely, Uhuru, don’t you have a heart for the innocent children of this country who will go without milk so that their mothers can pay cartels 12 per cent fuel levies?

Months before the elections, I used to express my uncertainity about the policies pursued by the so-called dynamic duo. The likes of @Nattydread and @spear said I was the hyena who didn’t know the footpath to follow, eti nitapasuka msaaba (sic!). At that time I said the policy of free everything - education, health, whatever - was unsustainable. I criticised the spending spree. I said the Uhuru gavament was trying too hard to be everything to everybody without taking consideration of the basic principles and tenets of macro-economics. But deep down I hoped Uhuru had a plan.

It is now apparent the guy has no plan. He is a spoilt billionaire brat who doesn’t understand the basics of economics despite allegedly going to Amherst.

His reign, I fear, will be a bigger error than the kleptomaniac Moi’s. And we will suffer for it for eons.

Jomo must be turning in his grave.

Would it be wrong to say the advisers who surround him pia basi wako na shida and the intelligence which should protect our national interests?

Wapi zawadi yangu

“I thought Muigai had a plan”

The Tano Tena battle cry has turned into a Tano Terror whimper as @introvert so ably put it…

He he he he he! Relax dude…

Did we elect those dim witted advisers, or did we elect Ohuru? If Ohuru decides to hire dimwits, are we supposed to blame them or blame Ohuru? Who do you want us to excuse Ohuru for making silly mistakes in hiring bogus advisers, by blaming the advisers?

Sijawahi sema wewe ni hyena I have said worse privately not publicly lakini since you mentioned it then wewe ni Hyena mzee.

That said I still support our President. I knew then and i know now. He is not a micromanager. He is good with vision and leadership but his follow up is below average. He needs to be more robust with his cabinet on pushing for excellent performances and projects actualization. Ministries returned 200 billion to treasury after their tender got time barred. That said the other candidates lot were 100% worse or unthinkable. I’m not worried about the debt now maybe in the future. To be clear that USA loan didn’t materialize yesterday, no agreement has been issued or signed so we will talk about the same for the next five years. What I’m watching is KRA. If the hit 90% of their target of 2 trillion tax collection I.e 1.8 trillion up from 1.5 trillion we will be okay. Since I can see KRA performance at the port is now up from 30 billion to 50 billion and new painful taxes coming up. Its my hope the tax increases be shelved next year on account of more import tax duty collection. I don’t mind the loans as long as its infrastructure project specific, what I don’t like is loans for recurrent expenditure. If it was me i would end local borrowing completely to free up capital for businesses. Lets borrow abroad. Then its time we start renegotiating for tax relief with the recipient nations. It worked for Least developed nations in the 90’s and Nigeria in the 2000’s. I’m also looking closely at SGR income month by month, DP Uncle Ruto revealed by Dec they will breakthrough its running costs and start remitting monthly profits to Treasury. Well I followed up to see the income projections and I can see that’s exactly CBRC projections. If they reach 12 freight services on each end by Nov 2018 they will now start paying the full 1 billion running costs and stating paying billions back to Treasury. Lastly reforms in government operations is key to lower wastage, corruption and laxity. That has to continue using ICT. You limit human interaction you reduce opportunities of corruption and improve services. That’s exception applies on education, health care and security were human interaction is key.

[ATTACH=full]190209[/ATTACH]
This entry contains the percent of the labor force that is without jobs. Substantial underemployment might be noted.

Source: CIA World Factbook - Unless otherwise noted, information in this page is accurate as of January 1, 2018

Sawa munene. Ebu address the issue of electricity costs I hear your angle…

They should both share the blame in it though prezzo as the face of the gava will take a larger share. All in all, they have failed us

So Congo, Afghanistan and Libya are doing better than we are yet we have over 4000 representatives from county to senate to statehouse. Doing what, perpetual stealing? Why are we sabotaging industries that are supposed to create employment like agriculture (sugar, coffee, cotton, maize, etc)?

What is your solution?

Our recurrent expenditure is also unsustainable. So many lazy greedy leaders baying for opportunities. Do you remember bench marking in Moscow World Cup.
A lot of wastages. Uhuru is not an implementer, talks much and nice but execution zilch. Still waiting for demolitions to continue.
If we don’t take care, Sri Lanka in the effing
@patco kuja uonane na mzee.

unalia nini na sisi wenye hatukuwa tunamtaka kutoka kitambo hatulii? I dont see any salvation from these kind of governments even in 500 years given the glutton and impatience majority of kenyans exhibit. people vote in their tribesmen so that most resources can be stolen from other guys and be directed to them or their areas. this is the basic principle in kenya. no one has the patience to painfully develop all parts of the economy and achieve stability. gains of the last 20 years of antitotalitarian campaign and and managerial kind of leadership by kibaki has been destroyed and we now have a bad economy and a level of debt we havent seen since independence. in other words, we are living on loans. at digital dynamic duo.
the truth is that without the constant borrowing everything would crumble. sio ya development ata usidanganyike.

A wise man changes his mind :smiley:

Omunyambi

He is lazy. Clearly.

I disagree. He has very poor choices of those he appoints to cabinet. For example, Hassan Wario did oversee plunder of moneys allocated for Olympics and 1.7 billion for Youth Championship held in Kasarani. A spectacular failure by all definitions; instead of being charged or dismissed, he is made an ambassador.

I am worried about the debt because some government officials are bribed by Chinese into signing very skewed agreements which don’t protect our interests. Additionally, substantial amount of moneys borrowed end up in individual pockets. Examples: Some of SGR loan went to compensating bogus land owners affiliated to Swazuri and other govt officials.

If the economy is not producing, you will have nothing to tax. If critical economic sectors like manufacturing and agriculture (which is supposed to create thousands of jobs) are crumbling, you will not have anything to tax; you will end up taxing people for breathing.

Construction of the port is nobble. But if all we use the port for is to imports, then we will have poor terms of trade. Funny enough, we have taxed imports so much, that Honda Fits, which is normally used by the youth for taxi business is no longer affordable, meaning the youth are missing out on opportunities for generating income.

Don’t mention Nigeria. They export crude Oil and import refined oil products after years of being an oil producing nation. We should not be emulating the corrupt nations.

Uhuru is in his sixth year of government, you want to tell me this is what he is realizing now?

My point exactly, they say it’s the constitution so many arm twisting the Src mpaka mcas.
We really need to do something about power bills but again faceless cartels like Wanjigi, Kibaki, Aga khan and others have to be fed. We are very far

UK will sell his brots to those investors to cushion us from their anger

Hii ni Tano Tarimbo.