This Is Kenya: Gitau Disappears And Re-appears With No Questions Asked?

Missing Thika businessman Julius Gitau who goes by the moniker Gitau wa Mali resurfaced on Sunday, December 6 after missing for two months.

Gatanga Directorate of Criminal Investigations (DCI) boss John Kanda confirmed that the businessman was found alive after disappearing back in September.

“We have spoken to him. He is alive. I always told you we were on top of this search, and our leads were that it was immature to conclude he was dead. He is now heading to our offices for processing,” Kanda told Nation.

[ATTACH=full]337709[/ATTACH]
Director of Criminal Investigations George Kinoti

[ATTACH=full]337710[/ATTACH]

The businessman went missing on Monday, September 21, after leaving behind what was speculated to be a suicide note.

Gitau’s alleged suicide note was written in Swahili and left inside one of his delivery trucks, asking his family to not bother looking for him as he was ‘in the water’.

According to DCI, the suicide note purportedly authored by the tycoon appeared forged with analysis on the suicide note revealing that it was not written by Gitau.

The businessman resurfaced just three days after his mother Rosemary Wanjiru, announced that she would camp outside State House, Nairobi until police revealed her son’s whereabouts.

“I want to pack my bedding and move to State House gates to wait for the president and plead with him to issue an order to the Directorate of Criminal Investigations to get me my son,” she said.

Wanjiru accused the government of handling the case in a casual manner despite two months passing since Gitau’s alleged disappearance.

Gitau’s mother had in October disclosed that her son was experiencing business and marital problems.

Read more here;

https://www.kenyatalk.com/index.php?threads/thika-businessman-mysteriously-vanishes-leaving-disturbing-note.166743/

Hes going for processing…and questioning

That police statement is so nonchalant. They should have rushed and picked him up themselves in my opinion.

Either the guy was trying to scam the system or his family had ulterior motives behind his disappearance.

He could be actually in danger, or a danger to society.

[I]Today, he is estimated to be worth Sh600 million, with Sh518 million in liabilities according to detectives.

When he landed into big capital and as money poured into his life, he married three wives — and after he was reported missing, three more emerged — bringing children associated with him to 11.

There were also contradictory statements surrounding his last moments in public.

While his first wife said he was last seen in Thika town and later set off to a gym, his workers insisted he never showed up in town that morning.

Owing to divisions among his polygamous family, his businesses have remained closed all through this search and a vicious war regarding the control of his eight vehicles and collection of rent from his commercial buildings ensued.[/I]

What part of the processing and questioning don’t you understand after reading the whole statement? do you want the CIDs to release a statement just for your consumption?
Anyway this is you once again in entanglement with ‘Kyuks’. The man is in shits already.

This is a tale stranger than fiction… Your response tells a typical tale of why this mystery can only be understood from Kikuyu background… :smiley:

[I]Gitau had made costly financial decisions that had left his Sh600 million empire at the mercy of auctioneers.
The 44-year-old had secured expensive loans, invested poorly without the help of a professional credit adviser and lived large even as his businesses took a beating from the impact of the Covid-19 pandemic.
In the lead-up to his mysterious disappearance on September 21, Mr Gitau was struggling with debt as his vast fortune dwindled. As the search continues, detectives are trying to determine whether there’s a linkage between the disastrous business decisions and his disappearance.
In one instant, documents with investigators indicate that Mr Gitau secured a Sh46 million commercial loan by using assets worth Sh200 million as collateral. He also took a Sh58 million life insurance cover but used it as collateral to borrow a Sh10 million. The end result was the picture of a “poor millionaire” who was slowly sinking into depression.
Police are now pursuing two theories: either, a plot by his family to eliminate him to save the estate from bankruptcy, or a case of the subject planning his exit to fend off pressure from creditors.
Kiambu County Business Community Chairman Alfred Wanyoike admits that creditors had made it a routine to camp outside Mr Gitau’s shops as others presented auction orders.

“Accompanied by my third wife, who is a police officer in Thika, I reported to my shop in the heart of the town and delivered a parcel to my messenger around 7am,” he told police.
Mr Gitau said he then left for the gym but was abducted and lost consciousness after being forced to have a soda.

The tycoon said he found himself in a big building with a hall when he regained consciousness.
That, he says, was his home for 11 weeks.
“I was made to wash clothes and utensils for the tenants. Once in a while, I was ordered to clean the compound,” Mr Gitau’s statement to the police says.

The businessman added that he had no chance of knowing the owners of the home and cannot describe its appearance and location “because I was restricted to the servant quarters”.
The tycoon’s family said no one ever called to demand ransom.
Mr Gitau said he does not understand why anyone would want to keep him as a domestic worker for such a long time.
Murang’a police officers interviewed by the Nation, however, said the businessman’s story is not believable.
They said his account of what transpired would be reviewed “with all the expertise and technology available”.
Mr Gitau said he was handed over to two heavily built men on Saturday around 4am, adding that they escorted him out of the compound.
“We walked for hours before entering a forest. The men then told me to continue walking and never look back,” he said.
“I later found myself on a dusty road. I was lucky because a boda boda appeared almost immediately.”
Mr Gitau said the rider gave him a mobile phone which he used to call his family.
He added that the boda boda took him to the main road and offered him some money to board a Thika-bound matatu.
[SIZE=6]Communication signal[/SIZE]
He said his talk with the rider indicated that he had been held near Kamwangi “where there is a tea plantation”.
Mr Gitau said he then went to his wife’s house.
Meanwhile, Gatanga DCI boss John Kanda and other detectives had picked the communication signal between Mr Gitau and his wife.
“We had to verify that the communication was not a hoax. We then traced his movement up to the point we were sure it was the businessman and his wife,” Mr Kanda told reporters.
“We left some officers near the house to give him time to cool off. I called him on Sunday morning to record a statement.”
He added that the businessman has been allowed to seek medical attention and counselling since he appears traumatised.[/I]

:D:D These people

Easy easy Tiger. The cops are on his case sasa you ‘working’ overtime on this case is a non starter if you ask me. You’d best spend the time organising a big bash on 21st of January na uniite.

The man was hiding from his creditors to buy time, he must’ve finished whatever it was that was his holy grail.

He faked his own kidnapping to escape his creditors.

Case closed

Btw Dafton ako hai ama ako chini ya maji

The case is far from closed…

Gitau claimed that after being released from his abduction he found a boda boda on a dusty road with the rider offering him his phone to contact the family.

Gatanga police boss Peter Muchemi termed the claims as grave and added that the officers are eager to get to the bottom of the case due to huge public interest.

Muchemi revealed that they are also set to trace the location of the phone calls Gitau made to verify his account.

“It is not rocket science to program the call signal and know the exact location it was made and also by application of geo-mapping, trace the most likely places the building he claims to have been his abode for 11 weeks is situated,” he added.

According to statements recorded by Gitau, he claims that he was abducted by six gunmen in Thika town on Monday, September 21.

He added that two gunmen commanded him to drive the vehicle to Blue Post Hotel where he was ordered to park and was transferred to the small car.

The sleuths, however, question how the six-armed thugs carried out their abduction outside KRA offices without attracting any attention from the public at 10 a.m.

Gatanga Sub-county police have already contacted KRA and Blue Post Hotel to grant them access to the surveillance footage.

Questions have also emerged as to why the abductors did not ask the family for ransom.

Police have disclosed that a review of CCTV footage on the day Thika-based trader Julius Gitau claims he was abducted by six gunmen revealed no such incident.
Mr Julius Gitau, 44, has been summoned to record a statement because his purported abduction on September 21 outside the Kenya Revenue Authority offices in Thika Town was never captured by CCTV surveillance cameras.

Thika West deputy county commissioner Mathioya Mbogo said Mr Gitau, who resurfaced with the abduction claim after going missing for 75 days, will be required to explain to the sub-county security committee about the crime that seems not to have occurred.
Mr Mbogo said footage of the surveillance cameras that day between 9.30am and 10am, when Mr Gitau claimed he was seized by the gunmen, does not even show his vehicle in the vicinity.

“I instructed the relevant department of our security committee to expedite review of the CCTV cameras in the area and the result was negative incident of interest between 9.30am and 10am, being the time cited as when the abduction occurred. Not even his vehicle, which he claims was the centre of abduction, is captured on that road the whole day,” Mr Mbogo told the Nation.
Close shave
The only odd thing that was captured on that date at around 11:28am was a male motorist cursing a boda boda rider after a close shave. The altercation caused a slight traffic jam that immediately cleared after the two sped off, he noted.
“I do not want to appear to be dismissing his story about his broad daylight encounter with six armed kidnappers on a Thika busy street…I do not also want to appear to be in a tussle with him, where he says he was kidnapped, and on the strength of CCTV footages review whose findings dismiss his claim. He was not kidnapped. The best way forward is for him to record an official report so that he can help us investigate the matter,” Mr Mbogo said.

[ATTACH=full]339366[/ATTACH]

Guards around the scene as well as outside Blue Post Hotel, where the trader claimed he was removed from his lorry and bundled into the gunmen’s car, told the Nation they could not have missed such a dramatic incident. “Muggings are common in this area, we witness them happening but we haven’t heard or seen a case involving gunmen,” said a guard at the Kenya Revenue Authority offices.
Mr Gitau claimed he found out his captors had held him at Kamwangi in Gatundu North on the day they released him, but local security officials have dismissed the narrative, saying such an incident could not happen in such a small village without word reaching them.
[SIZE=6]Stage-managed[/SIZE]
Police want to question the trader to find out whether his disappearance was stage-managed. And whether the incident had anything to do with poor business and his debts.
Detectives are following leads that he attempted to bail himself out of the cash crunch using proceeds from his rental houses as well as an alleged plot to manipulate his Sh46 million life insurance cover.

Police suspect there could have been an attempt to claim the insurance, which was renewed three days after his reported disappearance. However, the plan fell apart after it emerged that compensation would only be made after proof of death or permanent disability.

[SIZE=6]Provide evidence[/SIZE]
If Mr Gitau fails to provide evidence that he was in the hands of kidnappers, he is likely to be charged with giving false information to the police and spreading public fear and despondency.
Mr Mbogo noted that the security committee took the allegations made by Mr Gitau on December 6 very seriously and since then detectives have been investigating the matter.
He said the team reported to him on Sunday that the review of CCTV footage, as well as comparative notes with several security stakeholders, had found that nothing of the sort happened.
Mr Mbogo said the area that Mr Gitau claims to have encountered the armed kidnappers has nine banks that at the time were under guard by 18 armed police officers. Given the area has busy traffic, his claim was classified as “of high interest.”
Mr Gitau had been reported missing at Ndururumo police patrol base at around 4pm on September 21.
The report was filed at a station that is outside the suspected crime scene.

I opened this thread nikidhani it is the Landrover guy at Ruiru dam. Ule wa mabunde.