To those who use Antivirus on Windows Take note

Kwa watu wa Summary: You will not receive latest Windows updates till when your antivirus vendors update them to be compatible with the January 2018 Windows operating system security update.

To know if your anti virus is incompatible then check out this spreadsheet

[MEDIA=googlesheets]184wcDt9I9TUNFFbsAVLpzAtckQxYiuirADzf3cL42FQ[/MEDIA]

Microsoft has identified a compatibility issue with a small number of anti-virus software products.

The compatibility issue is caused when anti-virus applications make unsupported calls into Windows kernel memory. These calls may cause stop errors (also known as blue screen errors) that make the device unable to boot. To help prevent stop errors caused by incompatible anti-virus applications, Microsoft is only offering the Windows security updates released on January 3, 2018 to devices running anti-virus software from partners who have confirmed their software is compatible with the January 2018 Windows operating system security update.

If you have not been offered the security update, you may be running incompatible anti-virus software and you should follow up with your software vendor.

Microsoft has been working closely with anti-virus software partners to ensure all customers receive the January Windows security updates as soon as possible.

https://support.microsoft.com/en-us/help/4072699/important-information-regarding-the-windows-security-updates-released

na watu wa Norton antivirus? hatuko kwa list? good or bad ?

Those who don’t give a ferk about Windows updates raise your hands.

[ATTACH=full]148898[/ATTACH]

[ATTACH=full]148899[/ATTACH]

[ATTACH=full]148915[/ATTACH]

[ATTACH=full]148918[/ATTACH]
My procedure when installing Windows

1. Install win 10 na office 16
  2. Run kmspico to activate both
  3. Run DWS that among other things destroys Cortana,windows defender etc
  4. Go to services and prevent windows from Auto updating

Carry on with my boring life

Wannacry spread because people refused to update their computers yet Microsoft had released a patch.

Have you heard of the Spectre and Meltdown vulnerabilities which affect all intel and amd cpus? Microsoft released patch for this and you should update your computers

Till when you will be hit hard ndio utajua why you should install those security updates

But I thought these were hardware vulnerabilities …

That allows malicious processes map the computer’s memory. Just apply the patches to be on the safer side

Am still stuck on Win 7. I will upgrade when I buy a new PC, and maybe dual boot Win 10 and Ubuntu.

Juzi my computer ilisema doing critical update which lasted for 4 hrs. @Deorro I don’t understand all these jugons you guys are using …all I need help with is where can I check to see if it did the patching you guys are talking of.im not computer geek.anyone care help

If imeandika windows is up to date uko sawa

AMD cpus are not vulnerable to meltdown and only variant 1 of spectre will affect them if and only if your kernel is compiled with the extended Berkeley packet filter Just-In-Time compilation enabled which is not a default. Intel on the hand has been having bug problems since the 90’s starting with the FDIV bug, then the F00FC7C8 and now these. AMD beats intel when it comes to chip architecture design but Intel beats AMD when it comes to fabrication process technology- reason why intel chips are always faster compared to their AMD competitors.

still on Windows 7 and updates off. used this dell workstation for the past 3 years commercially and never had issues.

Windows update kitu gani???

smadav and avira anti virus are the only updates i do.

Stop being ignorant. Windows updates are meant to protect you. Halafu using two antivirus software at once only slows down your pc. Find one and use it. Siku utapatikana na malware which uses a flawon windows that was already patched but your ignorant ass refused to install updates ndio utajua haujui

Watu wa kuvaa condoms mbili, zitabaki hukoooo.

hio smadav natumia ku scan usb drives kasee. avira ni ya indernet mostly.

get yourself AV ya maana