Tomorrow is World AIDS Day

Time for a sobering reflection…

One of our clients, a notable dignitary somewhere, called me early today He wanted a speech to deliver at one of the occasions to mark the World AIDS tomorrow.

With no one in the office to deploy, I put my feet to work and was soon in National AIDS Control Council and County health offices to find details on trends, the theme this year…a speech has to be relevant, you know…

What I learnt has left me sad…young people, teenagers have abandoned condoms. That is why there is an upsurge in sales of emergency contraceptive pills and cases of young people seeking post-abortion care in health facilities after pregnancy terminations in backstreet clinics go wrong.

One official told me that unfortunately young girls just from high school are the target of older adults who consider them low risk and therefore prey for “dry-fry”. The consequences are out there. He said there is a reversal of the gains made in promotion of condom use in the aggressive campaign of early 2000s.

In the last 18 months I have personally counseled three interns, college girls who had fallen pregnant. They all said EPs failed them. One of them was on medication for serious depression after her businesswoman mother forced her to abort. Her corporate senior executive father did not like the tribe her boyfriend came from…

The long-term effects of this trend are a resurgence of new infections. We can all prevent this. We can play a part by reminding the young to play safe. AIDS is not about others. It is about us, our younger brothers and sisters…

Well said lakini nikaa kupigia mbuzi guitar.
Watu siku hizi huogopa mimba kuliko maugonjwa. Ive heard it said several times “sikuna ARVs”

The way DF is glorified in this village is evidence of your findings.

On the same note, watu wapimwe na walete results. Talkers are known to be supportive just in case.

All villagers are HIV negative, remember?

There was a lot of HIV/AIDS and STDs awareness programs in the 90’s I don’t know of they visit schools these days.

kwani gashwin unafanyanga kazi which

My bad. I had forgotten. This is a perfect village.

i have said before i am a fixer…largely it is image and information management…troubleshooting and finding solutions…messing with heads and hearts…

Do these young girls even know that the emergency pill is not meant to be used on a regular basis? It is a pity that some of these girls who abort or abuse the emergency pill might not conceive so easily in future. The worst news is that they may get HIV/AIDS. This is so sad.

Wacha maneno mingi. You are a spin doctor.

eeh hata hiyo

Haya, leteni hekaya. After all the chest thumping that goes on in the village ‘how I Dfed a college chic, how I Dfed this chic I met in a mat, pub etc. How I Dfed someone’s wife.’
There must be those’ walikula mbaya’ and got infected with HIV.
Kindly share that experience and tell us what happened and how you are handling it.

Information locator?

hiyo pia…you cannot manage info you haven’t located…

There is a lady naona sai on citizen tv online saying exactly what you have written.
1 of every 3 new infections are people aged between 15 and 24!!!
Bottom line ABC ni muhimu.