Top Searched Words

[SIZE=7][B]Merriam-Webster’s Top Searched Words Say Everything About Trump’s America[/B][/SIZE]
People searched for terms that reflected the ominous “send her back” tenor of Trump’s rally, in which he ratcheted up his racist attacks.

By Marina Fang
07/18/2019 09:05 AM ET

Following a vicious campaign rally Wednesday night in which President Donald Trump and his supporters ratcheted up racist and xenophobic attacks on four Democratic women of color in Congress, the ominous tenor of the event was clearly on people’s minds.

The Merriam-Webster dictionary tweeted after Trump’s North Carolina rally that among its top-searched words were “racism,” “fascism,” “xenophobia” and “bigot.”

[MEDIA=twitter]1151676736419041280[/MEDIA]
Trump rallied supporters to chant “send her back!” — referring to Rep. Ilhan Omar (D-Minn.), who came to the U.S. as a refugee from Somalia. The president’s fans embraced his vile remarks.

Omar, along with fellow congressional freshmen Reps. Alexandria Ocasio-Cortez (D-N.Y.), Rashida Tlaib (D-Mich.) and Ayanna Pressley (D-Mass.) — collectively known as “the Squad” — have long faced racist and sexist attacks, but the smears launched by Trump since Sunday have been a new low.

Searches on Merriam-Webster for “racism” increased by 1,200% from the usual levels, Meghan Lunghi, the director of marketing, said on Thursday. Searches jumped 350% for “socialism,” 200% for “concentration camp,” 550% for “xenophobia,” and 300% for “bigot,” she said.

Searches for “fascism” — which Lunghi said consistently ranks among the dictionary website’s top searched words — were up by 50%.

“Lookups to all of these words have been curving upward since Monday,” Lunghi told HuffPost in an email.

In June, the dictionary publisher said searches for the term “concentration camp” had spiked by 15,000% after Ocasio-Cortez argued that the inhumane conditions at the Trump administration’s detention facilities for undocumented immigrants amounted to “concentration camps.”

On Sunday, Trump tweeted that the four representatives should “go back” to where they came from — a racist phrase routinely used to denigrate and otherize people of color.

He has since doubled down on his racist attacks, galvanizing his base ahead of the 2020 election.

Drumpf better start thinking just a little bit.

He won in 2016 because his racism was couched in ‘tidy’ language and euphemisms. Then his victory emboldened stark raving racists and supremacists, some of whom actualised their violent plans.

If he makes it too bold and American begins to get disgusted by what it has become, the backlash will be hard.

It’s already showing.

I can assure you the God fearing , conservative , Gods people Israel loving Trump 2020 anachukua kitu asubuhi na mapema , if you dont love america leave .

The guy is already anointed in heaven . we love him .

Fukc chieth CNN , phuck Hollywood homos , phuck ogre Obama , phuck whore Hillary

It only takes a minute for the backlash to happen there . I pity him and his people

Asked by reporters Thursday why he didn’t stop the chant, Trump said this: “I think I did – I started speaking very quickly.” He added: “I was not happy with it – I disagree with it.”
This is simply not true. Watch the video yourself.

[SIZE=7][B]Watch the tape. There’s no way to spin Donald Trump’s ‘send her back’ complicity[/B][/SIZE]

Never been there, never done that, but oh what a big mouth?

He does not need your pity , pity your looters kina kidero na Ruto

Siku hizi una behave kama patco

Do you wonder why no one is replying to you here? Vaa hiyo kofia wewe huvaa when you really need to think.

Tombwa mkia

It was much worse than that. I watched the whole thing and gagged more times than you can imagine. This is same thing we said about Raila; keep that rhetoric up and there’s going to be violence.

I think he had to make up for the “mass raids” deportation nonsense. He gives up his playbook and then when the defense is ready for him, he starts a race war!

I can understand when Drumpf mobilizes his hordes to go gerrymandering to give whites exclusive constituencies. He is hate mongering to mobilize the poor white people to believe that they are poor because we people of black and Hispanic origin that don’t belong in the USA took all their low end jobs. Drumpf encourages those uneducated poor whites to “have faith in him”. He sells them a Nirvana that he only understands! They deserve him.

Sir, you engaged the wrong part of your body. Sir, I said the brain! It’s just under the helmet that you wear daily.

He is drunk very drunk :D:D:D this is the sweep of the night

Probably not. You see, the less we talk about him, the less the story spreads, we could be whispering around. However, I beg that we don’t take this story beyond here, it will be too embarrassing kwa Kijiji.

You just made me laugh. Anyway @Amused na @Nattydread tuendeleeni

What they do in gerrymandering is to divide minority districts so that minority candidates can’t win. They sprinkle African Americans and Latinos all over even though a particular district is largely minority. You can see this in many communities in North and South Carolina, Georgia, Texas, etc. These states have a lot of electoral votes for the President.

My “understanding” of gerrymandering shall remain sarcastic at best.