Toyota going the Nokia way at hypersonic speeds

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8-dCteLIafE

The car Infront will adapt

Diversity is key…

If you’re in the technology world especially hardware you can easily get redundant anytime if you don’t adapt

Like these radio campanies akina Panasonic, torch companies etc all of them were quickly eliminated by the smartphone. Things like the DVD player went as soon as they came

A company has to try to be always on the lookout, in touch with the latest market trends and also to diversify if they have the funds e.g. like Microsoft began as selling Windows but currently has a wide range of products including hardware. A company like Apple is even trying to enter the car manufacturing

Hizi ni ndoto. Fossil fuel car are here to stay and Toyota, with their dependability and durability, haiendi mahali

You have no idea… Combustion engine has no future and governments from Europe to California to China have banned sale of fossil fuel cars starting 2035…

Toyota itauzia hizi gari zake za mafuta wapi?

You said it yourself. 2035. A company that has been producing these reliable machines for ages won’t innovate to keep up with the times? Ama unadhani engineers wao ni kama wale wa BJ50? Toyota and Honda were major pioneers in hybrid vehicles. Switching to EVs wouldn’t be a problem. Besides, Japan is synonymous with electronics and electrical systems. Theirs is the philosophy of Kaizen. Look it up

You are forgetting one thing, Japanese companies while being efficient are usually very slow to change, projecting into the future, taking risks and adopting to changing needs consumer. That’s why you no longer see them in the consumer electronics segment something they dominated 25 years ago.

You can see their reactance to go full throttle on EVs and giving space for companies like NIO BYD and Tesla.

Anyway new tech always displaces old dinosaurs who are usually slow to change. Happened with Intel who dominated PC processor market and did not see the potential of the mobile phone market, Microsoft, Blackberry, Nokia et that all had a head start.

I said ktalk is the only place on earth where lowly clerks surviving on KDF and turungi can challenge established business magnates. Funny how with the OP’s brilliance hawezi kuja na formula ya kumaliza ujinga Kenya.
@Sambamba it might interest you that Toyota is central to most managerial philosophies you know today e.g Kaizen. Aside, read up their pioneering in the technologies of the future. The Lexus hybrid SUV for example still remains a car that was produced before its time. No?

Very slow to change but they led the way in producing the first mass-produced hybrid vehicle?

Them going full throttle EV depends on many factors. How many nations have zero emission policy in place? You think they’re stupid to stop producing gasoline vehicles now? FYI, if you’ve noticed most of their vehicles they’re producing now are hybrid. Even T. Fielders! Let’s stop pretending that we’re brighter than the decision makers at Toyota Inc. and stick to BBI shenanigans. Wacha kwanza market correction ifanyike uone Tesla ikiingia mahali yake. You saw world powers the other day complaining that Toyotas are ending up with armed groups. That was free advertisement for Toyota

You see, there’s something called hindsight and it allows us to look back and study which companies made the right or wrong decisions.
We can look back over the last 20 years and see which companies - especially tech - bet on the wrong horses and confined to the dustbins of history. We study them in MBA classes everyday
20 yea years from now, we’ll know whether Toyota were right or wrong on their EV strategy.

Between you and executives at Toyota, whose word should we go by?

Uko na argument ya kijinga sana ni kama mtu hajawai ingia shule…

Should Paul Otellini of Intel have been inflexible forcing Steve Jobs to abandon X86 for ARM designs? Do you think he regrets now that ARM powers 99 % of all mobile devices?

Was Microsoft’s mobile strategy successful? Do they regret not building a better search engine and browser that was responsive to customer’s needs like Google’s?

Was IBMs PC strategy successful?
Did Celtel make mistakes which made

Safaricom quickly grab market share? Should they have stuck with per minute billing? After all their CEO knew better.

Those entities that make split-second decisions that appear to favour the masses always carry the day and usurp the market forces.

Try and reason like you saw the insides of classroom. Do not argue just for the sake of it. Even a local kiosk in Kenya will have adapted should they be forced to change their method of operations by a certain year, what makes you think Toyota will just sit there and wait for 2035 without any plans??

I actually came across this thread before there was a single reply and I couldn’t just reply because the OP clearly doesn’t know what he’s talking about.

Baba cheza ndogo. Theoriea za kijinga ndio zako. Wewe ndio ni kama hukuwahi kanyaga shule. It is plain stupid for you, in a shithole, to think that Toyota never learned anything from the corporate failures unaimba. With your supposed knowledge, ungejua about the pioneering work Toyota is doing to stay relevant. I just told you of the ongoing research in EV and AI but wewe na MBA yako uko hapa unataka kuoneshana vile umesoma na wengine bado.

Early 20th century, someone told Ford that electric is the future. We are still waiting.

Watu wa MBA husumbua sana hata kwa busaa dens. Motor industry experts are on record saying fossil fuel will be with us for some time but unapata MBA anang’ang’ana nao kuwaonesha vile hawana akili.
Some mzee once told me that if theoretical knowledge were a function of wealth, professors would be the wealthiest individuals around. One wonders why business consultants are ever broke in their shiny suits as they masquerade advising businesses on what to do.