Toyota obsession

Help me understand why most politicians and the whole country in general prefer to use Toyota SUVs?? It’s like the only luxury vehicles they know ni Toyota. Personally I would prefer American made SUVs. A Cadillac, GMC or Chevrolet.

Maybe they dont know better. Just maybe

That is your preference, they also use their favorite brands too.

There is safety in numbers. This means spares are easily available, mechanics who are familiar with the vehicle’s engineering are plenty, spares are cheap (ex Japan) etc etc. The last thing you want is a car you have to ground for one month waiting to import expensive spare parts. Or a car which no mechanic is familiar with, and when you get one, you pay through the nose because he knows that you have no choice. If your Cardillac develops serious mechanical issues in a small town like Nanyuki, you might have to tow it to Nairobi, or get a mechanic from Nairobi if you are lucky to get one. Back in my home town, a man had a good business (supermarket), and he made the mistake of importing a shiny new Hyundai. The car was very appealing, but one year down the line, it had some engine complications. The car stayed on the same spot (outside his supermarket) for over 10 years. Those from Nyahururu know of the red Hyundai outside the once Njowa Supermarket. I guess ilitolewa hapo.

13 Likes

Availability of cheap spare parts and resell value.I do business of importing and selling cars and i prefer Toyota over any other make because they go very fast.On sundays i usually go to sunday car bazaar to sell cars there.There are some cars that have been there for months eg.mercedes,vw and subarus etc.I will not try to import those.

Mkubwa si unitafutie Toyota mzuri nitembee nayo.

Bollocks…whatever you’ve mentioned are peasants concerns not the thieving politicians.

kama wewe ni car enthusiasts european cars are good for you. uko na patience ya kutafuta genuine parts including small plastic parts. lakini kama mambo ya kufix gari hutakangi achana nazo sababu utapeleka kwa mechanic imbo umwachie akuharibie gari alafu uanze kusemanga ni gari mbaya.

What’s your budget?

There’s an episode of top gear that proved American cars are useless. A Cadillac was panting while climbing a hill, something that a range rover did effortlessly. Americans routinely resort to protectionism whenever Japanese vehicles start taking a larger piece of their market.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=YonHWkoxbUo

can’t someone have their opinion in peace?

1m by dec/jan

I love their Ford trucks though. They are beasts especially in tricky terrains

Toyota belta,axio,fielder,allion u can get with that amount by importing not buying locally.

How much would it cost to import an allion?

Yaani a kenyan in his right mind coughing over 1m to buy a belta? wacha tu

;):smiley: vuta kiti ukae karibu na hongo.

I am giving him the list of cars that he can get close to that amount.Not exactly 1m or more? The rest passo,vitz etc if he wants to go lower.

:eek::eek::eek:

Because Toyota is one of the best maker they have good quality and has cheaper price compared to American cars.