Toyota Prado

from ug with pain

Prado Toyota! Dengerous suv 4x4.
Like I have always said.

Is sitted on a hilux H frame chasis hence very unstable at high speeds, The back fish tails on small multiple humps.
In car terms it’s called a body on chasis no more than 8 bolts hold the body on the chasis be warned.
I didn’t want to talk about this till cresent Baguma was laid to rest!!! But another friend has rolled in a prado but has survived death.
This car originally was produced for Japanese families that lived in the snow hills & mountains meant to be driven at slow speeds up the mountains it became a good seller and intermediary between Hilux double cabin & landcruiser 80 100 200 series commonly known as mpenkoni the proper landcruiser was too expensive and double cabin was a pick up & was not presentable in constituents, weddings and office to most Ugandans. As the constitution states No government servants should have more than 3000cc and all cars should be diesel at that.
So the prado made its way to best seller to organisations government and to most average families and high end because they sit high off the ground, the down side to all this no research is done by the buyers.
Over speeding by the owners & their relos all they do is walk in to a show room and as far as they are concerned a 4x4 is here and I can go mbarara the next day at 180kmp off they go, really?
Prado TX, TZ etc should not exceed 80 or 60kph on a marum or dirt road the brake servos are also wanting??? prefarably keep it as a city car.

Prado killed Ayume
Prado killed Busingye come with me
Prado killed nakato ura
Prado killed the Katama family.
Prado killed miss tourism uganda
Prado killed the woman mp last week
Prado almost killed the lira woman mp.
Prado almost killed female artist Fina M
Prado last week almost killed mc Marcus kwikiriza.
Almost lost ntv presenter G. Epenu last week.
Dr hilderman & mc king close call.
Prado killed 10 last week in luwero.
A few years ago almost killed winnie Byanyima

Today Mining friend pic below.
And many more.

VERDICT:
You are better off buying the older landcruiser vx or the new primo or pajero is a better car too rather than a brand new prado save a life save a nation this is just my opinion. Have you ever heard of a Q7 or ML accident if so 1 or 2.
Please stop buying prados!!! New years resolution.
Harrier is a much better car 100% I have tried & tested.

Car fanatic & critic.

Hii ni repost mzae ama plagiarism lakini ukweli mtupu.

hapo kwa ukweli m tupu ndio natilia maanani

Its not about being body on chassis. Many SUVs and indeed majority of large vehicles and pick-ups are body on chassis. All four wheeled conventional vehicles sit on their wheels at the four points of suspension and unibody cars are not special and the suspension is the same except for the fact that the drivetrain hangs onto the body. So there is no merit in trying to make it seem as if there is a car suspended on five or six points.
The prado instability is just a result of cutting corners with suspension and design…

Apana endesha gari na ujinga. Shida ni wewe sio gari.

Hapa kusema ukweli, shida ni gari. Even at 80kph it’s bounces terribly.

I said this in another forum (wazua I think), get the pajero wacha prado. pajero has independent suspension which means every shock deals with its on shock. prado is multilinked hence trouble on one shock is distributed to other shocks. in city driving this makes prado better but causes the fishtailing

Saw this in another forum. Compared to the VX, the prado is a waste of money (and life too)

Inshort, kama una pesa za kununua prado, tulia tuli uzijazilie mpaka zifikie VX, and you will ride easy na peace of mind :slight_smile:

Toureg, range, patrol, x3, x6 options mingi.

True, had an accident in one too, total write off, but you are more likely to survive the accident in a prado than in fielder and the likes. VX ndio baba yao lakini.

mi niliona vx imegongana na mat head on. Msee wa vx kijana mdogo alikuwa amespeed mbaya akapata bump. Jinga badala ya kuacha gari ifly over the bump ata ikifika mbinguni ifike ana swerve across the bump na mat inakuja. alirudisha mat nyuma kitu 20 metres ikakuwa flattened hapo mbele. Dere wa matt alikuwa kwa roof na kiti na steering yake na hakufa on the spot because he was conscious akitolewa. mat engine ilikuwa peices oil all over. VX bonnet cut totaled but driver’s cabin and windscreen were intact except for deployed driver’s airbag. I deduced that VX is safer lakini millioni kumi itoke wapi?

last Friday niliona VX imefinya premio isipokuwa ni hiyo jina hapo nyuma huwezi jua kama ni premio. VX ni mguu tu ya mbele ilitoka

hehe lakini unajua ni gari iko na chassis premio ni tumabati tu. alafu 2800kg against 1300kg.

:slight_smile: conclusion VX is a very good looking lorry

Upus,sasa munatak niuze hii pradoTZ yangu?

And the Paj is almost half the price too!

Nothing beats a Nissan patrol GRX (or something). hata hio VX

very serious discussion by paupers…
u sound like standard 2 pupils discussing ni mat gani kali…
with aaspirations of becoming embassava drivers when you grow up…

^^^^Tupatie your mature one

The prado is very capable on rough roads. I have done 100-130kph some where in Nyanza on gravel and finished it off with a handbrake turn to the horror of some idlers car watching. This was a one off, not the norm. What it needs is a little anticipation and preparedness at speed to enable you control it better.

The killer in my opinion is the brakes. Like I have found out the hard way a hard jab at them may cause twisting if the brakes are not uniformly distributed left and right particularly the front discs. First test your car. At 60kph jam them hard and feel to which side it pulls. Do this both on tarmac and on gravel. Once you establish your brake uniformity or otherwise, you wont be surprised incase they pull you to one side in a hard braking situation.

All cars kill more so with those that have a high centre of gravity and comfort (read “soft”) suspension. Drive them with care. Drive them with skill and knowledge and you can do anything with them. Ian Duncan proved that with a 4x4;). Even rally drivers crash, mere mortals will crash the more!