Tricks crooked traffic police are now using to set illegal road blocks

Hardly a month after the Inspector-General of Police Hillary Mutyambai ordered traffic officers to stop erecting road blocks or conducting traffic checks on highways without their seniors’ permission, than some illegal stops have started coming up. Looks, like hunger is already biting. Some of these corrupt police were used to so much bribe that they could afford lavish lifestyle and buy expensive cars live in big houses which could not match their know meager salary earnings. Some of them are getting desperate and devising ways to continue extorting money under their seniors radar. According to a traffic police who revealed this trick, some of the police are getting so desperate since so many them can no longer fund the lavish lifestyle including paying rent for the expensive houses they have been living in courtesy of the bribes. If you use the busy Nairobi - Makutano - Embu - Meru road, between 6.30 am and 11.30 am, you will see about 8 to 18 stops on the road.Not all are legal.They will park their private cars on the side of the road since this is a mobile operation. These police will not be having the normal traffic barricade and one or two will have a stop sign. Moreover, they will have 2 or 3 motorbikes stationed on the stop to pursue those who wont stop when prompted.It gets easy, stop, pay and go. The wont bother with private cars since they do not want to compromise their illegal affair. After an hour of collecting bribes (especially from the Mogoka and Miraa drivers and matatus), they get into their cars and move to another location and continue.By midday you will not see any of these stops. They do this owing to the fact that some of the drivers are ignorant and do not know the legal/known gazetted stops. These officers are so daring that they use all sorts of intimidation and extortion to get their bribes. Should you refuse to bribe them, they are armed with notice to attend court and will fine you with all sorts of offences. Moreover, they will collude with the court officials to have you heavily penalized. This ingenious method is slowly moving to other towns where the traffic police heavily benefited from such stops, such as Kisumu and some areas in Uasin Gishu and Marakwet can continue benefiting from the loot.

It will take the public with the help of the offcice of the IG to tame this trend.The IG should provide the known gazetted stops and let the public know of the legal police stops. Be keen and share.

NB
Usisumbue na efidense, this is undercover operation under investigation

Sometime back nikienda home Naivasha, nilipita Mai mahiu and pale Longonot kuna a bridge, then @Meria Mata kama sloth infront of me decided to overtake, makosa! Nilipata @pamba kama kumi wananingoja hapo chini. Damage 5k to 1k, i was on my way again.

Hio inakaa illegal stop

They had a blue’patrol’ car, someone afterwards after narrating to him the story, aliniambia afadhali ningekubali niandikiwe then niende missing huku Mbooni.

very true a guy told me he was stopped by these cops hapo past Kenol, past Kakuzi ati he was overtaking on a continuous yellow line, so the charge sheet wrote dangerous driving, so he was to be in court on monday 8.30 am and it was a friday, wacha nabii went missing and never attended that case, the guy uses that barabara every weekend and nothing has ever happened, ebu let me ask you, can a judge give an arrest warrant for someone who overtook on a yellow line? Lakini dont breathe as sigh yet kuna wale roho chafu and can pursue you hasaa kama you were rude.

Dhuluma tu, they were demanding 5k, nikawasho niko na thao mbele nyuma, the feckin cop took my 1k and smiled sheepishly na kuniambia safari njema ahead.

They are thugs