TRUCKS TO BE TRACKED .

East Africa to track trucks from Mombasa port to stop theft
East African customs authorities have adopted an electronic system to track lorries travelling between Kenya, Uganda and Rwanda to speed up journeys.
The trackers will allow officials and traders to monitor trucks travelling to and from the Kenyan port of Mombasa.
A device will be attached to vehicles and is intended to help prevent hijacks and goods being tampered with.
Uganda, which pioneered the project, says journey times could be cut from three-and-a-half days to just 36 hours.
Detours detected
The geo-mapping, known as the Regional Electronic Cargo Tracking (RECT), will apply to the main road stretching from Mombasa port to the Rwandan capital, Kigali, known as the “Northern Corridor”.
Officials will be able to monitor journeys on a map and be able to immediately detect any detours.
[ATTACH=full]85740[/ATTACH]

Hapo sawa.

cargo itaibiwa tu Na tracker zitupwe kichakani

@Meria Mata ,Nice, though electric cargo tracking has been in place for some time. Currently the report are 9 KRA approved companies in kenya.

Now the politics and lobying for the regional shortlisting starts in earnest (though it’s been going on for some time)

wewe, sasa kutakua kubaya ata ngata hatuwezu siphon.

wanataka iwe kwa gari zote, not the big kambinis only

Hii kitusi inakuwaga? Chatted with a Swahili driver in a gridlock at Maai mahiu slopes, and a call came through from the guys monitoring his vehicle 15 minutes later. After explaining and ending the call, he cursed a lot.

kwani tank itawekwa tracker pia? ama kutakuwa Na cameras all round? mnasimama hapo mtito andei kando ya barabara Na siphon inafanyika in 30min… ukiulizwa mbona ulikuwa stationary at Mtito for 30min unawashow ulikuwa unadish

What I meant is there only 9 companies that have been approved by KRA to provide the electronic cargo tracking service (I have contacts in all of them if you need anything)

Currently it’s done for all transit cargo. Every truck carrying transit cargo must be electronically locked in msa and the electronic seal is only disarmed at the port of exit by kra guys. They even get route violation alerts in real-time if you as much as leave the main route by 500 meters

Yes they do, gives fuel levels in real-time

saw it at work in an Anwaralis truck.

Oh boy, you have no idea, remind me to give you the spec of the technology that was approved

It’s almost impossible to dump cargo

phew! didn’t know about this.

naukibeba passenger engine inazima

leta specs tafadhali, something new to learn here.

tiga maheni

As soon as am close to my laptop, make sure you remind me just in-case I forget

usione truck imeandikwa no passenger allowed ukafikili ni mchezo, once hio sensor iko kwa passenger seat ina sence any weight engine yazimika mara moja. utapewa two warnings na ya tatu nikumwaga unga.

Remote video streaming, plus an immobilizer, then all the vehicle owner needs is to login to the FMS software and remotely stop the truck

hehe hiyo nayo inawork aje