Tuongee ukweli. How many inventions has Kenya came up with since 2000?

And I’m not talking about music and clothes design ama painting.
Nimetafuta na sioni kitu.
Hizi University zetu ni vipi.

Countries don’t invent but individuals. The invention of dynamite(the explosive material) was by Alfred Nobel, not by Sweden, steam locomotive was invented by John Blenkinsop , not by United Kingdom etc etc.

It’s true nations don’t invent things but if the inventor is from a particular country then bragging rights go to that country. Just like not all Kenyans play football but we feel proud when Harambee Stars win games

But the countries play a role in encouraging those inventions. Most American tech innovators have attended universities like Harvard, MIT and Stanford. That’s not by coincidence. Although they had ideas about what they wanted to invent, the universities already had all the resources they needed in the form of past research and mentorship from faculties.

Kenyan universities that offer engineering programs, for example, are just glorified Jua Kali training centres. They still teach students basic things like using lathe machines, welding and measuring stuff. Their Jua Kali counterparts do a better job of implementing their rudimentary engineering skills.

I think it’s the way schools are taught. Cramming is the order of the day starting from standard 1.
Crammers pass and go to university and become engineers and biochemists.
Lakini Kenyan graduates do very well in institutions of research huko majuu. That’s interesting

Several helicopters and planes but they never left the ground

While I agree with the first part of your statement, I disagree with the second. Engineering is about(among other things) lathing and welding to measurements. Engineering is an old field which has matured, things that were taught in 1900 are still very relevant today and will be for a million years to come.

Na wale tumefungua duka mpya, hiyo si hiyo ni inventing ya aina yake pia?

Na una machungu na engineering, kwani ulishindwa kuingia. It’s obvious you don’t understand the process of invention. Engineers are trained to solve problems with a proven set of methods and techniques, you may or may not call that invention. They are not trained to invent, they’re trained to innovate.

Original inventions are done by scientists conducting cutting edge research in universities. Engineers in the field then take that research and implement it.

seed balls, charcoal briquetes, use of volcanic ash in mega construction
mpesa, pimped matatus, use of african print on second hand clothes, east african trap music
gmo sorghum etc

Not everyone finds engineering to be a glamorous occupation, I just picked it as an example.
So now that Kenyan engineers are trained to innovate, what strides have they made in that regard? While others are experimenting with robotics and laser engineering, ours are still tinkering with lathe machines, welding, and basic electrical setups.
Because you understand better than I do, tell me how they’ve innovated.

This would be a more accurate question. How many patents has Kenya applied in all fields combined since independence. My gues is less thant two. Meanwhile in China
[ATTACH=full]223979[/ATTACH]

Patents By Kenyans
[ATTACH=full]223980[/ATTACH][ATTACH=full]223984[/ATTACH]
Russia

[ATTACH=full]223981[/ATTACH][ATTACH=full]223985[/ATTACH]
Nigeria
[ATTACH=full]223982[/ATTACH][ATTACH=full]223986[/ATTACH]
South Africa
[ATTACH=full]223983[/ATTACH][ATTACH=full]223987[/ATTACH]

a thousand memes by an hour. that’s got to count… yes?

Kemron

And meme strings which relate to the political scope…:D:D

that infamous or non-existent ninja everyone keeps saying invented mpesa akanyanganywa:D:D:D:D

Those are not inventions.

source?