Tusker ya Mbirrionaires

Probably in response to the flooding of the Kenyan beer market by imported esp European brands, EABL has promptly responded.

[SIZE=6]KBL launches Tusker for premium market[/SIZE]

WEDNESDAY, MARCH 13, 2019 20:34
https://www.businessdailyafrica.com/image/view/-/5023986/medRes/2280207/-/maxw/960/-/pdr6g3z/-/ale.jpg
Kenya Breweries Master brewer Valentine Wambui during the interview at KBL offices in Nairobi on March 12, 2019. PHOTO | SALATON NJAU | NMG

Kenya Breweries Limited (KBL) has ventured into the premium alcoholic beverage market with the launch of a new ale as it seeks to grow beer sales and woo the middle-class segment.
The firm will on Thursday launch Tusker Premium Ale, which it says is made from aromatic hops and crystal malt. The move is part of East African Breweries Ltd –KBL’s parent company— bid to counter consumers’ increasing shift to premium and foreign brews from mass-market brands.
The beer is being sold in a stubby 500-mililitre bottle at a recommended retail price of Sh210.

KBL senior innovations manager Victor Kagema told Business Daily the new product is targeting Kenya’s fast-expanding middle class revellers whose tastes are trending toward premium beer. “It is positioned for that consumer with discerning taste,” said Mr Kagema, in an interview.
“The Tusker Premium Ale is brewed with specialty hops providing a richer mouth feel, colour and flavour,” said KBL master brewer Valentine Wambui.
It marks the expansion of KBL’s flagship Tusker brand that includes Tusker Lager, Tusker Malt, Tusker Lite and Tusker Cider.
EABL has in the past few years introduced alcoholic brands in the region, seeking to grow and diversify its product portfolio by targeting different consumer segments at a time competition from foreign brewers has intensified in the premium and super premium segments, which have experienced strong growth and retained attractive profit margins.

At least the looted money a good amount will get back to the circulation as these middle class outshine one another on who drinks the premium and the basic

hio ndio umefi sasa. their master brewer is some stupid mungikiress who fucked her way to the top

This one’s so good it refuses to be peed in the urinal.

Not a beer person but I guess the RRP for Tusker Lager is 150 but you fork double at top joints…so hii itakuwa karibu magana matano o_O

This EABL mgtment miss the point by a mile. Imported beers appealing to the middle class, come in green 300ml bottles, read Heineken, Carlsberg, windhoek, etc In all thier creativity, research and consultancies. they had to put their beer in that ugly 500ml bottle similar to taska cider and expect male version of slay queens to be seen behind such bottles?
EABL lost appeal when they were acquired by Diageo. This mungukiress master brewer is just PR to get Kenyans sympathy, "buy local '. she knows half point brewing. I am sure the brewer is some Irish or old German from hell with an old cv and experience of a declining beer brand that was a hit in the early 70’s in the cold Eastern Europe .
May this ale make EABL unheard monetary losses and Rotich gets the wisdom to propose in his budget a new Tax and call it premium ale excise duty @150% of gross. May Kiroche , humphrey and mastermind fill the gap.

This might make more revenue than fuliza. I for-one will enjoy separating myself from the hoi polloi as an effortless method of attracting Kungurus. Price should be 550 per bottle just to make sure 1000 bob doesn’t get you two beers. If you can’t cope with the steep price just order cheaper beers and watch Kungurus fly away with me. Awesome move!

Alcohol content ni ngapi???

No picture? Tuoshwe mecho

[ATTACH=full]229289[/ATTACH]
Look at the bottle shape!!!

:D:D:D:D Kuwa mpole…Wiki inaisha

Terrible. Who gives the go ahead for such designs?

I agree. The trick should be selling at around the same price as Heineken and at the same quantity 330ml. Even their bottling should be somewhat similar but superior to Heineken so that they can convince the customer that they have a sensible substitute. This attempt will fail because customers won’t view that beer as a substitute of Heineken or Tuborg

:smiley: I wouldn’t be caught holding that bottle. Reminds me of the 40 shilling Kibaki coin. Ugly

unchallenged alpha hos who have the boos eating out of their meat pocket that compensate for their obvious lack of talent in the workplace by being rude and pushing nonsensical ideas to make themselves fee like they matter, even with all evidence to the contrary

Isn’t there Tusker Malt to cater for this market

It’s a Tusker. That’s why it doesn’t compete favorably. Branding matters. If you hope to compete against a supposedly premium foreign brand, you better have a better name to match it.

i only drink Guinness. i have tasted almost all premium brands but I still prefer my cold guinness

Tusker is a great brand. I just feel this move reeks of desperation

Why buy premium na pia keg inalewesha?