Tuskys going the Nakumatt route at speed ya Mach 5

I have someone close who works at Tuskys and she was telling me how quickly the chain is going down. Suppliers hawakuwa wanalipwa and salaries zilikua zieanza kuchelewa.
All this was before corona so to see them coming out now and say they have issues, ni kuonyesha mambo ni mbaya.
Another kienyeji run businesses is just about to bite the dust.
Another great day for Capitalism. Mediocrity must be punished

[MEDIA=twitter]1262964656798384129[/MEDIA]

I’m convinced that African bonobos cannot run a large retail chain. Super thin profit margins of 3-5% mean that there’s no place for the usual African shenanigans in the supply chain. Africans can run maybe one supermarket where the owner can monitor everything from top to bottom.

Africans are not human beings. They are the intermediate creatures between Apes and humans

Nakumatt wasn’t run by African bonobos, was it?

We should be worried

Some sharp member has predicted this eventuality at the Predictions 2020 thread.

Did they absorb the Nakumatt stores like it had been envisaged.Probably that move affected their cash book big time

Of course sales are depressed because the only thing most people are shopping for is alcohol due to corona

Their shelves had started being empty way before Corona came. Visit any branch and you will notice the shelves are virtually empty, holding a small amount of goods from brands you have never heard about.

Actually domestic spending on everyday goods has gone up due to the stay at home period, the real problem is that majority do not think beyond themselves. Especially those in management, everybody wants to become rich and quickly. Like there is this guy who won a tender and it happens I am to recieve the goods from him. He calls me and asks me what we should not buy. ‘Usipokuwa mjanja utona wenzako wakitajirika ukiwa tu hapo’ he would tell me. Unfortunately I am not the final authority and even I were, I would not entertain those nonsense. I partcipated during preparation of the order and I know those stuff are needed like yesterday.

wapewe stimulus kama KQ hata kama wao sio parastatal…we need to save jobs

in kenya the retail sector unless you do the carrefour way where the contracts you get into are only meant to favor you,the thieving tendencies of kenyans will bankrupt you.ata kina naivas,quickmart tumaini are all cashing out.

Yap. My company supplies them na tuliwablock coz they owe us 6M. Next ni Naivas then Quickmart. Hio kiherehere ya kuchukua every available space and use it kufungua supa haitaisha vizuri. Kama from Ruiru bypass on your way to Utawala kuna Quickmart mbili just some distance apart.

We all know ni loans wanachukua. Why don’t they use Maathai and Magunas supermarkets as an example? The two supermarkets hazinanga spidi. Mos mos tu na zinagrow.

Tumaini is now Quickmart. Alafu what’s unique about carrefour?

Mathaai ya hapo karibu na stage ya gari za kariobangi haina vitu. Imeanza kuwa na empty shelves.

tumaini sold to the same private equity as quickmart. it was combined to form one brand. carrefour gets into contracts that favour them may you be an employee,landlord or supplier uko kwingine ni we ujipange.its one of the reasons the prices you get in carrefour are rock bottom.

I can also imagine gateman in the company you work for also repeating this statement back in his hood and feeling such kind of entitlement. It feels nice, doesn’t it?

Naivasha one is well stocked

What about Mulley’s? How is it doing?

:D:D:D hio kitu najua ni ati they hire mostly kambodians only na sijui kwa nini.