Tuskys takes over Nakumatt

FYI

weka nyama kwa mfupa bwana!!

Best move business wise… eliminate your close competition.

Still I cant believe Nakumat is over!

talk of the small fish eating the big piranha

competition authority wamepeana go-ahead?

good move, i understand that its a merger. does it mean they’ll rename?

I understand, there was a time Mwau used to own lots of stocks in Nakumatt, what happened ?
Which one of the stores was/was to be bought by Wal-Mart ?

Dsnt apply here chief

Acha ziishe ata zimechoma watu wengi sana…na deni haiishi

Tupee rink priss.
I would advice Tuskys against this move because they will be buying a shell. What they should do is to only buy strategic stores, like Nakumat mega, junction, trm , galleria and nyali.
The others they shouldn’t dare.

Sasa hakuna blue tena

The two companies have always had shares in one another, maybe Tuskys has decided to purchase a majority stake in Nakumatt. There was a time, about 7 years ago, when I was in Kisii town and visited a Tuskys branch, the one next to a matatu stage. Inside, I saw a person in Nakumatt overalls doing repairs. That struck me as odd, why would Tuskys allow that?

Massmart, a South African company 51% owned by Walmart, was to acquire Naivas, but the deal apparently flopped. So they decided to enter the Kenyan market via game brand (in Garden City mall). Walipata ile ujinga ya Tuskys ya family feuds huko pia, wakaamua hawana time ya upussy. Note that Naivas was started by Tuskys founder’s brother, so it seems this nonsense runs in the family.

They are not buying, its a merger, what will happen is Tuskys suppliers will supply Nakumatt now based on tuskys goodwill and ability to pay. Nakumatt shelves are empty because no supplier wants to chomeka

Tuskys are not good paymasters either.

But their shelves remain full, Nakumatt’s doesn’t

Mzee Joram used to work at Nakumatt at its infancy, when he decided to start a shop in Nairobi it is the muhindi who supplied him with stock on credit until he could get a hold of the market. Seems like the same arrangement

Finally someone comes to their rescue! Spotted Nakumatt’s shopping carts in tuskys the other day

FYI, inamanisha nini mkubwa

I’m sorry, this doesn’t make sense, unless Tusky’s gets a huge loan to pay off some of Nakumatt’s debts. Chances are, some or even most of Tuskys suppliers also used to be Nakumatt suppliers. So Tuskys is going to ask them to keep supplying the same supermarket that has gone for months, even years without paying them? Unless Tuskys invests billions, or Nakumatt receives a loan with Tuskys as their guarantor, I don’t understand how these suppliers will just agree to such an arrangement. Remember there are also rumors about Tuskys’ financial condition.