Twitter and JPMorgan are removing 'master,' 'slave' and 'blacklist' from their code

By Julia Horowitz, CNN Business
Updated 8:47 AM ET, Fri July 3, 2020

The language of computing is changing in the wake of the death of George Floyd.

Twitter is dropping the terms “master,” “slave” and “blacklist” from its code after two engineers lobbied for the use of more inclusive programming language. America’s biggest bank, JPMorgan Chase (JPM), is taking similar steps.

“Words matter,” Michael Montano, the head of Twitter’s engineering team, said in a tweet on Thursday. “We are committed to adopting inclusive language in our code, configuration, documentation and beyond.”

“Master” and “slave” refer to one process in the code that controls another, while “blacklist” describes a list of items that are automatically blocked, such as forbidden IP addresses.

At Twitter (TWTR), “master” and “slave” will become “leader” and “follower” or “primary” and “replica,” while “blacklist” will become “denylist.”

Debate over the language used by engineering teams has been amplified in recent weeks by the Black Lives Matter movement, which is forcing companies to reckon with discriminationand the treatment of Black employees following Floyd’s death.

JPMorgan Chase will also remove “master,” “slave,” and “blacklist” from its internal materials and code. The news was first reported by Reuters and the BBC.

The effort at Twitter was spearheaded by engineers Regynald Augustin and Kevin Oliver.
Augustin, who is Black, tweeted that he was inspired to push for changes after an email went to the engineering team with the line “automatic slave rekick.”

“Seeing it was infuriating,” he said. “I’ve been used to seeing the word ‘slave’ throughout my [computer science] education but this was different.”
The list of words that will start to be swapped out — which Twitter said is not exhaustive — also includes “grandfathered,” which will become “legacy status,” and “dummy value,” which will become “placeholder value” or “sample value.”

https://www.cnn.com/2020/07/03/tech/twitter-jpmorgan-slave-master-coding/index.html

:D:D:D:D:D that is completely unnecessary but… okay!

It’s now becoming absurd…

This is not what the protests were about.
Police brutality and biased courts ndio watu walikuwa wanauliza

Like kihiiiii

When will they stop perpetuating racism by their use of black tyres?

You don’t get to decide how or when this ends. The genie is already out of the bottle!

Now that you say it. Those black, slave tires do all the work, how unfair. :stuck_out_tongue:

There will be changes here and there. Of all the places Alabama changed their Confederate flag!!! I mean I can’t brukenge it

That won’t stop them from calling each other ,“Mah nigguh!”
Sijui niggah, sijui nigga, sijui negrumps, sijui niggah mahjiggah… and yet they know where it came from.

I was told that nowadays it’s okay to use the word : coon.

FedEx has joined calls for the Washington Redskins to change their name. Nike has suspended the sale of their jerseys. Some these brands are just unnecessarily stubborn. These calls for the Redskins to change their name have been around for decades now. If your brand divides people so much, why insist on holding on to it? The Redskins were also the last franchise to integrate their players, which speaks volumes. Heneway, raundi hii watafinywa mifuko. It’s funny how these brands quickly abandon their “heritage” when their bank balances are threatened. George Floyd will not go quietly.

Turning out to be a ridiculous race to the feminist bottomhole

Guess what, that day is coming. Fanyeni cosmetic changes to but this train is only gaining speed. Qualified immunity will be abolished. DC/PR will get is statehood. Living wage is coming. Legal system will be overhauled. EPA will be restored. Ngoja uone.

Should I also drop mine mum @Purple

GitHub pia is replacing the term master used with code branches with an alternative term to avoid slavery references.

Some people are afraid of change . And the change will change them . Especially republicans . Yaani I couldn’t believe my eyes that Alabama removed their Confederate flag!! I cant fathom this . Nasikia Moscow Mitch is in trouble huko Kentucky . Please verify. Hapa Vumbistan we get scanty information

Dumb shit

:smiley: it’s gonna be interesting to see what we are gonna use henceforth.

hii ni utoto. sasa hatutanunua master cylinder?
Ama ni njia ya kuficha utumwa?

:smiley: Wah! Negro, matusi, Nigger matusi, Black American matusi, ikakuja African American, ikawa ni matusi, People of colour sasa ni matusi. Giving something a new name dont change it. Jumperring something on a motherboard to primary and another to secondary/subsidiary place whether you call it slave/master or subsidiary/primary will do exactly the same thing. Moja itakuwa inapeleka ingine. Utake usitake. Wengine referring to someone is a woman ni matusi. Mwanamke ni matusi. Neno mama lilikuwa la heshima kitambo. Juzi nikimwuliza jamaa fulani mama hajambo akasema nimemkosea bibi yake heshima kumwita mama! Labda kwake kusema mama ni matusi. Aiyaiyaiya