Twitter loses $5 billion in market value after Trump is permanently barred from the platform

DOW
+0.06%

S&P
+0.07%

NASDAQ
+0.17%

Insider

MARKETS
STOCKS
INDICES
COMMODITIES
CRYPTOCURRENCIES
CURRENCIES
ETFS
NEWS
[/ul]
Subscribe
© 2021 Insider Inc. and finanzen.net GmbH (Imprint). All rights reserved.
Registration on or use of this site constitutes acceptance of our Terms of Service and Privacy Policy.
Disclaimer | Commerce Policy | Made In NYC | Stock quotes by finanzen.net

Insider
[SIZE=5]Login to your account[/SIZE]
Signup Login Subscribe to BI Prime

[SIZE=7]Twitter loses $5 billion in market value after Trump is permanently barred from the platform[/SIZE]

Theron Mohamed
Jan. 11, 2021, 05:12 PM

https://images2.markets.businessinsider.com/5e320918e0e14453491aae2d?format=jpegTwitter stock slumped on Monday after the platform permanently barred President Donald Trump.
REUTERS/Jonathan Ernst
[li]Twitter’s stock price tumbled as much as 12% on Monday, erasing $5 billion from its market capitalization.[/li][li]The tumble followed the social-media group’s permanent suspension of President Donald Trump’s account on Friday.[/li][li]“After close review of recent Tweets from the @realDonaldTrump account and the context around them we have permanently suspended the account due to the risk of further incitement of violence,” Twitter said.[/li][li]Trump, who had about 88 million followers, generated enormous publicity for the platform with his controversial and incendiary tweets over the past six years.[/li][li]Sign up here our daily newsletter, 10 Things Before the Opening Bell.[/li][/ul]
Twitter stock fell as much as 12% on Monday after the social-media company permanently suspended President Donald Trump’s account on Friday evening. The share-price decline wiped $5 billion from Twitter’s market capitalization.
Twitter’s bosses suspended Trump’s account - which had about 88 million followers - after the world leader’s fanning of conspiracy theories about voter fraud and election theft spurred thousands of his supporters to lay siege to the Capitol last week.

https://markets.businessinsider.com/news/stocks/twitter-stock-price-president-donald-trump-permanently-banned-tweeting-2021-1-1029946778

@T.Vercetti .

So it’s about where it was a month ago ? It’s trading at $48. Was $38 back in Nov. Will be back to $55+ in another week or two. I bought at $24 back in March btw. Mbele iko sawa. No negotiating with terrorists.

Cheki huyu mshenzi. Kumbe anakuwaga Democrat tyrant to the core pia???

The things one learns in a week .

[MEDIA=twitter]1348801914411036672[/MEDIA]

I have always suspected why and how he makes all those book sales and films. Now it makes sense.

[MEDIA=twitter]1347938106243244034[/MEDIA]

terrorists
Osama in his grave like this:D

Desperation.

[MEDIA=twitter]1348804387611631616[/MEDIA]

hapo sawa we will bring facebook and twitter to their knees, kila mtu kwa nyumba yangu from bibi to watoi to mboch to bukusu shepart nimetoa amri watoke twitter na waniletee sworn affidavit .

Twirra should know people

Good. Me I deleted my 10 year old Twitter account last year… it’s the most abusive, negative and toxic app ever.
Especially if you’re at trump supporter

Twitter forgot they are a business and businesses have to stay neutral at all times.

Yeah, someone is shitting on your lawn but you ‘stay neutral’.

This is the stock market. Ups and downs are constant.

Morning. Saa hii nafanya warm-up ya chokosh war.

Really ! ! ! We never saw these when BLM and ANTIFA were on it.

That was a bad business decision, unless the CCP and The Biden administration are gonna subsidize for the loses.

Show me your ways mdau.I have 5k to risk

Huyo ni conman jiepushe na yeye. Word to the wise.

One is protesting human rights.
The other is planning a violent overthrow of government.

And BLM never explicitly planned violence on social media. Most of it was spontaneous instigated by the police.

Trump’s cult has been planning how to hang Mike Pence, shoot Nancy Pelosi and kidnap the demon crats openly.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=IuAxCzjW2wk

I think etoro allows everyone to buy US stocks.