https://pbs.twimg.com/media/EytetspW8AIgaTi?format=jpg&name=large
https://pbs.twimg.com/media/EyteqIGXIAo0y8Q?format=jpg&name=large

https://pbs.twimg.com/media/EytemslWUAYuvmn?format=jpg&name=small

https://pbs.twimg.com/media/EyrqVfKW8AI2wql?format=jpg&name=4096x4096

Kwani huwa inakuwa signed every year?.

A

Leta picha za 2019 ama 2020

Wakae na waxy crude yao!

Lapset is a never ending nightmare for us. Remember it’s kibaki regime with oligarchs like wanjigi who engineered these massive looting projects. A kind of ‘win win’ for the country. Wao wapate top cream for using brains and wakenya wapate(unsustainably expensive) infrastructure.

In 2007 you kenyans uprooted the UG railway and burnt Ugandan lorries, then you expect uganda to route their oil pipeline through kenya while they have an option of using the secure TZ route? Actions have consequences.

This is it.
Also the fact that when a community along the route gets angry wanafunga barabara and it takes a whole day to re-open the road.

Such disruptions are very bad for business.

And the pipeline land in Kenya cartel prices will make the project another white elephant.
Good for the two countries since jaba base analysis has it they will give land for free.

Your name betrays you

1975 project is not going to die just because

When is the last time TZ had violent demonstrations or tribal clashes that left area of the country lawless ?
This is a smart move by Uganda. Kidogo kidogo the economic integration and dependence between Kenya and UG borne of colonial policy will slowy unravel until our economies decouple.
This wont stop with pipeline, machinery and fertilizers will pass through TZ ports as soon as a viable road network is built.

Why are people here making assumptions when there are answers? UG stopped the SGR agreement due to exaggerated nonsensical costs, Rwanda will also build and connect to the line ignoring Kenya. The LAPPSET project also marred with controversy, disagreement and inflated costs.

Tanzania has no baggage, their SGR is debt free and electrified. Their economy and taxes are better than Kenyas, the country is politically stable and the list goes on. If you were an investor wouldn’t you also pick Tanzania!? Why would people here be so tribal so much so that you blame our shitty economy on Baba’s followers!? What if they promise not to repeat again because of handcheque? Will that make our shitty country better?

Kweli kweli. Hapa ndio unaona majirani unadharau wakishikana na kuendelea na wewe unazidi kuingia msoto.

I thought wanjigi alikuwa na SGR alone.

Never thought he was also on Lapset

yaani this negro is everywhere and nowhere…

If Baba feels Nyanza does not benefit from Kenya, why can’t he call for independence of Nyanza.

A win for the Parasitic Owners of Capital. Museveni is a puppet of the foreign owners of capital looting mineral resources in Congo.

Was it a looting project though? It was based on the geopolitical realities of the day- that Ethiopia/Eritrea rivalry would never end and that South Sudan would never think to export its oil through Khartoum who had effectively enslaved them for a near century.

As it turns out, the whole plot has backfired. South Sudan only uses Nairobi for money laundering and Ethiopia under Abiy made friends with Afewerki plus its in the preliminary stages of a vicious civil war.

If you’re looking at a looting project, look no further than SGR, the Kenyatta family failed diplomacy and that clown Macharia’s attempt to force UG to use it which likely pushed this decision.

Magufuli’s madness. But he’s dead now so its easier to invest in Tz without fears that CCM will start shakedowns and extortion.

This forum is largely populated by Kikuyu voters who find it convenient to ignore that their Muthamaki built the SGR to end in his Naivasha plot and his chief lieutenant recently tried to force UG importers pay extra charges for using the lines. A diplomatic blunder that seems to be the norm for this fucking Jubilee regime.

The SGR and the corruption around it has effectively bankrupted Kenya. No importer in their right mind will use this railway wakijua that they will be charged levies for an incomplete railway line!

Why was makufuli hesitant to sign this deal?
I mean he was in power for like 6 years…

SGR was part of the the LAPPSET project. Several people tried to say its a con scheme but the government knew how to market this utopia

I’ve also noticed that. If this is their thinking then we have long long long way to go as a country.