Uhuru:chinese borrowing will not stop

Uhuru Kenyatta: We must be cautious and prudent that we are not borrowing to consume but we are borrowing to grow and that must continue if we are to meet the deficit this country has

Video

@FieldMarshal CouchP what’s your take?

Thanks for asking for my opinion.

Borrowing is not bad per se, BUT RECKLESS borrowing is. My problem with Uhuru is that he is using revenues collected LOCALLY wastefully and then relying on expensive loans to build infrastructure. Off the top of my head, no country the size of Kenya can offer free education, sanitary pads, healthcare etc etc etc. NOT EVEN THE UNITED STATES. To create the impression - through stupid populist policies - that an economy with a per capita income of about $1,300 can offer the same freebies as Nordic economies, with per capita incomes of over $30,000, is not only delusional but crazy - and that unfortunately has been Uhuru’s policy. Throw in corruption and the waste becomes mind-boggling.

To move forward Kenya must address both the software and the hardware. uhuru seems bent on addressing the hardware BUT not the software. If he also addressed the sugar, maize, tea, coffee, macademia, avaocado, milk, fish sectors; the huge wage bill; corruption; cartels in banking, transport etc HE WOULD NOT NEED TO GIVE PEOPLE FREEBIES BECAUSE THE MAJORITY WOULD ALREADY HAVE MONEY IN THEIR MPESA ACCOUNTS.

It doesn’t matter how many roads you build but when the money meant to pay 10,000 maize farmers goes into the pockets of 10 cartel members, there is nothing we are doing. The economy will grow, like it is now at 6.5% BUT for a very few - those 10 cartel members, not the 10,000 farmers.

Asante

Wacha ni forward hii piece kwa mzito uhuru… Through whatsapp on our “state house road residents” group

Spoken like a true wise Guka na closing remarks ni swaffi kabisa.

Wacha uhuru akule zake tano na pia ruto zake kumi!

Watu wajipange. Chinese and chinese loans are here to stay because our youths are lazy and incompetent. Especially those who the go’oment trained in technical fields like engineering and agriculture!

Why do i find this man’s vision as per his words very good, but then again when i look at what has happened for the past six years I find no hope?
why is his vision as he presents verbally very fine but whatever happens in real sense destructive?

Because, sir, like most niggas this side of the woods you consistently refuse to accept the truth? AND THAT TRUTH IS THAT WE WILL NEVER, EVER, EVER BE ABLE TO DEAL WITH POVERTY UNTIL WE DEAL WITH THE POPULATION EXPLOSION PROBLEM.

It will not matter whether our economy grows at 15% pa or we completely eradicate corruption or the huge wage bill.

As long as Kenyan vaginas are pumping out nearly 2 million babies out each year, it’s never, ever gonna happen (this year, 1.1 million kids sat for KCPE. Add another 400,000 who fell by the way side. Now tell me which economy in the world creates 1.5 million jobs a year - coz these kids will be in the job market in the next four years!!!

Guka what kind of autism do you suffer. i find you are obsessed with population reduction. give me one great power that came to be by population reduction. And again give me one great power that reduced its birthrate before modernization. Why do you exactly think that your untested method is infallible truth? Unapanda mti kutoka juu.

guka linking Kenya problem with population is not realistic… Shida ya Kenya now ni mismanagement of public money… We are footing huge budget that is bloated with artificial projects that end up in people’s pocket… Imagine what one third of budget that is lost on corruption could have done? How many factories.,jobs could have been created?

There is no single country the size of what we have here that has ever been made wealthy by population reduction. in fact low population growth rate is always a product of high income, better education and a higher standard of living. Guka looks at the problem from the surface and then says he is the most intelligent being to have ever walked the earth.

Mimi hushangaa sana na nyinyi. Siyo matusi na mnisamehee lakini if you can’t understand such simple things serious, what’s the use of education? Kila siku mnasema eti China na South Korea have developed past us. You think there’s no corruption there? Why is the immediate former Sk president in jail? Why has China just jailed the immediate former head of Interpol? Corruption is everywhere. EVERYWHERE.

The problem with Kenya - and please get this carefully - is that population growth erodes economic growth. Our economy keeps growing but the population grows just as fast, cancelling any benefits. Are we together until here?

Compare us with Korea and China. To develop, China ordered a one-child policy for 30 years. As a result, the population growth has stabilised. Two parents worked to educate one kid and also invest for him.They also made investments for him including housing.

South Korea, which had a population of about 27 million in 1963 now has about 54 million (not exact figures). That is, very very very slow growth rate - two parents getting 2.6 children in their lifetime. Like China, they were able to educate and invest for their children over the years.

What happened in Kenya? Two parents were until the 80s getting SEVEN children. In some areas in Western, NE and Coast, some parents are still getting this number of children YET they cannot feed, educate, or even house them. As a result, our population has gone from 8 million in 1963 to over 50 million. That’s more than 600%. If it had grown at the rate of SK, we would be at 16 million.

Today, thankflly, some areas of Kenya have come to grips with the population explosion problem and are growing at an exponential rate. In urban areas and places like Centro, parents are having 2-3 children. As a result people are starting to live fairly good lives. Doubt me? Fly over Kenya and see the number of coloured roofs in Centro and compare with say, the Coast. Look at KNBS statistics on education and health and see which region has better indicators.

Don’t even use Centro. Use Kakamega. Families with 2-3 children are doing way better than families with 7 children. Kama baba ni mwalimu with a salary of Sh30,000, this goes further when shared between four people than when shared between 10 people. Surely this is common sense?

In another 20 years, the mwalimu with two chldren would have taken them through uni. In the family with eight children, only the first born will go through uni AND THEN HE’LL BE EXPECTED TO PROVIDE FOR HIS YOUNGER SIBLINGS. Which family will break the poverty cycle.

I have tried my level-best to break it down. please note I’ve not spoken of populatio reduction or such nonsense. I’ve spoken of population growth RATE.

So how much has the population in the developed world of cendro grown over the years? Development brings down population growth rate and those areas of kenya that are less developed will follow suit with development. You are looking at the coloured roofs in wherever and intepreting it as a result of so 30 year old kamau with two kids, which is wrong. development is usually a collective effort and it never means that the lesser the people the more the development and it never has. You want to tell me wealth in parts of central appeared suddenly when 20 year olds started having two kids?

What I will NOT engage in is stupidity. I consider this debate closed.

Chimp behaviour.

You have nailed it brother.

Before Thika super highway was build, there were terrific traffic snarl ups.
Then came the highway and still we have even bigger snarl ups. WHY??

Simple. The new road encouraged more people to buy cars and move to those adjacent areas.

In short population MUST match the resources available. Not vice varsa

Gatheca! Gatheca! Gatheca! How many times do i call you Gatheca?!

Less than a week ago you demonised people who rant alot and listed Uhuru’s achievements as economic growth and Kenya producing dollar millionaires fast. What changed? Why you whining the growth is being felt by very few?

Okiya kuwa mpole :D:D