understanding the electoral college system

The united states of america president is not directly elected by voters, but by electors that people that people in a single state vote for. The more people in a state, the more electorate the state is given. for example Texas has a population of 25 million and is afforded 38 college votes while a state like Delaware has a population of 936,000 and has only 3 votes.
There are 538 electors in total,corresponding to 435 members of congress, 100 senators and 3 additional electors for DC.
All states chooses to automatically allocate all its Electoral college votes to whoever comes first regardless to the margin of victory. whoever gets to the 270 mark out of a possible 578 wins the presidency.
electoral college system was set up to ensure regional balance- it makes it mathematically impossible for a candidate with large amount of support in just one region
to overwhelm the vote.
in 1800, 1824, 1976, and most recently in 2000, the electoral college has elected a different president to the popular vote. Al gore won the nationwide vote by more than half a million votes but fell short of the presidency by 4 electoral votes.
By the end of the entire election system this year it will emerge that Democrat Hillary Clinton will emerge victorious in the populous vote but Republican Donald J trump still will be the president.

mnaeza ni correct me nsha zoea yetu ya tharaka nithii

This can work very well in kenya. Consider this, Uhuruto will only get ECVs from Central and RV provinces.

Provinces zingine ECVs zinaenda kwa Baba:D:D:D

Hatuwes change to this crap system to favor baba. Akwende kabisa na ajue kujitetea.

Per square kilometer, central province and western should have more electrol votes than the rest, Nairobi excluded.

this part is not entirely correct

[ATTACH=full]66839[/ATTACH]

Then give us the entirely corrent version

You are either a pledged or an unpledged elector, even for the pledged electors, there is the option (rarely used - check the case of algore and friend in 2000 and again a recorded instance in 2004 ) that allows pledged electors to vote for some else other than the one pledged or abstain from voting during the electoral college vote in December. in the event that an elector abstains or votes contrary to the pledge, they are referred to as faithless electors. Now, more than half (29 ) of the states have a law for penalizing faithless electors but i don’t believe anyone has ever been penalized.

so with the above, some pro-establishment die hards are hoping that HC can still sneak into white house if some pledged delegates go faithless next month

I think kuna 2 States which are exempt from this rule. I think.

Just hold on for a sec @Jimmy_m .
Are you saying that the election is not over yet? That the drama is just about to start?

21 states don’t enforce it or rather don’t have laws to punish an elector if he/she decides to go faithless

most of the drama is behind us and No, the elections are not over yet, its just assumed that the trump is the president elect on assumption that come december 19th when the electoral college electors cast their votes, there wont be any electors going rogue and that they will stick to partylines

Vile watu wanadai hii system ikuje kenya, hawa elector wanaeza kuwa wanafichwa wapi?! If these our leaders could trace witnesses at the Hague…watu wamefichwa Hague na bado wanawafikishia ujumbe ya kwamba witnessing has consequences, sembuse electors.
Kuna vile side moja kama elector utakuwa unawekelewa 1 billion shillings kwa meza, “wee nani, dio hio one birions cash nipatie hii kiti saa hii! One birions cash na shamba acre mia moja huko Ichaweri ama nitembee na hio kichwa yako saa hii. choose wisely.”

That would be the most dangerous job in the universe.

Some of these things can only work in the u.s. Before we even get to the presidential election can you imagine real party primaries in Kenya?

Imagine raila losing the odm primary to someone like ababu namwamba or kj. Or uhuru losing to Keter or wamalwa. These things can only happen in the u.s. like Obama said,“mine is a story that could only happen in the United States of America.”

Ama badala ya baba kusema “My fellow Kenyans ,democracy is now on trial! Kura kwisa ibwa na hizi burukenge!”

Aseme… “My fellow Kenyans it is now time to unite our great nation. It is time to put the past behind us and accept that President elect Uhuru Kenyatta is now our President…”

Ndoto.