University degree or Certification

Fellow villagers, Hii maisha ya uni imenishinda yawa.
I recently did some calculations and came to notice that the expenses that I incur to keep my kunguni-like lifestyle at par in the uni is alarmingly higher than what i imagined it would be and can be usefull if channeled into something productive.
So I’m contemplating dropping out of my Comp Sc uni degree and using my 70k annual tuition fee plus some extra cash that i will have saved from unnecessary expenses to get an IT certificate from Cisco (CCNA) and later (CCNP) rather than having to go another year and a half to get a degree that will have me tarmac looking for a job more than hawa watu wa census combined(afadhali hao wanalipwa for their tarmaking)
Am i on the right path?

You only have a year and a halft to go then you want to give up? wacha ufala

1.5 years ni kiasi. kama umemamliza 2.5 huwezi lemewa 1.5. Jikaze tu utoke hata na Pass, you can learn hizo certifications unataka in your spare time

I know where this idea has come from

jamaa una.stare at pass sasa unaona aibu

hehehhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhh!

Maliza degree alafu you can do whatever you want. I know a lot of relatives of mine who were thinking like you and are now suffering. The most important thing you can do is to learn the skills rather than get the certificates you want to get. With the skills and a degree you stand a better chance at getting a job and progressing kuliko mtu wa certificate pekee.

A university degree will simply open a couple more doors(opportunities) for you than a certificate, after that you will still have to prove yourself.

In Kenya most employers look for higher certification(Degrees, masters) rather than the ability of a person to do the said job, so kama hutaki kutarmac sana just get the damn degree and be done with, but if you have an entrepreneurial mindset, then the degree won’t help much.

just finish the degree cuz mostly is the bare minimum when you apply for a job.hizo certofications ni poa but hizo ni za kusupplement your degree to have an edge.

Which university is this? Please post their fee structure.

I’m finding that annual fee to be very … “affordable” for a computer science degree.

Kijana maliza degree…skills nowadays people learn akiwa kazi bora uingie kwanza…and the minimum entry issa degree

Mungich @Randy alidrop out saizi anachunga mbuzi Othaya

Manze this randy fellow naonanga ni Casual labourer

What are you trying to say?
70+35=105k what biz or hustle will you do with this amount?
Don’t add your other daily expenses to this amount coz those will always be there whether in school or not.
Like @Deorro has said, maliza shule, do the courses on your free time…
Stop being a pussy it’s just a year to go and you’ll have all the time you want, to go hustle till you drop.
Jaribu think out of the box, don’t school to go tarmac, try find ways to be independent of employers, ofcourse you need experience… Gather that experience while in school as well…

some universities like zetech offer a certification course to all it related courses…io ya ccna…maliza degree then hizo zingine zifuate

Boss, this getting weird kweni unanitaka you keep tagging me! I aint about that life fuck off.
Na mungich ni budako.

Unlike your sorry fat ass self i dont prentend to be what i am not… casual labourer or not i doubt you can afford my wages.

Mungich unasumbua sana

As you’ve already been advised, finish the degree first, then seek certifications. There was a discussion about this some time back; if/when I recall the dates, I’ll attach a link.
Degree vs certifications is quite a hot topic, but it comes down to what YOU want to do and what employers are asking for at the moment (it evolves). It also depends on the country. I stand to be corrected on this, but my guess is, based on the rise in popularity of university education, most Kenyan employers would expect you to have a degree.
From my experience (disclaimer: I’m not in Kenya), certifications carry a little bit more weight than a degree (for jobs related to Security and Networking. I can’t speak for any other IT field). Keep in mind that passing a certification exam (mid to higher level certifications) is not a walk in the park. It requires a lot of studying (you MUST look at the exam objectives) and/or several years of work-related experience. I’m really not trying to discourage you, but CCNA is a b*tch. You either have hands-on experience with Cisco devices, or spent days in a virtual lab. Same applies to other non-proprietary certifications (like CompTIA). Exams are also fairly expensive (at least Ksh. 30k per exam).
My final word- if you don’t finish the degree, you’ll have wasted the time/money. Go for the remaining year while concurrently studying for certifications. Good luck.

Si wewe ndio umeniita…

Maliza masomo then later badala ya kutarmac you can do the certifications ndio ikaw as an added advantage… Maliza masomo buda

unfortunately, to be given the opportunity to showcase your skills you must have a degree. without that degree the jobs will be given to people without skills, then they subcontract you…so fanya degree umalize, consider it as the suit you wear to interviews. without that suit, your cv and certs would be irrelevant, io degree cert iko ivo