Unpopular opinion: I love being employed. If you want a high-paying job, read here.

After highschool sikuwa najua which course to do. All my friends were doing BCom so mimi huyo, nikaona pia mimi nifanye BCom. I applied in JKUAT. I was with my dad at the time, tukaenda assembly hall where all BCom people had assembled. My dad kuona hiyo group kubwa yote akakataa, akasema nichague course ingine. My dad (MHRIP) was a real African man, you never argued with him in public (kuna siku my sis argued with him in public, alichapwa kofi ingine my dad alikuwa karibu kupatwa na mob justice J ) anyway nika change course to a science course. After campo, attachment ya kwanza ni hizi kampuni you have to pay to intern there. My dad akasema sawa atalipa. So I went to attacho there for 3 months and I used to pay 5k a month, so that’s 15k in total. Even though tulikuwa tunalipa, the skills and knowledge I gained there was immeasurable. Nikatoka hapo nikapata job na NGO, I was being paid 52k in 2012 net. In 2014 I got a job ya 90k net. In 2016 I got job ya 120k net. In 2018 I decided to apply for a job outside Kenya and got job ya 700k, nikitoa pesa ya my family, I save at least 500k a month.

If you have a Masters, can take big risks and want to make good money, apply jobs outside Kenya especially NGOs in our war-torn neighbours: Somalia, South Sudan, DRC and Cameroon/CAR. NGOs in these countries are always looking for qualified people and they will make it worth your while.

Pros: You get to travel all over at your company’s dime. They pay kila kitu, from visa, work permit to vaccinations. They even pay for your airticket to and from Kenya. Your salary and allowances ni zako na familia. The money can range from Kshs 500,000-1,000,000 per month net depending on skills and the NGO. You can easily buy land and apartments and go on holidays. Plus they pay in dollars. Apart from my job I got some side consultancies, which you end up doing because there’s nothing else to do.

Cons: You lose that home feel and being grounded. Nikija Kenya I sometimes feel lost because sina kwangu, I stay in a hotel and only visit relatives. You lose touch with friends and you realize mki hang out kuna vile things are not the same. You miss soo many family functions mpaka unasahaulika. Pia field work is no joke especially if you are used to conveniences of Nairobi. Langauge barriers, food is weird, dealing with hostile locals. In Kenya I used to really fear insects. Siku hizi naoga na frogs na worms kwa bafu. Also lack of social amenities means you work all day and weekends coz there is nothing else to do.

In short I love being employed and I will remain employed in the near future till ile siku nitachoka. My tip is, do a marketable course (sciences) and take a risk, work outside Kenya in the conflict-affected states. Go to reliefweb.com and filter the country you want.

Kuna umeffi kidogo kwa hii post, do you, I do me. Otherwise, your dad must be so proud of you:) Though I’m sure hakuwahi sema he was juu venye umedescribe. MHRIP.

Boss I have that masters. I specialize in M&E, currently working for an NGO. I willing to work even in Maiduguri, give me leads.

:oops: ati you said your phone number is?

Boss kuna kitu +ve you see in people’s threads! Meffi hii

Yes, they pay well becuase they send you literally the middle of nowhere. NGOs kama UNICEF is even higher, esp wakikutuma DR Congo. Most people quit in three months due to hardship. That’s why the money is good enough to attract people.

Look for MandE jobs in those countries I have mentioned. Remember to emphasize you are willing to to go there. Wakiona wewe ni mwoga, mwoga wanaeza kataa. You must also be willing to move unaccompanied (no wife and kids).

BS …the reason I wake up early to work is so I can pay the godamn bill …nitume hata siberia na unilipe poa ! I will look straight in the faces of my peeps and tell them am going They can washa jiko with the cash I send back while crying how i never am around !!! wtf wrong witchu? Chase the paper you will come back to mend whatever relationships will be remaining when you get back!

You can do these when young, but once kids set in, other priorities become more important than chasing money. 1 CT thoughts

[quote=“Bottoms, post:8, topic:179908”]

You can do these when young, but once kids set in, other priorities become more important than chasing money. 1 CT thoughts
[/QUOTE

From what I have seen, it depends. Most of my colleagues have kids here in Kenya. They decide to do a job for two-three years, invest back home and unarudi for good. Uzuri ya hizi jobs ni contract, not permanent since the unpredictability really messes things up. Like now DRC is in elections, some expats have left.[/QUOTE]

Unless you are talking of UN agencies most of the other relief agencies do not pay as much and for the UN you must have reached the Professional level scales.

What about a fella with a first University degree like me. Natosha mboga kweli?

I like people who take risks. Hongera!

Anasema utafute degree bora, si bora degree :D:D:D

I agree with your partly. A while ago I applied for a consultancy job in one of the UN agencies and after long interviews and tests, I was told that the job would be mine if I agreed to a fee of KSH 1.8M for a period of one year. It might sound like a lot of money to some (ktalk peasants of course :D:D:D) but if you break it down by month, it meant I would be getting 150k per month which is peanuts for such a big NGO. I have never looked at that agency the same way again. They are meffi in my eyes.

Yangu ni bora ktalker. It’s a science one:)

Huku kenyatalk si msamaria mwema anitolee form ya hizo NGOs. Najua hawezikosekana.

which course did you study at jkuat?

watu wanachukua mikopo ya laki saba wanailipia kwa miaka sita nawe huu ni mshahara wa mwezi mmoja? noma sana

Yes, UN can pay as much as $10,000 per month. But as usual this is normally on contractual terms. Not permanent and pensionable basis. Enjoy it while it lasts man

If a man has brains he can work there for one year and then quit because he would have saved the capital he needs to start a business. If you’re very focused on saving you can save half your pay for 12 months thus saving a cool 6M.