Using your laptop plugged-in all the time

iv’e been using my laptop plugged in often ever since i bought it a year ago and now my battery has turned to shit, can’t keep power for more than 20mins browsing the net. lots of articles on google claim that using your laptop plugged in all the time isn’t really a bad thing because once your battery is fully charged the laptop stops charging the battery. but some other articles claim that doing that depreciates the battery life. so how do you guys go about this?.

i keep the laptop plugged in when i’m watching movies, gaming(obviously has to be plugged in), photoshop, browsing the net for long periods, leaving stuff to download overnight sometimes. what are your experiences with this issue guys?.

your battery life will depreciate totally…itafika time lazma uweke charger ndo laptop iwake…in short utakua unatembea na desktop tu kwa bag

My teacher told me that a battery has a finite number of charging cycles. To avoid exhausting those cycles quickly always plug in whenever near mains power.

Tumia tu bila battery.it’s failing.

You have your answer from your own personal experience. Anyway umezoea kutumia ikiwa plugged in so haitakuwa big deal kwako.

Maybe you were using a non compatible charger

It’s an issue with the battery. It has got nothing to do with you using it while plugged in. Most people who say things like “Itaaribika battery ukitumia kwa charge” don’t know a lot about their laptops really.

It’s all to do with CPUs and GPUs really. Be it Nvidia, Amd or Intel.
Here is how they work:
When not plugged in, Laptops run at a low performance profile where they run the CPU at lower clock rates and use the integrated GPU instead of the dedicated one. Once plugged in, the laptop can now enter Performance mode and boost its cores to the maximum.

Look at gaming laptops or any laptop used for heavy work/editing for example. When you use a gaming laptop on battery, it performs like crap. This is because it is using the integrated Intel HD graphics card. If you go to the settings/Nvidia Panel and force into High Performance mode, it will chew through the battery in minutes.

Any laptop meant for heavy work or gaming was thus made to be used while plugged in really. They go into low performance mode automatically when on battery. Boost clocks can’t be reached while on battery. Pulling 60 or even 105 watts from a battery instead of a socket is crazy.

For a while now, I’ve been grappling with the question of whether it’s best to keep a laptop plugged in at every opportunity. Based on my research, there seems to be no consensus from experts.

Just buy a replacement battery from a reputable seller and avoid letting completely depleting the battery charge.

Beyond that, there’s not much else you can do other than hope it serves you well for about 2 years.

this statement…there’s someone who uses their laptop for only two hours in the evening coz mchana they use work equipment while others carry their machine everywhere.

Charge your laptop to around 80% full, and don’t let it drain below 30%, which means you have to keep charging your laptop in short regular intervals. That way you may keep your battery for a longer period of time.

The lifecycle of a battery is measured by charge recharge cycles. You better use it when plugged in and then sometimes you unplug until 30%

It is not always pluging it in which is the problem. The problem is just the battery itself. I have been using mine like that since 2017 sometimes last year I was leaving it plugged in for weeks while downloading files using some slow vsat installed at my school by liquid telcom overnight and I always use it while plugged in unless in few cases and I haven’t seen a big battery depreciation whenever I have to unplug it.

Ikifika 100% unafaa u unplug immediately…then itumie mpaka kitu 20%,uplug in tena. Same with phones.

First Question: Was the laptop new or a refurb?
Point one: Again just like you have been told above, batteries have charge cycle.
Point two: You clearly needed a desktop not a laptop…hehe

Sure, this is more plausible

My material science lecturer taught me about loading and unloading, and fatigue. io battery lazima itachapa

A battery should always be plugged in, when it’s full it automatically stops ‘taking in power’. The more you avoid the charge-recharge cycle, the better it’s for your batter life.

if balls depreciate as we Age Wat of a laptop battery? buy another one and while using ur laptop unplug wen battery full and plug wen it indicates it’s running out of charge. that way it will have a longer life

If your laptop charger is less than 180 watts, hiyo sio laptop ni simu. Tuanzie hapo.

About the battery it all comes down to laptop design. Many small laptops have the battery next to the processor and heat sinks because of design constraints. The heat, especially when plugged in damages the battery. The other problem is over charging. Once the chemical process of charging is complete, the extra charge damages chemistry of the battery. Some laptops have a bios setting that enables slow charging after 90% and does not allow the battery to charge to full to preserve battery life.

huu sasa ni ujuaji.