USIU 2 BIRRION LAND

Students of USIU will today be demonstrating over grabbing of their land by a Private developer…

Moi aliiba shamba kisha akauzia watu wawili.

wacha niulize tu…what is your interest in this matter unashinda ukitupa ma-hint?

Tupe Uhondo Daddy.

I think @Meria Mata is just being himself. Mtu wa brewaking new AKA MeriaMata New Agency :smiley:

Dear USIU-Africa Community,

On Wednesday 29th June, 2016 the Management Board received information that unauthorized persons were frequenting land owned by USIU-Africa (L.R. NO. 12597/2) that is located in Muthaiga North next to Balozi Estate purporting that they were the owners. A formal complaint was lodged at Kasarani Police Station on the same day (OB No 39/29/6/2016). We also beefed up security by posting guards during the day and at night, and we partnered with Kasarani Police to increase patrols. We then proceeded to place a Caveat Emptor Notice in the Standard on Friday July 8, 2016 notifying the general public that the land is owned by USIU-Africa and is not up for sale. On Saturday, 9th July, 2016, at 3:00a.m. a large group of armed people invaded the property and pulled down the university’s demarcations and notices. In a bid to seek police intervention the University then visited the Kasarani Police Station and the Muthaiga Police Station respectively and lodged a formal complaint with the latter (OB No. 13/9/7/2016).

This morning Monday 11th July, 2016, after holding a crisis meeting, the entire Management Board visited both the Muthaiga and Kasarani Police stations as a follow up on the complaints that had been lodged. The visit did not yield any fruit. Accordingly, the Management Board has resolved to hold a peaceful demonstration on Wednesday 13th July, 2016 from 10:00am – details on the logistics and planning will be shared in due course.

In the meantime, we have instructed external Counsel to expeditiously pursue all the legal avenues available to secure the university’s interests.

Please use this statement in handling any media interactions including on social media, and contact the Marketing and Communications Office ([email protected]) and the Office of the University Legal Counsel ([email protected]) in case of any queries.

Best regards,

Paul Tiyambe Zeleza
Vice Chancellor
United States International University-Africa
P.O. Box 14634-00800, Nairobi, Kenya
+254 20 360 6411

Hapa sidhani kama Moi ameuza, ati tranfer was completed one month ago. That time line is too convinient, hii inakaa kama ile story ya kalesingha

[ATTACH=full]48022[/ATTACH]

but newsmen should provide news/information; else we classify them as innuendo journalists…

This will be bigger than weston

another innuendo!

[SIZE=6]Mzee still got it. Kufanya Mambo ! [/SIZE]

USIU-A accuses Kenyan based in US of grabbing prime Muthaiga parcel but he says he paid for it.

WEDNESDAY JULY 13 2016

Former President Daniel arap Moi was paid Sh500 million by a private developer a month ago for land claimed by the United States International University - Africa (USIU-A).

The eight-hectare (20-acre) parcel in up-market Muthaiga North Estate is now hotly disputed with the university community going to the streets to protest “grabbing” of its property.

Dr George Kiongera, a Kenyan resident in the US, said he bought the land from the former President and does not, therefore, recognise the university’s claim.

USIU-A Vice-Chancellor Paul Tiyambe Zeleza however said the land belongs to the institution.

Meanwhile, Dr Kiongera has obtained court orders to keep Riley Services Ltd, a security firm contracted by the university to guard the property, out of the land and replaced them with his own workers, including guards.

Riley are now restrained from setting foot on the property for 14 days, pending the hearing of the case on July 26.

On Tuesday, Dr Kiongera produced documents showing the transfer of the land from Mr Moi to Maestro Connections Health Systems Ltd on June 6. He owns the company with his wife Elizabeth Njeri.

Mr Moi was represented by lawyer Jinaro Kibet of TripleOKLaw Advocates in the transaction while lawyer Albert Ondieki acted for Dr Kiongera.

Mr Ondieki said he was involved in the transaction from the start and had conducted due diligence with TripleOKLaw. He said: “I’m surprised people have emerged to claim ownership. I visited the institution (USIU-A) but was met with very rude reception.”

Prof Zeleza said USIU-A has “always owned the land”, which is situated next to Balozi Estate in the prime Nairobi suburb where an acre of land can fetch upwards of Sh80 million.

LAND INVADED

The don said the land was invaded last Saturday, when “a large group of armed people pulled down the university’s demarcations and notices”.

He narrated: “In a bid to seek police intervention, the university visited the Kasarani and Muthaiga police stations to lodge a formal complaint.”

Prof Zeleza added that there had never been any claim to the land until June 29, when “the management board received information that unauthorised persons were frequenting the land purporting that they were the owners”.

The university head recalled: “We also beefed up security by posting guards during the day and at night and partnered with Kasarani Police Station to increase patrols.

“We then proceeded to place a caveat emptor (‘buyer beware’) notice notifying the general public that the land is owned by USIU-A and is not up for sale.”

Mr Kibet told the Nation that he represented the former President during the transactions and that he had “acted on the instructions of the seller; so what he (Dr Kiongera) is saying is correct”.

Said the lawyer: “I’m not aware of the claims by USIU-A, although I’ve seen some of it in the social media.

“If you look at the caveat emptor in the newspapers and the title that Dr Kiongera presented, the plot numbers are different. Those are two different pieces of land and I cannot know where the issue is coming from.”

USIU-A identified its different pieces of land as LR Nos 12597/2 and 27800 adjoining Balozi Estate in Muthaiga North; and LR Nos 12765, 25302/1 and 25302 situated behind Safari Park Hotel.

LAND GRABBING CARTELS

But Dr Kiongera identifies his land as LR No 12422/19, saying any other is “phantom”. He further accuses unnamed senior members of the university staff, working with land grabbing cartels and unscrupulous officials at the Lands ministry, of attempting to steal his property.

“They are trying to use USIU-A to grab the land from me,” said Dr Kiongera. “This land was sold to me through President Moi’s lawyers, his son (Baringo) Senator Gideon (Moi) and Kanu Secretary-General Nick Salat.

“They facilitated the transactions throughout since August last year. The transaction was above board.

“Exactly one week after it was concluded, I visited the site and found security guards, who told me they had been positioned there to protect it from land grabbers. To me, the grabbers are those who placed the guards there.”

In a statement, Prof Zaleza said he had instructed external counsel “to expeditiously pursue all the legal avenues available to secure the university’s interests”.

http://www.nation.co.ke/image/view/-/3292428/medRes/1378163/-/iktk0o/-/DnLand1207.jpg

The sale agreement

Dr Kiongera rebutted: “It is very unfortunate that these vicious land grabbers are trying to use a reputable institution as a cover.

“USIU-A is innocent. I hope common sense will prevail on the management of the institution not to use vulnerable children to advance the cause of land grabbers.”

Kithure Kindiki Associates, the law firm associated with Tharaka-Nithi Senator Kithure Kindiki, helped the developer to secure finances. One of its lawyers, Mr Boniface Mutwiri, told the Nation that the firm had ascertained that the land was, indeed, owned by Mr Moi before advising its client to go ahead with the purchase.

“We conducted due diligence and, from the search at the Lands offices, everything was proper,” said Mr Mutwiri. “The property, in our view, was owned by the former President.

“USIU have not presented any document. In the caveat placed in the paper, they talk about a completely different property.”

Mzee mujinga shule inaibiwo!!!

is it true that ID No. ya Moi ni 0000001 ?

https://pbs.twimg.com/media/CnKYgy8UkAEWjIN.jpg

Is Moi still H E

Nacheka na niko class

boniface mwangi amepata kazi sasa

Sasa we are seeing what WSR learned from Proffessor mwenyewe.

Awa wakale wa mapesa si wanunue shamba? Wanaiba sana.
Very soon I will blacklist kales, just like some other two hateful tribes…

Problem is that any Kalenjin who does anything wrong will automatically be linked to DP Ruto whether he its true or not. It like during Kanu everything wrong was blamed on Biwott even if your cows fail to produce enough milk.

I’m not defending former President Moi as well but he has been ailing of late so watch out for the people around him who may be up to no good especially his son Gideon. Its well documented that he has ran down most of the family businesses. Standard media is depending on loans, Transnational bank almost failed liquidity test, firms in Baringo and R.V have been retrenching and not paying wages.