Uzee hula ujana wako

In this earth we don’t know the exact span we are gonna breath , so it’s upon the youths to stride n achieve wat can be sow’d katika maisha ya uzee … Meet mzee meta meta … I don’t know his ID No. But as he was busy moping my shop for a few coins (20/= , will tell u why I pay him that) , I got curious to ask him about his youth life …

He laughs n tells me he has 4 sons , all addicted to liquor just like him , they all live in kiandutu slum , they usually visit him once in a while maybe once an year , and he is treated to the best Eabl brands he can stomach …let’s jump to his yester life …

So where did u get the name mzee metameta ?" I ask him puzzled …

He caughs, sio Corona but I bet it’s the excessive smoking of that cheap cigarrete called roster .

He tells me in early 80’s he had a thriving hotel in Thika town called Metameta hotel, he owned a Peugeot, Yamaha bikes, and few pieces of land here n there … He was in early 30’s , he tells me it’s at the prime of his achievement he made friends that love that Royce Rolls , rockstar kind of life … He tells me how they spoiled cash at blue post hotel dancing to the Beatles n Elvis persly rock music . He even tells me he once took a selfy with the legendary king of kikuyu music Kamaru himself back then …

So what Happened?" … It’s during his night of pleasures he got to meet a certain kamba lady calling herself fatuma, with nice Swahili accent … He tells me he left his wife n his toddlers n went to Mombasa with fatuma to have real fun , sex n party … It was party after party , he sold two pieces of land to quench his thirst for liquor n women … His wife wasn’t good in managing the business so it slowly started recording low sales n customers started dwidling . He came home once or twice an year , he had settled with fatuma in msa an opened a big shop there even his accent had changed u would confuse him for a giriama , he laughs n talks that coasterian slang …because of his love for alcohol n thirst for more bootylicious coast women na unajua Hawa wamama was Mombasa na kukata mauno wacha tu !!! He split with fatuma , fatuma was left with the shop n a plot he had registered in msa town under her name …
4 yrs later the hotel in Thika closed down , he sold the other assets n his wife ended up in kiandutu slum with the kids … A tear flows down as he tells me as he was back in msa he received a letter from His close friend in Thika , his wife had committed suicide n left behind a note , he was the reason for it coz of his list for women … She had sliced her neck with a knife n died a painful death … He was so broke even to get fare to come back to THIKA … The wife was burried in public cementary … He came back to THIKA during the multipartism in Kenya , he couldn’t trace his son n if he could how could he tell them he was the deadbeat dad responsible for the death of their mum …

It’s years later that he learnt they had become street kids only one was living in his late parent home in gatanga …

Mzee meta became an alcohol addict drinking cheap liquor n doing manual jobs like pulling Carts …

Coz of age in early 2000 he could no longer pull carts he came to the current small center we live in … Here he does funny jobs like washing business premises n being sent here n there, unclogging sewage , doing minor jobs like slashing here n there … His favorite spot was cleaning the bars for a drink n some ciggarretes , with the current Corona pandemic the bar is a no go zone… He lives in a desserted building whose owner is in Nairobi all he does is keep watch of the building no salary as he doesn’t pay rent …

If he gets 100/= bob he would rather drink 80/= n eat madodo ya 20/= or sometimes fail to eat …

I once gave him all my trousers n shirts I no longer wear , the old man sold them all n drunk to the last coin , he slept in a drainage thank God it wasn’t the rainy season …

In short hii maisha NI duara what goes around comes around…

Goddamn

Very sad for Mzee.

Ponda raha, kifo chaja.

Vunja mifupa kama meno bado iko

Weuh!

Hehehehe na uzee ukifika

Ujana moshi

laana ya kujitakia

Ako sawa, would have loved to get a grab at those Msa bootilicious women he kulad

Utapeanga watu hekaya za vile uliharibu

Reminds me of the mzee who washes cars at my work place. Sometimes he sotas mpaka he comes begging for a 50 bob kama amekosa job. Always looking drunk. 2 months ago he told me he used to work in this same company. Couldn’t get myself to ask what his story is.