Vietnam is exporting electric vehicles to the U.S. -- Kenya should learn and take action

Vietnam is a country that was ravaged by war in the 1960s, and Kenya was doing better economically in those years.

Fast-forward to today, and Vietnam is Vietnam is exporting 17,000 electric vehicles to the United States and 65,000 electric vehicles in the global market.

[MEDIA=twitter]1597124633186095104[/MEDIA]

The government doesn’t take manufacturing seriously in this country. Kenya doesn’t even manufucture bicycles.

Najua kuna mtu atasema Mobius ni company ya Kenya. No, it’s not! Mobius was incorporated in the U.K. in 2010, before it was registered in Kenya.

Btw, electric vehicles are easier to manufucture than ICE vehicles.

If the government was serious, it would be laying the framework to manufucture electric vehicles locally by 2035.

Since petrol vehicles will be banned in 2040, there should be a strategy to manufucture EVs locally by that time.

Kenya doesn’t even need to export everything it manufuctures, but instead, it can focus on the domestic market.

Meanwhile, Europe, North America, and Asia are busy building the foundation because they know how the automotive industry will shift over the next 20 years.

We have a long way to go if Kenya’s biggest agenda right now is the price of unga.

Kenya was ahead of Singapore, Vietnam, Korea, China etc in the 60’s and other stories. This lie is always repeated it has grown legs

It doesn’t matter if we were ahead or not.
What matters is what are we doing as a nation to progress in manufucturing sector?

We don’t have to manufacture anything - there are other ways to make money. For example, we can make Mombasa and Lamu free ports. We can make Isiolo like Las Vegas - give free casino licenses. We can make Nairobi a tax-haven like the Bahamas and Panama

Kutengeza magari haiwezi saidia uchumi ya kenya. Ile kitu itawasaidia ni local manufacturers wakenya weusi watengeze zile products za kawaida zinatumika kwa nyumba kila siku. toothpaste na vitu kama izo. Brands local za wakenya. Na pombe local iko owned na wakenya muache kutegemea multinationals kuwatengezea beer

Na izi eV si zitafanana zote…
What would be the use of a brand name (say Toyota) na zote underneath ni motor na battery pack

We don’t have charging stations
EV are a lot more expensive than petrol cars.
Even the guys pushing EV don’t drive them
Most minerals for their batteries are mined from brutal slave camps in drc
EV are a joke just like climate change
What the Fuck is wrong with you people

Kenya phone will be no 1 worldwide even bigger than Musky phone when he buys Apple, hata roho nyeusi ya @Sidindi Bey ipende isipende

KENYA WAS NOT AHEAD OF ANY OF THOSE COUNTRIES THAT YOU HAVE MENTIONED.

CHINA WAS MAKING ELECTRONICS IN THE 1970S, SAME WITH SOUTH KOREA (Winia now called Daewoo) started manufacturing household goods in 1971. Vietnam has been making rice millers since the 1950s while bonobos used stones to grind maize

Kwani you can’t read? that’s what I have said. Kenya was not ahead.

@Ndindu is a very extremely low IQ bonobo who cannot comprehend comprende?

We had the opportunity to forge much ahead than we are now in the 60’s but instead we delved into tribalistic politics, assassinations and bonobo-level oaths.
Kenya required high IQ leadership in order to understand the communist/capitalist competition and hedge to benefit from both.
Mboya was airlifting Kenyans to study in the US while Jaramogi used his contacts to bring a hospital to Kenyans.

How exactly did Asian giants emerge?
South Korea was in addition to manufacturing then, had an educated population and was most importantly supported by the West after the bitter separation with the North.
China had a long, bloody war between Communists with Chairman Mao against the Kuomintang Nationalists which was only disrupted by WWII and eventually ended with the “country” called Taiwan. Don’t even mention the support China received from USSR.

What about Vietnam? Same pattern.

Singapore? Benefitted from its prime location and most importantly, master Lee Kuan used his head.

People are celebrating about Hustler Fund 500 bob limits, but Kenya will be in a far much better position if quality education was to be free.

The US could really use these… :stuck_out_tongue:

[ATTACH=full]482110[/ATTACH]

Hapo kuna kizungumkuti. The major difference in vehicles has traditionally been on the engine models, transmission and suspension. Hizi vitu zitapotea with coming of EV. Labda sasa watakuwa wanacompete on body shape

Don’t you ever get tired of posting bullshit?