Vihiga county hospital needs to style up

Lakini, honesty speaking how hard is it to mobilize for kshs 2,500? $25??! The mother and sister of the victim appear quite smartly dressed. They even have enough money to afford going to the hair salon. I think there’s a lot more to this story, coz it doesn’t add up.

[SIZE=7]They refused to help my daughter because I could not raise Sh2,500, distraught mum says[/SIZE]

[SIZE=3][ATTACH=full]261547[/ATTACH][/SIZE]

The family of the 22-year-old woman seen in a video that has gone viral online, pleading for help after she was involved in an accident in Vihiga County, now blames doctors at the County Referral Hospital for her death.

Robai Adisa, the mother of Annette Kabarika, says she spent 30 hours at the referral facility before her daughter painfully died while pleading for doctors to help her.

Mrs Adisa says she was asked to pay Sh4,500 so that her daughter could be helped, and even when she raised half of the money, the doctors refused until she could raise the whole amount.

Sad news
“She cried so bitterly until her last moments for the doctors to help her, but no one came to her aid. My daughter died because I did not have money. If I had some money, at that time, I would have saved my daughter,” Ms Adisa said.

Their account has however been disputed by Vihiga County Director of Communication Victor Wetende who maintains that she was brought in too late.

Annette, popularly known as Joy by her fellow AFC Leopards fans, was coming from her aunt’s home in Chavakali when the motorbike she was riding on was hit from behind, throwing her into a nearby ditch at Lunyerere bridge on the Kisumu-Kakamega road. She had left Nairobi the previous day.

“I called her and asked her if she was sleeping at her aunt’s or if I should keep some supper for her and she told me she was coming back home. At 9pm, I was called by a strange number, and I didn’t want to pick the call but one of my sons told me to answer it. I picked it, and it was the sad news that my daughter had been in an accident,” Adisa told Sunday Standard at her at home in Gimarakwa yesterday.

She immediately looked for a motorbike and rushed to the hospital, some 20 kilometres away. When Annette saw her, she asked her if she would get well, and she assured her that she would as doctors would take care of her.

At about 12 am on Sunday, a scan was done on her lower body. At that time, she was still crying painfully and asking doctors to help her, but they told her without money, she would not be helped.

“They wanted Sh4,500 before she could be helped. I told them I did not have the money but my children would send it in the morning,” she said.

Those who administered first aid to the girl also wanted Sh2,000 in cash, which she didn’t have.

On Sunday morning, one of her children sent her Sh2,000, and when she approached the staff at the referral hospital, she was told to top up the amount to Sh4,500 for them to help Annette.

“On the same day at night, she was taking a lot of water. I had bought her some chips, but she only ate two pieces with a glass of milk. She was still bleeding and being told to lie facing up,” she said.

On Sunday night, Adisa said Annette was crying painfully and still pleading with doctors to help her, but when the night duty nurses came, they only gave her a drip on which she had been all along.

Vital services

At 3am on Monday morning, while still in the ward, and she was at her bedside, Annette asked her mother to move closer to her.

“She told me doctors had neglected her and she had been pained for so long, and turned away from me, facing the wall. At 3:40 am, she breathed her last. I was so infuriated and wanted to carry her lifeless body home that very moment, but I could not,” Adisa said.

Vihiga Health Chief Officer Arnold Mamadi, however, denied that Kabarika was denied vital services at the referral hospital, leading to her demise.

“If our healthcare workers are found culpable over this matter, disciplinary action will be taken against them,” Dr Mamadi said.

https://www.standardmedia.co.ke/article/2001342834/they-watched-my-daughter-die-for-lack-of-sh2-500-fee

Kuomba 2500 usiku huko ocha sio rahisi Hivyo

Watu hawana pesa

But the thing is people need to take NHIF angekwa nayo angesaidika

Still…hiyo story yake ya pesa naona Kama Ni uongo

Maybe negligence but sidhani doctors refused to treat her coz she didn’t have cash

Huyo county ya Wilber Ottichilo iko na machesa Sana. Other counties like kachmega are building beguiling extensive roads encouraging growth and developments, huku Kwa Ottichilo ni kuzubaishwa Tu
Anafaa kichapo na sio ati county haina mbesha.Upusu

Sadly ur leaders can’t relate coz wao wakikohoa kidogo Jkia pap jetting out for treatment abroad.

Trauma response is so pathetic in Kenya and is the reason why accident victims die needlessly. There’s no justification for anyone to pass on if they arrived at the hospital talking. This was a young person, assuming otherwise healthy with enough oxygen in the brain to form a sentence; DYING?

I’ll never forget this day we were alerted to a mass shooting in the trauma bay. One guy had two bullets lodged in his left thorax. You can just imagine all the vital organs that live there. He was unconscious and his pulse was getting threadier by the second.

Next minute I hear a saw buzzing and the guy is being opened up right there by the trauma surgeon. Whoa! He was bleeding from the pulmonary artery so that was clamped real quick. You could see the heart pumping rapidly. It looked small because of the massive blood loss but at least he was getting cardiac massage. The doctor had his elbow guts deep pumping away as we’re rushing to the operating room.

Anyway, the guy lived despite getting transfusions 3 times his initial blood volume. No neurologic deficits. He walked out of the hospital with nothing except a few scars.

Now that was a real trauma case. Wacha hii mchezo ya Vihiga county.

I think healthcare personnel in Kenya need to get sued and maybe lose their licenses to instill a sense of duty. Actually a lot of people need to lose their licenses not just doctors. The system that allows nduthis to become a law unto themselves, the corrupt police. The whole rotten system needs a do-over.

Dereva mulevi makanaga mwizi. Anyway, pulmonary artery inapeleka damu kwa Aorta?

County level 5 hospitals are under counties blame the governor for that.

My friend do you live in this Kenya where people become doctors since they have a mean of 48 points not because they have ever expressed any interest in being medics?

Kenyans are becoming stupid by the day

Doctors are more interested in making money rather than saving lives

If u say that,wake ya watakuuliza…nani hapendi pesa?

U saw this feature on RT where doctors in one of those Asia countries…siju Ni Nepal au Malaysia…sikumbuki
They went on strike for about three weeks…but would report to work,pro bono,daily just to handle emergencies and critical conditions

Hawa wetu Hata patients wakufe hawashtuki

juzi tu a bed ridden patient was taken to the bank to withdraw cash …acha kutetea your peers … their greed makes them inhumane …

Capitalism haina dosari. Au niaje GOP babe

Looks like a movie setup.

If it were me i would just kill the hospital administrator using a sharp panga and sent a very strong statement to those in the same trade with the same behaviours. Mkikosa kucastrate hao administrators nyinyi ndo mtaumia. Na dunia haitasimama ju mnaumia. chukua panga

Kwanza aga khan iko na iyo umefi…
Lazima deposit 300k before kulazwa ICU
https://www.google.com/amp/s/www.standardmedia.co.ke/mobile/amp/article/2001235904/how-huge-medical-bills-are-crippling-millions-of-families

If you are sick in this shithole called Kenya ni Mungu baba akusaidie. The horror stories from Kenyan hospitals are insane.

I know a nduthi guy who was brought in while in a coma at a very major public spitali. He finally reawoke one night due to a serious fight going on around him.

His doctor while doing night rounds alikutana na patient wake akipelekwa theatre akatolewe macho, kidney… etc. Ziuziwe wahindi. Yes, in Kenya.

The doctor was fighting to rescue the patient and the guy woke up at that moment.

Hosi gani iyo bana.Itaje

By the way your services would be much needed in Kenya kusaidia hoi polloi. But I imagine even with the best interests at heart, money would be an issue coz the services can’t be absolutely free.

Bonobos don’t care, waiting for tanga tanga and kieleweke supremacy battles

Ni gani ingine “major” public spitali kama sio ile moja tunayoijua. Sitaki kuitaja purple aingizwe kwa legal tussles.

The nduthi guy was inches from losing his retina (s) , kidney and Lord knows what else. His wife corroborated the story juu alikuta argument ikiendelea asubuhi. Na soja ndio wanakuiba usiku of course in collusion with medics.

If somebody doesn’t want to work then replace them with somebody who wants to.
Kenyan taxpayers are spending Kshs 93B on healthcare and doctors and nurses are criminally refusing to provide care? Somebody should go to jail over this death. And not the usual catch and release.