“Uwezo wa kumpiga tunao
sababu ya kumpiga tunayo
na nia ya kumpiga tunayo”
[B]Mwalimu Julius Nyerere

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=QdqpLdhD7Ac

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Mn5g8DpRrHk
[/B]

Hehehehe, tanzania soldiers entered Ug. and for the first time saw tv sets in peoples houses, radios, telephones… Ile looting ili fuata ilikuwa ya kimataifa. Then their army took uganda MIG-21 airforce jets

How MIG zinaitwa war booty…

Yeah, but I wonder whether they ever left ground again, coz. afterwards Tz ilisota vi major hadi Nyerere akaona a quit waone kama Mwinyi angesaidia kupunguza shida

reminds me of when Soviet army generals visited USA and found Supermarkets stocked with everything while in Soviet union you could not just buy meat, shops lacked basic food stuff, no fresh fruits, shops had to ration stuff. They thought Americans deliberately did that to hoodwink them. Some even though if people back home heard of that they will riot… some months/years later soviet union crumbled

They took them aje? Walifuruta hadi border or they had already trained pilots?

has this story ever been verified as true? one thing you need to know is that there was very active propaganda machinery on both sides of the Iron Curtain. the western prop always portrayed the Eastern Bloc as hopeless basket cases…

The Ugandans are still paying for the costs of this war upto now to Tanzania

Of course they flew them there, where they got the pilots sijui, maybe they coerced some UG pilots to do it, maybe mother Russia provided some guys

sina time ya kuandika unverified stories
i read that story in this Quora thread, https://www.quora.com/Were-90s-Russians-dumbfounded-when-they-first-visited-capitalist-grocery-stores
go through it yourself

soma comments hapa [MEDIA=liveleak]17b_1391723098[/MEDIA]

go through this reddit thread too [MEDIA=reddit]path=%2Fr%2Fvideos%2Fcomments%2F2yaeon%2F[/MEDIA]

how?

Nyerere was misguided, he wanted to install his buddy Obote back to power. I was surprised to learn a good number of Ugandans still think highly of Amin Dada.

In the 1980’s Soviet Union was playing catch up to the west economically na si eti ni propaganda. Halafu the command economy was no longer practical since other capitalist countries were modernizing at a more rapid rate. Remember the chaos that followed in the 90’s when major corporations were privatized in Russia?

It is during this war that Nyerere ordered the downing of jet fighters thought to be from Uganda. Kumbe ni za kwao.