Viusasa is a flop despite endless promotion

Royal Media’s flagship app and platform to stream shows has miserably failed to pick steam in Kenya. Copied from the likes of Netflix and Hulu they forgot to Co Sider that in Kenya data Costs are skyhigh and Kenyan peasants would rather buy flour than watch garbage shows and pay twice while on YouTube you only need to pay once(Buy data)

I always wonder which fools use ViuSasa. Labda watu wa ushagoo. That said, it’s still a good innovation meant to cope with the digital disruption that’s currently shaking up the mainstream media.

Ushago ata hakuna 3g

They need to remove the subscription fee.
Then target advertisements.
I don’t watch that crap, but going by the adverts on citizen, something like Schoolflix can become a real money minter to nurture young talent and acting and competitions amongst high schoolers.
That is viu sasa’s only hope.
Otherwise wasishindane na ndovu(Netflix, YouTube, Amazon prime et al) kukunia.

Really? Kwani ushago kwenu ni wapi? At my rural area in Baringo County we have 3G. We also have another rural areas in Kieni…an interior place called Lamuria and it still has 3G.

Your village must still be living under a rock or something. :frowning:

Only ya Safaricon sindio,

But they say they have 2.4m downloads. That’s A LOT!

I was actually surprised some people paid for it, I expected absolutely no one to do so. I’ve installed it a couple of times for some ocha-looking fellows, but they promptly uninstalled it when they realized they couldn’t keep up with both recurrent subscription fees and the cost of data bundles. Plus, if you want to succeed with this strategy, you must constantly add fresh content. How will someone renew the subscription when they’ve already watched everything on offer? That’s why Netflix posts new movies/series every week.

Another question regards the ownership of content. Is it owned by Citizen or the people who act in those videos? What incentive does citizen offer over posting my content directly to youtube and earning from Adsense?

Total downloads and active users are two different metrics. Assuming the 2.4 million figure is true, what if 2.2m have already uninstalled it, or no longer subscribe? 2.4 million is around 5% of Kenya’s entire population, I highly doubt it.

Ghassia hao wamenyonga main TV na stupid shows

Hata 5G ikiletwa huko Baringo, Kweli unajua majukumu ya ocha?
Unga, sukari na airtime ni shida, sembuse buying data for streaming.
Ati Viusasa:D
Watapata taabu sana

And stopped LIVE streaming as well.
Yaani ulipe Wi-Fi, Ulipe Netflix halafu Viusasa pia wanataka walipwe. Hehe, sare tu.

There is no content in local shows. Also not many people are connected to internet. Wakanyambie mbali

Viusasa like many other digital startups in kenya dont make money lakini when it comes to fundraising na kupewa grants wacha tu.That business plan lazima iko na SWOT analysis ,projections ,market size na other buzz words associated with start ups sasa next ni kuropein investor what i dont know if viusasa ni ya royal media ama ni that waitutu chap who "pitched’ the idea to them alafu wa ka “partner”

There was time i had this idea wrote a business a plan alafu nika submit to ICT authority shock on me i was shortlisted for some grant na sikuwa na ata a single client and the reality it would never have taken off monetizing is next to impossible when it comes to online biashara lazima utengeneze user base kwanza and a large one … anyway watu walikula pesa ya bure infact all the other startups flopped

The problem is that they went straight to monetisation instead of focussing on creating premium content. Content is king. Get that right and the money will follow

Hii kizungu ya wakenya kusema “interior” na “reserve” hunishangaza kiasi.

Very shitty revenue shares
That’s why nobody will put original content on it. Only 2nd or 3rd airs,or incredibly cheap reality that’s supplelented by Citizen eg Lilian Mulis show

They made a mistake when they asked for subscription charges…wangefanya tu kama youtube…provide free content…charge advertisers and money will follow u…ukikuyu ndio iliwaingia sana.
BTW Youtube wanalipanga fees za Copyright Board?

what grant was this? I have a chap in need of such sponsorship.