Volkswagen

Hello guys. My car recently drained all the engine oil through the oil filter. I wanted to ask if anyone has ever experienced this and what could be the extent of the damage. I suspect there was high pressure in the engine but am not certain.

@uwesmake leta advice hapa wewe ndio derefa ya kalasingha

11 Likes

What are you saying man? Pressure in the engine? There’s pressure in ALL engines. Did it drain while you were driving or just parked? Were there no signals to indicate a problem? Did it affect the engine?
Fafanua

Locate the leak

There was a signal so I stopped and noticed that very little oil was left. Right now it is fully drained.

I noticed dripping under the oil filter

But isn’t that a clear indicator that there’s some leakage from or around the filter? Is the filter itself tight enough? Or maybe the bolt used to drain the oil is loose. Simply check the source of the leak first, the try fixing it yourself (if at all you’re a DIY person) Ukishindwa pelekea Otis pale grogon akukamue…

Hope its not a case of a loose filter cause ita kua negligence

The filter is intact

The seal between the oil filter and the sump is the culprit. Normally before attaching the oil filter, you are supposed to apply a light film of oil to the top of the oil filter so that after the engine runs hot it forms a perfect seal otherwise oil will leak between the joint.

Nunua Mazda Carol usahau shida ndogo ndogo kama hizi

Model and YOM of the VW?

Volkswagen golf 4 2002 model

Na unapenda hiyo gari,ama ni juu inaitwa ‘Carol’? Jee ungependa pia Nissan ‘serena’?

:rolleyes:

Replace the oil filter and ensure the new one has correct seal

Sounds like a faulty seal. Was this a heavy leak or trickling? What is your engine code?

It was very heavy, it drained all the oil in less than 10 minutes

That cannot be a seal issue. Its likely a small tear in the oil filter. Take a look at this video for someone who had a similar issue in the US.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=tqDPJvUlC-s

Also watch part two of the video

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=rtKdJB8VNWM

Mzito wacha kutuangusha maze.Inaitwa drain plug.