Watu Mmenunua Kashamba or Any Such Property

The seller just needs his money. Whether it comes from bank or NYS should be least of his concern. After Due diligence with the help of Surveyor, lawyer etc then you should Both seat down and with the help of YOUR lawyer draft a sale agreement. Hii story mingi ya 10% naona ukigongwa.
Iko county ngani nione kama naweza saidia wewe?

shocks

Village Sponsor
The seller just needs his money. Whether it comes from bank or NYS should be least of his concern. After Due diligence with the help of Surveyor, lawyer etc then you should Both seat down and with the help of YOUR lawyer draft a sale agreement. Hii story mingi ya 10% naona ukigongwa.
Iko county ngani nione kama naweza saidia wewe?
Hapa Nairobi, hii sub county ya wakanyama

Desoto

Village Elder
Usually the 10% should be deposited in an escrow account held jointly by the seller's and the buyer's lawyers,, this is mostly if the amounts involved are substantial.

This makes it easy for you to get your money back, in case the search process proofs otherwise, there is also a document issued by the land's registry called a green card that proofs that the title deed is authentic, my take is what you need is a good lawyer to take you through the process.

M

Miss Finest Wine

Dude I have bought in Kiambu but you need a good Lawyer on the ground. Thankfully my Bro is one although he is not my Lawyer but advised me all along..

Inthanite

Village Elder
I dont know much about the rest, but I once weeded out a conman who wanted to "sell" a plot to me. I had done all background checks and confirmed the ownership of the land, and the only thing remaining was to check whether this guy was actually the guy indicated on the title deed. So when he took me to view the land, I asked for what he did not expect. He expected me to ask for his ID but I was smarter. I asked for his ATM card. You can make a fake ID, but most conmen dont bother making fake ATMs because nobody asks for them anyway. Also, you cant beat the bank verification process to get a fake ATM i.e local banks. Akaniambia hawezi nionyesha hiyo ATM, and I drove off. Two weeks later, I met the real owner, and he was not interested in selling the land.

Smart move. I buy used cars and I also pull that move when doing my due diligence. It has saved me a couple of times from getting into a sticky situation.

Shaka

Village Elder
Sometimes you are shown a good piece of land only to be given title deed of a different land not worth your money. This happens when you do not confirm the titled number and that shown on the map. Another case is you are given a fake title deed after buying. So make sure you use your own lawyer, a serious one and your own surveyor. Don't take any shortcut let your lawyer guide you. Know your responsibility as a buyer and the those of the seller.
Before you pay anything make sure your lawyer has the original title deed, the map and a consent. And you have inspected the property and you are satisfied.

Last edited: