Watu wa Internet TVS, please advice

Safaricom are selling us this contraption they are calling TheBIGbox, and I’m wondering :
Isn’t it the same as a TV Internet box, the device that is said to literally turn the most analogue TV into a SMART TV?
And if it is a TV Internet box, could people like @biraru, please, tell us if the same, but sold by a different dealer, are available in Kenya, and particularly in Mombasa? I believe it could be way cheaper than the price tagged by safaricom!

what i know:
the BIGBOX is no longer on sale, citing Business Daily Aug 24th 2015, it has issues
it has a dedicated dvb-t2 tuner card
I dont see any difference to it with mirroring your phone/tablet to your non smart-tv to access internet
just get an android box which is cheaper, i can see local online retailes selling it at 8k-12k.

Why do u need an android Internet box… Wht the fuk is that anyway. Just get a tp_link router for 3k

Thank you, sir, but could you suggest a model or maybe the best manufacturer? Samsung? Huawei?

Is this what you are talking about? [ATTACH=full]13144[/ATTACH]where can I buy one?

Jumia hawana! Kaymu pia hawana! Then, safaricom are saying that you will get 6gb per month for 3 months as a free good will token. How about that?

check here http://nairobi.olx.co.ke/nf/search/android%20box

Asante sana, bwana @biraru! Sasa swali ni, how to connect it to the Internet?

currently it isn’t working due to poor network. please incase you need internet just but a router of which there are so many models e,g linksys, tp link, etc, contract an ICT Tech for advise on the best internet package & platform

Tp link is a model on its own. It’s a router. I’ve used TP Link TL-MR3420 for a while now without any issues. It cost me 4.2k in 2012.

Assuming you’re going to want to access YouTube, 6GB is woefully inadequate. No way you can hope to access IPTV with bundles.

If interested in IPTV, the most important thing is to first have unlimited broadband internet access. With that, one can then run kodi on their comp or phone (can mirror it to the TV if it has such capacity) or invest in one of the myriad IPTV android boxes in the market, some of which I’m sure @muzombozi stocks.