WATU YA IT.......SILLY BLUNDERS HAPA

[SIZE=7]IT Workers Dish on the Worst Mistakes They’ve Made While on the Job[/SIZE]
https://secure.gravatar.com/avatar/d2a76734289070c4ee1976e1359558c2?s=32&d=mm&r=g

Jake Brannon
LIKE US ON FACEBOOK

[li]SHARE[/li][li]Facebook[/li][li]Twitter[/li][/ul]
Everyone has messed up at their job at one time or another. Most of the time, it’s not a huge deal…but sometimes? Well, let’s just say you hope your boss isn’t around to see it.
If you work in the IT field, you better have your head on straight. If you don’t, you could make some seriously huge mistakes that might lead to enormous headaches.
Here, AskReddit users share their own IT horror stories.
[SIZE=7]1. Ooops…[/SIZE]
[INDENT]“I was trying to determine where some cables were going and had to open the cable management for that. I accidentally cut through the fiber connecting the two data centers of that company.
I was called Edward Scissorhands after that.”[/INDENT]
Advertisement

[SIZE=7]2. Gone[/SIZE]
[INDENT]“I deleted 50-70% of the photos on the site/project I’ve been working on. (Not mine, customer photos) =).”[/INDENT]
[SIZE=7]3. Time to make amends[/SIZE]
[INDENT]“I do test automation for an insurance company. Once, I accidentally pointed tests at the production environment and bound a bunch of policies. It took several people a couple hours to clean up the data before it got migrated to accounting. This was all after 4:00 on a Friday afternoon.
The next week, I spent $250 on a pizza party for the team to make amends.”[/INDENT]
[SIZE=7]4. Don’t turn your back[/SIZE]
Advertisement
[INDENT]“I was tasked with mounting a switch in a network closet alone. Those things are a bit heavy and difficult, even moreso that I was alone. So, I barely got two screws in and I released it and it stayed. I turned to get my other two screws and the switch fell 5 feet and broke the mounting bracket.
Not me but someone on site also delete an entire database and backed it up. So, basically, all data was lost.”[/INDENT]
[SIZE=7]5. Sorry, Doc[/SIZE]
[INDENT]“Lost a doctor’s spreadsheet she’d put ten years worth of work into.”[/INDENT]
[SIZE=7]6. Panic[/SIZE]
[INDENT]“Deleted my entire hard-drive just from moving too fast.
i was trying to delete some files, but i didnt realize i had the entire root directory highlighted instead of the one directory i needed. deleting took no time, and then i went to clear the recycling bin which happened to be in OSX – and i got curious as to why there was a progress bar that projected like 6 minutes to clear the bin. i was like oh well, just a system hiccup.
it was systematically scrubbing all thirty thousand files from my entire computer.
and i was the entire video editing wing of an advertising agency. i am not an emotional guy, but this had me running around in a panic, almost in tears in front of coworkers.”[/INDENT]
Advertisement

[SIZE=7]7. Journals[/SIZE]
[INDENT]“It wasn’t technically work but I was helping my sister with her computer and accidentally deleted her journal entries from like two years. Told her her hard drive had gotten corrupted and she may have lost files, but now that I defragged it it should be fine. She gave me a hug and surprised me with ice cream for helping her; I’ve never felt more guilty in my life. If you ever see this Cate…. sorry.”[/INDENT]
[SIZE=7]8. Wrong word[/SIZE]
[INDENT]“I once worked in IT support, biggest mistake I made was emailing whilst frustrated.
We needed everyone to turn their PCs off so we could roll out an update over the weekend, it saved us time to not have to go around turning them all off manually, not to mention if someone left a PC running with some work on it they’d lose it, which is never good. We also had lots of VMs running at any given time too and they can be a bit of a ball ache to turn off as I recall.
So. I sent an email out to the whole company asking people to turn off their PCs this time using a tone that was obviously slightly irritated, I signed off with my regards and sent it.
Only to be called in by the boss 5 minutes later so he could point out that I wrote ‘Retards’ instead of ‘Regards’, and the tone of my email made it look intentional.
Thankfully he was a good boss and just laughed it off.”[/INDENT]
[SIZE=7]9. Rickrolled[/SIZE]
Advertisement

[INDENT]“We were testing out our new phone system and it appeared to let you set different hold music per site. So we loaded up Rick Astley for our hold music. A day or so later we’re talking to several people on speaker phone at another site when they mute one of the phones they were using and suddenly…. never gonna give you up…
The MD in the room got all snide about the stupid 80’s hold music, the assistants are confused, and we are on mute laughing our a–es off.
So yeah, I rickrolled the hold music on our whole phone system. Might have to turn it into a yearly April tradition.”[/INDENT]
[SIZE=7]10. That’s a lot of gift cards[/SIZE]
[INDENT]“Oh man. This takes me back to my early days. Many years ago I did essentially the same thing to a database of currently active gift cards for a very large company. It’s our responsibility to load in new gift cards every now and then, and I did a batch but forgot to set the credit amount when loading. The update I wrote had a WHERE clause but the logic was bad and it updated every single gift card to essentially brand new.
Over 100 thousand currently active gift cards, all instantly refreshed to 100$. Fortunately it happened in the early morning and a peer and I were able to pull the right amounts out of the data warehouse and correct the issue within about 30 minutes without anyone being able to use any credit they weren’t entitled to, but man… What a harrowing learning experience. I was literally dripping sweat. I have taken the “write all deletes/updates as selects first” approach since.”[/INDENT]

1. I accidentally rebooted a core router serving 40+ banks (ATM transactions countrywide). Now, a normal reboot would last only a few minutes, but this pesky router booted into what we call rommon i.e. no operating system, and i struggled to get it back online. Hiyo siku nilitokwa na jasho.

2. Siku ingine during a migration a switch I had stacked against a wall fell flat down to the floor. Just had a loud thud. The switch later hung during configuration and never recovered. We are talking a switch worth about $4,000.

Been lucky to have never lost company data. Hio ndio huuma watu zaidi, and is most difficult to recover from. I know guys that have had to cough millions for data recovery.

niliwahi angusha site ya client when rolling an update yet sikuwa na logins za host. Kwanza on a Friday. That was the worst weekend of my life, hata ikuss nilipewa but nikalenga while giving out some lame excuse.

never push an update before a weekend or long holidays

what happened to having offsite backups especially in this age of ransomware?

Ni muhimu but I have found that execs tend to not take IT seriously. Only after a major incident will they budget for things like DR sites.

Kitambo kuna tujamaa tulichoma brand new server power supply, ile kitu inakaanga kama kabati imejaa tuservers zimewekelewa moja juu ya ingine. Ilikuwa ya 110 volt halafu na socket ilikuwa na adapter inafit vizuri kale kaplug ya 110…iliwekwa kwa 240 volts. Moshi. Heheheee… Nothing bad happened to the server. Baadaye ndio waliona kulikuwa na kaswitch huko nyuma ya 110 to 240. Heheheee… It was amusing. Watu walisweat kidogo.

Hehe. Never imagined the riskiness of you it guys. Hehe intresting

@Motokubwa your handwriting betrays you. We know by your grammar error. Khasia.

Wewe mungiki cheza chini. Unaringia lugha ya mzungu?

Venye wakameffi amesema, intresting

rm -rf

Phillipines 2015 - 4 Months into the job
Arrived onsite uploaded dcs, plc and hmi automation software for the entire production line sent out email inquiring when the commissioning engineer is coming… Response ur there for startup commissioning already done.
All parameters lost, had to carry out 2 weeks of testing and optimization to get the right parameters and feed into the system…
2018 remote support via VPN, logged into wrong ip on VPN server did some modifications next thing call from hq different customer line down in ur region quickly reversed the changes deleted the logs and next day free trip outside the country for root cause analysis
Some colleague young blood SA decides ameiva kabisa optimizes parameter settings for kuka robotic arm system to increase production speed luckily nobody died when production started…

Hii yenu ni noma…where lives are at risk the stakes couldn’t be higher.

Looool

hahaha…one day just sitted lazying around decided to get in to the main server and check if everything is okay, it was in a VM, don’t know what i touched in the VM sphere settings and boom and kicked out from the server, guys in finance cant run Sage erp, wee tried all things couldnt login to the VM, mimi huyoooo mbio mbio hadi data center mombasa road na head office iko karen, got to the center, had to tell them there was a power loss at the Data center.

I once knew nothing about IP addresses and subnet mask, in the area I hustled people believed that I was an IT guru, msee mmoja wa cyber aka ni approach ni format machine zake, kumbe net ni ya kushikia through assigning IPs, hapo ndio nilijulia local networking juu ya kusweat yenye nilisweat trying to figure out why net haishiki.

I have formatted machine with those special softwares, i.e management system specifically designed for that company’s purpose, recalling mwenye aliiweka anadai 100k whereby I had only quoted 5k to format and reinstall. Hapo ndio unajuanga wewe sio IT specialist.