Web Development

I really need your advice. i started self-training course in web development. i have so far done HTML(5) and CSS… is it advisable to jump straight to PHP(because i really wanted to learn server language), or should i proceed with Jquerry and javascript?

Learn JavaScript then PHP.

Bro… its a brave new world! Learning php and js etc is important yes but in todays world, you dont need to start off with it. Its so 90s to do web development like that.

You wanna do web development to build websites and make some cash right? Sahau programming languages for now and study a CMS. And the most popular cms out there is Wordpress.

My advice? Study how to put up a website in wordpress… study the different themes, how to install plugins etc. You can put up a website with wordpress without knowing a line of code. From there, continue trying to learn php etc then go back to client side and do jquery and javascript all the while building wordpress sites for clients

but wordpress is just customizing and you wont learn any coding there…at least thats how i was adviced

Here’s the thing… if your aim for learning php/css/javascript is to put up websites for people as quickly as possible and make some cash from it, learn wordpress.

If your aim is to learn a programming language for the sake of it, then continue along your current path.

Wordpress by the way is not just customizing. If you want to build your own themes and plugins, then you still need to know code. But there are so many themes and plugins out there that you may never need to build your own.

@Oguttu , what @Teddy_time is trying to explain to you is that you need to know where you’re applying what you’re learning in order for you to learn it.

Learning coding just to develop a website is overkill in 2019, as there are tools to allow you to develop without having to learn code.

thanks. thats really helpful… can you create plugins and themes using other coding languages and put them on the wordpress?

I understand and i really appreciate… but what if you need to create your own themes and plugins?

@Teddy_time I sikukuwa nimekuelewa and thanks so much… so, if i learn or create wordpress site, i can still use other languages to develop it, right?

tell me more please

Step 1:
Learn a cms and start building sites for clients without knowing about code by using pre-existing themes and plugins. There are literally 10s of thousands out there on the web. You should be comfortable with wordpress in a month. Start earning cash

Step2:
Continue with your web development efforts when you are not building anything for a client using. This way, you can eventually build your own plugins/themes and modify already existing ones. But this will take you much longer than a month to master.

i have done wordpress before and i dont think it will be trouble. i can still go back to it now that you’ve shown me a new way to handle this. codding was overwhelming and i was soon giving up… now my concern is(i already asked you up there), can i create plugins and themes in php and they become compatible with wordpress?

Wordpress itself is done in php. The plugins are developed in php. You just need to know how to code the plugin so that its compatible with wordpress(i.e. using programming hooks and the like). There are sooo many tutorials online on how to do this (i.e. code a plugin).

Sawa Mogz.

i really appreciate. alaf, is it compatible with other languages like python etc

Villager, you are shooting in too many directions at once. Forget python, go with php. Apart from wordpress, there are other CMS like drupal, joomla, phpbb, oscommerce, Magento etc. All are php based and these, taken together, probably power about 80% of all websites. Ata hii site ktalk is php based.

Learn php/html/css/javascript/jquery. These are the most important if want to do web dev. But do it over time after you know how to put up a site with wordpress so that you can start earning as you expand your skills. You can always learn python later

You can’t escape javaScript on the front end but the good thing is that you can also use it for the backend with nodeJS and express. So go with javaScript all through

I think it is important for a developer to learn coding, and also understand how the different parts work and fit in together, for the complete cycle from the server to the client and vice versa, reason being those skills will be needed if one happens to move into more customized applications.

Ahsante sana wanakijiji. Chai tunakunywa pale kwa sub-chief

@Oguttu do not frown at server side development with PHP. PHP is still a powerful language and when you familiarize later, you may come into MVC PHP frameworks like Laravel & Code Igniter which build full stack applications. JQuery and JavaScripts (Vanilla) are part of the tenets of web development so be rest assured you will interact with them throughout your web development activities. Also note that JavaScript is a growing language with lots of frameworks so you may want to learn the basic form of JavaScript (VanillaJS). So in order to learn, go to the official documentations of each of these languages and learn alongside them.