Website Domain & Email

Wadau kuuliza tuu nahitaji usaidizi kwa sababu mi sie mtalaamu sana I’m a newbie. Where do I get affordable & reliable website hosting + eMail for a small business/startup.

namecheap or hostgator, less than $20 for both hosting and domain. Install wordpress with a nice theme and you have a website.

Asante for the input 20usd per Yr or Monthly?

Ingia hapa deepafrica.com ama kenyawebexperts.com and buy a domain there.
Wacha kupea wazungu pesa kwa vitu basic kama email na domain.

domain is 7-10 per year, hosting is around $3 per month. Go to the websites, if you are really pinching those pennies look for coupon codes added at checkout, you might pay half price.

The most affordable domain name registrar is [namesilo.com](‘https://www.namesilo.com/register.php?rid=a14ad92yc (domain search page)’)
One of the most dependable hosting companies is interserver.net
I’ve been using them for the past five years without any problem, including on my main site theebestlist.com
Be careful when buying these plans for the first time. Some of them give you juicy offers when you sign up, only to charge expensive renewal fees. For instance, Hostgator and GoDaddy can even sell you a domain name for a penny, or give you one free if you buy their hosting plan, lakini you’ll pay more to cover this “free” stuff when you renew.
Namesilo charges a flat fee of $9.95 per year (for .com domains) while Interserver charges a flat fee of $5 per month for hosting (I pay $30 every 6 months, which is more convenient.)

Namecheap is great for a simple website. The only thing I would say against them is that the don’t have Let’s Encrypt support on the cPanel. So you’ll either have to buy an SSL cert from them or manually renew Let’s Encrypt certificate every 90 days if HTTPS is important to you.

Thank me now https://www.hetzner.com/webhosting

Useful thread…commenting ili ni follow…nani hapa uses AWS…hosting a web app…siongei webpage aka WordPress website

Don’t buy your domain and hosting from the same company, always split them up. .com domain is generally about 10 dollars. .co.ke around 500. Google prioritises local searches, so a relevant .co.ke site will rank higher than a .com site if the person doing the search is in Kenya. Think very carefully about your domain name.

SSL certificate is a must have nowadays. Google will disappear your site if you don’t have it. LetsEncrypt is free, others range from USD30 up. For your needs, just go with LetsEncrypt as you work on your site.

Email comes with your hosting package and unless you are going to sending thousands of email per day, you don’t need to setup an email server.

NameCheap, NameSilo, Godaddy etc. stay away from those big boys, their business model depends on them shafting you somewhere along the way.

Hosting we can do you for 300-500 per month, payable quarterly or yearly. Domain name registration internetbs.net. Just set it up yourselfu so have total control over this, treat it as your IP. When you buy your domain, ensure it comes with whois privacy otherwise spammers watakutumia junk mail, especially at renewal time, one mistake na hushpuppy 2.0 ndio huyo kufloss weekend mzima

If you don’t want to pay hosting use freehostia.com, it will give you basic options you can start with and nukisha kitunguu nayo then upgrade, their options are very affordable too.

Call me a bonobo but Africans na work ethics ni kama maji na mafuta. You don’t want to call bonobos wakusaidie only to be told by a clueless receptionist that msee wa IT ameenda matanga na kwenye ako hakuna network atarudi Tuesday next week.

Safaricom [ATTACH=full]416602[/ATTACH]

Keep them coming wadau, zingine sielewi but will get the hang of it. Very good inputs.

50mb diskspace ni uongo, you are not going to get anything meaningful done with that. Stramge that it costs more to host a local domain. Hosting costs are not domain level dependent. This is the sort of rip-offs that drives people away from dealing with local companies

Support costs money, shida ni everybody wants to buy at the cheapest price. 24 hour support means someone working nightshift ama utafute someone else in another timezone Unanunua hosting at 300 bob per month lakini ni simu kila mara especially at the beginning. Utatumia credit zaidi ya 300 over the course of the month for problems that should be dealt with by your web design team, ambayo hauna. Sasa ukiambiwa template yako ina malware, unauliza utanisadia aje.

Jaribu hio upuzi kule godaddy. Ata namba ya simu hawana.

kwani ni blog unaandika. Kama hauelewi kitu si you ask for clarification bana

It’s for a business just to show what products we offer, introduction of the company etc. Something simple.

Wacha ujinga. Shitty support is not usually part.of the deal.

Wachana na safaricom their support is shit… there is a hosting company in Juja , Truehost I think. They are the smoothest to deal with , back in the day Domains Kenya was the plug but ni kama mwenyewe alichew.