Were black slaves ever paid, or was their's totally FREE unpaid labour?????

We now know that there were wealthy freed slaves all over the colonies who even owned their own slaves.

Some of these freed slaves were actually against the end of slavery and even fought for the confederacy because it meant that their new wealth would dissappear.

Also black slaves must have had some money because how else did they become freed slaves???

To be freed you sometimes had to pay manumissions to your owner. Ulipe ndio uwachiliwe. Yaani you bought yourself from your owner.

The narrative told by activists is that slaves earned nothing and that they were not even allowed to touch money!

That is bullshiet of course because many black millionaires existed at that time including Dubuclet and William Ellison.

A skilled slave could make good money e.g if you were good at woodwork or repairing cotton gins. Being hired out to another farm because of your particular expertise was another way slaves made money.

@LuandaMagere

https://www.historyextra.com/period/slave-labour/

[SIZE=7]Slave labour and wages[/SIZE]

Were American slaves ever paid for their work and, if so, how were they differentiated from employees?

Generally speaking, slaves enjoyed few material benefits beyond crude lodgings, basic foods and cotton clothing. Still, some plantation slaves were able to earn small amounts of cash by telling fortunes or playing the fiddle at dances. Others sold poultry, meats and liquor or peddled handicrafts. In some cases, slaves could earn money from their master if they performed tasks with particular skill.
The masters, for their part, saw small cash incentives as a way to encourage productive
work habits. In the towns, cities and manufacturing areas of the Upper South, slaves were able to earn money thanks to another way to manage labour: the hiring-out system. Contracts differed in terms of food, conditions and treatment, but most slaves hired out to work for others could expect to earn wages for working beyond what was considered a working day. In the tobacco factories of Richmond, Virginia, for example, they would complete their daily quota of work and receive ‘bonus pay’ for anything after that.
Some were also allowed to hire themselves out. Brokering their own deals, they paid their masters a monthly fee and kept anything they earned above the amount. Wages varied across time and place but self-hire slaves could command between $100 a year (for unskilled labour in the early 19th century) to as much as $500 (for skilled work in the Lower South in the late 1850s). Skilled cabinetmakers and joiners could sometimes earn as much as white workers; a select few could even afford to buy themselves out of bondage.

enslaving me and paying me is still crap. In first place, I did not chose to be your slave you fuckwit. You forced me, you uprooted me form my home and now you beat me with whips daily. Slaves could not live beyond the age of 50 in most cases because of all the beatings and hard labor. It was not a nice thing to be in. incase you are still living in a delusion, the movie 12 years a slave gives a very accurate account of the hard reality of slavery. But the book did not tell the whole story, it softened it to make it watchable, if you want to understand the savagery of slavery, you should read he book itself.

In the words of Solomon Northup, any mythical portrayal of slavery as a god thing is a blatant lie and a fairly tale.

[ATTACH=full]315112[/ATTACH]
[ATTACH=full]315113[/ATTACH]
[ATTACH=full]315114[/ATTACH]

His Father also testified to the General Cruelty of Slavery

[ATTACH=full]315115[/ATTACH]

this was an exception , not the rule , offcourse some slaves got lucky…some… most were busy being poor till the 1900’s

I did not know you are this stupid. According to your logic, earning 100 dollars per year should make you a millionaire. That 100 is also earned by working for extra hours in addition to the 8 or 10 hours of hard labour

Next you should delve into how the holocaust never happened or better yet how we imagined colonialism.

what line of work are you in??? hii umefi yote unatoaga wapi energy na time yakuandika??

Instead of being bitter you should show me where I have told a lie.

Don’t be angry and brush off everything I have said as pure crap because you know very well that in life nothing is ever exactly what it is presented to be.

They say blacks were the slaves… yet some of the wealthiest people of that era were black people who owned slaves.

From Jamaica to Haiti to Barbados to Virginia to South Carolina there were very many millionaire blacks who made their wealth from selling fellow Africans. So yes blacks made money.

Bitterness galore… :D:D:D

I struggle to understand what point you’re trying to make. This is the dictionary definition of a slave:(especially in the past) a person who is the legal property of another and is forced to obey them.

You’re attempting to put across two conflicting ideas. How can an individual on the one hand be held as legal property and be stripped of their free will then proceed to be remunerated for services they’ve been forced to render? If in fact they were free they would have the luxury to choose how they would make money. Attempting to equate payment with freedom is neither here nor there. More so, it is a well known fact that majority of slaves did not receive any wages for services they rendered.

On to the idea that there existed a large population of wealthy black people. This is demonstrably false. You have posted about Antoine Dubuclet and the fact that he himself had slaves. Yet you curiously refuse to explain that he and those like him represented less than 1% of the total black population in America before the civil war broke out. Which is why I made my initial comment on the holocaust and colonialism.

There were Jews who financed the Third Reich and managed to escape Germany with a lot of their wealth intact. Just as there were collaborators with the colonialists who enjoyed freedoms that the larger population did not. Should we then infer that all were free from the terrors of the Nazis or the Colonialists??

Lets bring it closer to home: there exists this myth that the Kikuyu community is an economic powerhouse that swims in wealth whilst the rest languish in poverty. And as effective as it has been just how true is it? Don’t we know of Kikuyu’s going hungry, unable to access decent education or medical facilities?

There is truth to your claims but very little of it. You fail to encapsulate the realities that black people in America faced for over 400 years. The United states government even acknowledged the horrors of slavery but was also very quick to assert that their admission did not warrant any legal claims for compensation to the African Americans. I’ll let you guess why they did that if at all black people were getting money.

That dictionary was written by activists who had a political agenda to blame whites for all crimes.

In 1830 there were 3,775 free black people who owned 12,740 black slaves.

To own slaves you had to be wealthy.

Dont you agree that 3,775 is a very large number of wealthy black people?

This information is passed on by whites and it is fake, not authentic

Their names are recorded. I have posted a few of them over the past few days. Today I posted four rich black ladies who made their wealth from slavery.

I will post a few more in the coming days.

There were thousands of super wealthy black Americans during slavery. Fellows who could afford to travel to Paris for months on end. Many of them ended up living in Paris and marrying white Parisians.

Similarly at the very same time in Africa many Africans made a shitload of money from slavery. In fact the Asante rulers of Ghana were very bitter when slavery was abolished because slave trade had become more profitable than the gold in their Ashanti mines, which were again worked by slaves.

Blacks sold blacks even in Haiti, Jamaica, Brazil, Barbados you name it. Freed slaves became the new slaveholders.

When the white men retired to Europe they left the job to trusted black servants.

In 1830 America had a total population of 12.8 million people out of a which more than 2 million were slaves. The census of 1850 which is the first that sought to attain a clear statistical compilation of household data, indicated that the country’s population was 23million people with over 3.2 million of those being slaves.

Compare and contrast with the figures you’ve provided. I’m not going to lavish your criticism of dictionary definitions with a response. Your argument is premised purely on intellectual dishonesty.

Now that is all well and good but 3,775 blacks owning slaves is not a figure to scoff at.

Considering that a fellow like Dubuclet was one of the wealthiest men in Carolina… Dubuclet was not your kawaida citizen.

Back in the day, when I used to watch some films or TV series like Roots among many others there were episodes where they would show a wealthy, well educated black family with horses and servants, nashindwa kwani what is going on here???

Is this real???

When you watch a film like Amistad, Spielberg went to great lengths to dispell this poor slaves theory by including Morgan Freeman’s character of the wealthy Theodore Joadson. Why did Spielberg do this? It’s because contrary to myth there were black people who actually lived and dressed like Theodore Joadson.

And black American viewers were very angry at Spielberg because they didn’t want to accept that in that era there were black people who walked, talked,dressed or lived like that!

So you guys here are not unique. This is a history that people accept according to how they want to accept it and not according to facts.

I’ve provided factual data that paints a picture contrary to what you portrayed and now you’re using film references??
See I don’t mind you harbouring these contrived ideologies you’ve got absolutely every right to do so. What I do mind is these feeble attempts at using factual data to support a claim then when it’s debunked very swiftly relying on fictional accounts. Out here talking about Steven Spielberg . The man makes films so now I guess ET is real.

Here’s the facts. Dubuclet existed. But accurate data tells us that he and those like him represented 0.18875% of the total black population in 1830 America. That for every one person like Dubuclet there were almost 530 people who had to endure suffering that you could not dream of. People whose lives meant less than those of those horses you saw on some fictional tv show.

Attempting to deny that something happened doesn’t make it go away. You can rely on all the fringe individuals you want but that doesn’t change a thing. In Liberia for instance slaves from the south escaped and settled there. Guess what they did? They enslaved the local indigenous population. That doesn’t mean they weren’t slaves before, they just weren’t any different from those who had enslaved them.

First of all you said that there were 3.2 million slaves in America, and that is a ridiculous and absurd figure. I forgot to point that out.

There were between about 600,000 African slaves brought to America.

So how in the world did you arrive at 3.2 million in 1850? I know Africans love to reproduce but 3.2 million …and all of them slaves?

If they had time to reproduce from 600,000 to 3.2 million when did they ever get any work done ? They must’ve been fucking like rabbits.

When massa goes to bed the wailing and bed shaking begins. “Yes daddy, harder daddy!”

1850 United States census - Wikipedia
[ATTACH=full]315200[/ATTACH]

There is data from the 1850 census indicating the population of the slave population in America. Since I’m feeling indulgent I’ve left you a screenshot just in case you can’t find it and a rather timely wikipedia link. See your ‘absurd’ figure