We're Definitely Not Alone!

Tuanze hapa chini kabisa. We’re in the solar system - our sun, 8 planets with their several moons and a planetoid(pluto). Since distance in space is measured in light years(LY) we should get some orientation and perspective. It takes 4.15 hours for light to travel to Neptune (takes about 8.3 minutes to reach the Earth). The farthest (and fastest) man-made craft is Voyager I launched in 1977. It went past pluto and is now almost 18B kilometres away from earth. It takes light 16hrs to reach it. Though scientist have ‘buried’ it, they continue to get faint pings from it. I hope hadi hapo you’re not dazed with the figures.

Voyager I
[ATTACH=full]239957[/ATTACH]

Now to the topic at hand. The sun in solar system is one of the stars in the Milky Way Galaxy. The nearest other ‘sun’ is Proxima Centaur. Taking into consideration the Voyager I’s speed, it’ll take 72,600yrs to get to this star.
Na hapo hatujafika kwa mungu. Imagine the distance maombi huenda. MW galaxy isn’t that big if you compare it to the other galaxies in the observable universe. It’s only 100,000 LYs in diameter and about 1,100 LYs thick.

MW Galaxy
[ATTACH=full]239962[/ATTACH]

Again, for some perspective, it’ll take Voyager 1 14,000 years to travel one LY.

From the dawn of humankind to a mere 400 years ago, all that we knew about our universe came through observations with the naked eye. Then Galileo turned his telescope toward the heavens in 1610. The world was in for an awakening. Saturn, we learned, had rings. Jupiter had moons. That nebulous patch across the center of the sky called the Milky Way was not a cloud but a collection of countless stars. Within but a few years, our notion of the natural world would be forever changed. A scientific and societal revolution quickly ensued. In the centuries that followed, telescopes grew in size and complexity and, of course, power. They were placed far from city lights and as far above the haze of the atmosphere as possible. Edwin Hubble, for whom the Hubble Telescope is named, used the largest telescope of his day in the 1920s at the Mt. Wilson Observatory near Pasadena, Calif., to discover galaxies beyond our own.

Hubble, the observatory, is the first major optical telescope to be placed in space, the ultimate mountaintop. Above the distortion of the atmosphere, far far above rain clouds and light pollution, Hubble has an unobstructed view of the universe. Scientists have used Hubble to observe the most distant stars and galaxies as well as the planets in our solar system.

Hubble’s launch and deployment in April 1990 marked the most significant advance in astronomy since Galileo’s telescope. Thanks to five servicing missions and more than 25 years of operation, our view of the universe and our place within it has never been the same.

Hubble Space Observatory
[ATTACH=full]239965[/ATTACH]

Though hubble observation is LOS(line of sight), many galaxies have been observed in deep space. Through it we’ve come to know of black holes, quasars, pulsars etc etc.

Henway, back to my point. There are over 250 BILLION stars in our milky way galaxy. The probability of having an earth-like planet is 250,000,000,000/1. Ngoja kwanza. In that line of sight that hubble is pointed, there are over 100 TRILLION (yes, trillion) galaxies! Yaani our sun is like on grain of sand among all other grains of sands on earth. The probability of having another earth is 250B x100T x 360/1. Tafakari hayo. [ATTACH=full]239967[/ATTACH]

Juzi tu, it was discovered that the universe is expanding at a speed exceeding the speed of light, meaning you’d never see some galaxies coz they’re moving away at more than the sped of light! Again they’ve just seen a galaxy hurtling towards the Milky Way! Time to liquidate assets na kuingia SJ. Asande

[SIZE=1]The Earth is flat. Period![/SIZE]

There are billions upon billions of galaxies out there each of them containing billions of suns. There are two things that have always exited and will never have an end. Space and time.

EinSTein. In the the middle is ST. Space and time.

There are trillions of other earths in the universe with strange inhabitants

Mkale we are not alone of course, Kuna day nimekutana na bro wangu wangu pale high court tukapiga story na akarudi job . Jioni kufika home Clichy ananiambia skype inalia kuenda kwa laptop , same bro ndio huyo ako live pale Hague kumuuliza si tuliongea tu 4 hrs ago ananiambia amekuwa Switzerland for a week , nikakunja mkia , sijawai ambia mtu hata wife mpaka leo .

:DHizi zako ni madimoni

I like the quip about the distance prayers have to travel. Somehow you managed to inject that deity into a purely scientific discourse.

Hmmm!
What can I say. Just humbled.

Once scientists figure out what ‘dark matter’ and ‘dark energy’ are the inner workings of the universe will come to light

Si hua wanapoint juu ati ndio mbinguni? That’s unidirectional on the y;axis since hapa Kenya tuko kwa equator

Don’t wanna think hard anymore,hii ni yako

@phantom njoo usikie mambo!

Too many space posts of late. Is the Voyager still traveling

KenyaTalk returning to it’s former glorious self mdogomdogo. Sasa bado @Motokubwa afufue zile topics zake za ujenzi.
@Meria Mata afufue TBT na afrojiri ya @gashwin iwe revamped! Cheki maneno nayo?

nauza Mali raundi hii

This space stuff can mess with your head. For comparison on how empty space is take below scenario.
If the sun was the size of a pea (minji) then how far would the nearest star (Proxima Centaur) be?

It would be 200KMs away!!. Imagine one minji in Nairobi the closest minji would be in Nanyuki. Between the two minjis is just empty space.
Keeping this in mind imagine there are more than 200 Billion stars (Minjis) in the milkway galaxy. In turn there are more than 1 trillion galaxies in the universe.
Stuff is mind boggling.

The milky way galaxy will collide with our neighbor Andromeda galaxy in the near future and merge into a giant galaxy called Milkmeda. Funnily enough, most stars and planets will still exist just like in their present state.

Mind boggling!

The cosmos is growing in leaps and bounds each and every second. Probably we have not just one universe but several universes on top of each other. A multi-verse.

And Beltegeuse is about to go supernova any minute from now!

Shocking news

Ile maombi Abraham aliomba 4000 B.C bado haijatoka milky way (speed of sound). Kwa hivyo usilie mungu hajibu maombi, bado hayajafika.