We're fucked

Yeah. I just said that. We’re fucked as a country. The reason why corruption has increased tremendously is because the architects of the new constitution did not anticipate that demographic dynamics of Kenya would lead to successive “nusu-mkate” governments. Kenyans have always voted along tribal lines. No tribe has enough numbers to clinch the top position single-handedly. This means that all the next governments will be nusu-mkate governments out of necessity. Nusu-mkate governments create fertile ground for mega-corruption scandals most of the time because power doesn’t rest on a single authority. The DNA of a failed state is a series of nusu-mkate governments without clear authority figures. Right now, the Ruto faction is looting like crazy because they are protected and history will judge Uhuru for their corruption. Uhuru’s faction isn’t innocent either because they are tired of being spectators to the looting spree.

The Kenyan constitution guarantees that we will always have a nusu mkate government. A nusu mkate government guarantees that both sides will compete to loot this nation because they enjoy protection from their leader in the presidency. Therefore, the architects of the new constitution failed to consider population dynamics and because the error is at the top leadership, the scandals will always be in billions.

Alternatively, the threshold for clinching presidency should be reduced to say 35% to discourage collaboration (nusu-mkate).

Kenya should retain devolution, trim government, abolish the presidential system and follow a parliamentary system. That is the only way we will have a clear leader instead of a lame-duck president “sasa mnataka nifanye nini” we have at the moment. A company cannot have two CEOs and this country should not have two leaders i.e nusu-mkate and this is exactly what the current constitution does. It guarantees that a good number of future governments will be nusu mkate governments until Kenyans stop voting along tribal lines.

Ok

Kenya has had mega corruption scandals for 56 years. During the Kenyatta days, corruption happened on a massive scale but it was never publicized because Kenyatta would throw people in detention forever or just kill them.

The trouble with Kenya is the “Our man syndrome”

Kenyans have been conditioned to support and vote for their tribesmen regardless of how incompetent and corrupt. The economy has been resilient and weathered this corruption. It is only now that 56 years of tribal voting is starting catch up with Kenyans.

Germany pia iko na coalition government with a parliamentary system na haisumbui. The constitution should remain as it is. Anybody who says otherwise is just playing to the predictable reaction based behaviour of our society. If change is truly needed then it should be to transform our election system to an electoral college system which I know will never happen.

Germany does not vote along tribal lines.

You can either rant or you can do what u have to do to join the looting spree

The constitution clearly needs some changes.
Firstly we don’t need senators.
Secondly We don’t need 50 counties. At most we need 15
Thirdly and most importantly we need a mechanism to audit how counties use their money in order to prevent graft, theft and waste.

And please don’t compare Germany with Kenya. German voting is issue based. Kenya voting is tribal based ujinga.

no excuses. at this point the president is a complete dictator in the sense that he has all authority. And stop that clever approach of saying that the TNA faction are just spectators. You are just attempting to say that we should give the government to a particular community and that a particular community doesnt qualify to contest because mashamba ni mwizi. everyone can see through these small tactics that have created a government with constant infighting. some people thinking they are too clever for everyone else.

Bar stool analysis

Germans are largely just one tribe.

Kenyan people move like a school of fish. All together in one direction. Today complaining about the number of counties, next month this scandal, month after Ruto scandals, another month comes in with a new set of scandals. Always forgetting the last.
But the bottom line is, no matter how many constitutions we erect, the country will only change when all Kenyans begin following the law.

Eti all kenyans follow the law?
Do you know of any country where everyone follows the law?

Fact is every country has thieves. The difference between primitive countries like Kenya and developed countries is that the latter has mechanisms built into their systems to prevent or reduce fraud and thievery. Here in Kenya money disappears mysteriously and it cannot be traced.

Look at America now. Big names close to the president like manafort na wengineo are going to jail. trump himself is under investigation.

How are you sperminator…I hope the kids are well taken care of…

@M2Random ndo unajua hii ferking up…or is it just a random thought? Like you

If homogeneity is important,why isn’t Somalia a prosperous country then ?

How can the law be followed unless peasants are well conversant with it through civic education, again how can it be followed when there is no patriotism. It’s impossible for monkeys to follow the law voluntarily unless it is strictly enforced by recalling back that Kamiti hangman.

You talking of these mps who get bribed na 10k???we are better off voting on those tribal lines…leaving kenya to parliament is akin to taking a bull to the auction…anybody who has the money willbe voted in

the problem in Kenya is the lack of forward-thinking. in the developed world, the citizens are so concerned about what the coming generations will inherit. that is how the US became a great nation. here in Kenya everyone thinks about the present and their own gains. with apartments everywhere in the former central province, how do you expect North Rift to feed the whole nation? by always negotiating with matatu owners when do you think Nairobi will thrive? with the so many universities that offer meaningless courses, where will the youth go to? I can mention so many instances where the lack of forward-thinking is putting the future generations in danger

I could not agree more with your answer.

The upkeep is same across board… same what I give your mum