Wetangula's Bodyguard Fired

http://www.nation.co.ke/news/Wetangula-bodyguard-Simon-Lonyai-fired/1056-4075636-p04cpnz/index.html

Nasa co-principal Moses Wetangula’s bodyguard has been dismissed from the National Police Service after an altercation at Supreme Court on Monday.

Constable Simon Lonyang’, who served at the General Service Unit, was disarmed and arrested after a bitter confrontation with Central police chief Robinson Thuku who tried to restrict him from entering the court compound with a pistol contrary to a no-arms-beyond-this-point poster.

BADGES

Constable Lonyang’ and other bodyguards did not also have the accreditation badges that had been issued before the start of the hearing of the petition filed by Nasa leader Raila Odinga.

Mr Wetang’ula insisted that the officer should be allowed into the court premises saying “these are our security. He is an officer like yourself. Behave yourself. This boy is an officer like you”.

The officers manning the gate allowed them to enter, but moments later, Mr Lonyang’ was forced out and his pistol was taken away.

The pistol’s magazine, which was loaded with several bullets, was emptied.

LETTER

PC Lonyang’ was then taken to the Central Police Station where he spent the night in the cells.

The Nation has learnt that PC Lonyang was on Tuesday morning taken to the GSU headquarters where he was issued with dismissal letter.

He was later returned and locked up at the Central Police Station.

He will be arraigned in court on Wednesday to answer to charges of creating disturbance.

Jubilee/KANU dictatorship is back in full swing like it never left.

I saw this coming after he was disarmed and told he will never see his firearm again. There and then I knew it’s over for him.

Being a bodyguard to a VIP does not exempt one from the force regulation and discipline. He manhandled his senior (insurbodination, pap!), created disturbance, disobeyed lawful orders, resisted arrest, put the life of others at risk…the charge sheet will be full of this kind. Afande @pamba confirm.

20 Likes

If it what is reported in the papers is true, then the guy has a very good case. Kama ni mimi naenda Court kesho for an order for reinstatement.

[ATTACH=full]122758[/ATTACH] Punguza bangi. Sheria usipoifuata shauri yako

Hakuna kesi hapo, kazi ishapotea juu ya kudharau afisa mkuu…

It’s true. I watched the whole video yesterday.

The sign said clearly. “No Firearms allowed” Even from my tv i could see it…I don’t see why NASA should strong arm rules and regulations. Haha…but then again isn’t that what they are doing at the SC?

Plus kuingia kortini with a gun.

Ati a very good case? Kama umepigwa kalamu ni hivo. Remember the lady DIG yule mkambaa? Ule wa kubeba handbag akienda Kapedo, she was reinstated by the courts lakini wapi. Nyumbani ni nyumbani. Nilishangaa sana kuona jamaa anasukumana na wakubwa wake

That is why I said, if the newspaper reports are an account of what really happened, he will win that case, even without a lawyer. Even if you did something wrong, and your employer just hands you a dismissal letter, he/she is going to pay.

Sijakuelewa. How will he win the case, bearing in mind he even defied a court order of ‘No weapons beyond this point’?

edit: and he even defied a senior police officer.

Insubordination in the public service is an a very serious offence and the outcome is always summary dismissal

Very true

Oh yes! Newspapers have the whole truth. That’s why Orengo was dismissed with his newspaper cuttings in the Court of Appeal, no?

If he was not accorded a hearing before being dimissed. The newspaper report says after spending the night at central he was handed a dismissal letter. If that is what happened, hata kama alivunja sheria he will be reinstated.

I qualified that statement and clearly stated “IF the newspaper reports are true…”

Wacha ajibambe. He was reported to National Police Service Commission, the video clips provided and witness statements. NPSC wakachora kalamu across his name. That was a very serious offence. If you pull a stunt like that in front of your superiors, justice follows swiftly.

Unacheza na police services. Uliza @pamba venye kunaendanga. Ama wacha tu, hatajibu hayo.