what are this cookies

every new website i find myself in for the first time knocks me with a enormous gigantic “a must see” notification that at times blurs the background and am forced to accept the unknown demands…tecno-savvies or better word tecnophiles hii cookies ni nini na ni ya nini???

small pieces of data that are store locally on your device by web applications to help them remember current and previous states of user interaction, e.g imagine you are shopping and you have added several items to your cart, this information needs to be stored somewhere so that you can do something else and still continue with your shopping spree. same thing also happens when you login to a site such as ktalk, stores your authentication token in a small file and this file is what is called a cookie

mostly cookies are very good (HTML5 allows offline browsing via cookies), however if you go to an infected web site, the same cookies can be used to harm you because they will infect your device

comprehendere ?

kuna maswali you shouldn’t be asking In this day and age where we have information at our finger tips via google

niiicee…wewe ni mwalimu? totally understand…one more thing,tell me more about offline browsing!

I suspect ni EU or UK law that demands websites notify visitors of cookies. It’s a recent development less than 5 years. Sina uhakika though.

too busy here

actually pretty much all legislation e.g. i know the EU e-Privacy act was implemented in 2009

if you put in an explanation perhaps it is what i’ll find when i google…

unfortunately i cant teach, i completely lack the skills and finesse to do that (atleast based on the people i have mentored )

simplistically, offline browsing is a suite of storage API calls that were added to the HTML protocol culminating to HTML5. basically behind all the fancy names around the DOM, it all boils down to efficient ways of downloading a web application and storing it on a local sqlite DB so that the user can still browse through the static contents of web application when they are offline. you can still make smart things like doing some work offline (like shoppping) and synchronizing it with the live app once your connection is back online.

in a nutsheel, its a way to allow users to browse contents of a remote domain as if they were hitting a local host

please now write in english…:D:D:D:D:D

thats exactly why i cant teach, completely wouldn’t be able to even if my life depended on it.

the only other way i can re-translate it is to try and explain the same in latin , swahili or kamba (with some entity relationship diagrams if only i knew how to draw a straight line), but am sure i would completely fuckup that too :D:D:D

let me ask for help from one @Deorro

or kikamba…:frowning:

immediately i figure out the equivalent of DOM and HTML in kamba i will give it a shot, on this one we need the combined efforts of @kingolonde , @Chloe and @Some Say :D:D:D

Ni za kunywia nazo chai

Cookies = mbiskuti in kikamba.

Jamaneni unatumia Linux na haujui cookies ni nini?

Exactly, it’s a requirement in EU to notify users

Hehehe true

lets start with linux…i bet its an o.s version you talkin about…right?

you remind me of a bright young man 15 or so years ago who was to take us through “introduction to computers”…he spoke the Greek of computers and seemed exasperated that we were not keeping up with him…on the third day of the outsourced consultancy’s contract he had to be replaced. It is why i said professionals need to be trained to share their knowledge with Wanjiku…