WHAT IS REALLY HAPPENING IN LAIKIPIA

Who is in the picture to explain to me what is the REAL issue(s) in Laikipia. There seems to be several narratives depending on the tribe or race, there are white settlers, Kikuyus,Pokots, Samburus, Maasais,Boranas among otherof the one giving their account. There are several groups of protagonists in the conflict. I will not go into the incidents that have been in the news of killing large herds of livestock by security forces, forced displacement of communities via intimidation,rape,executions,cattle rustling and the like, targeting and killing white settlers among other issues. Now to my understanding these are the main protagonists in this protacted battle over Laikipia land.

1. White settlers who own very large tracts of land like Kuki Galman who was shot but survived and the owner of ranches such as the Sossion ranch who was executed. These also double up as conservationist who want to preserve the wildlife corridors in the area.

2. Squatters who have been living in ranches for decades ,these ranches are still owned by absentee land lords assumed to be whites who bought the land and then left the country indefinately.

3. Herders from Isiolo ,Marsabit and Samburu counties basically neighbouring counties that perennially invade ranches in Laikipia ,they are suspected to be politically instigated and to have an expansionist agenda where they want to systematically encroach on the Laikipia land and they begun this in North Laikipia but have moved further and further into the greater Laikipia county.

4. The group ranches which were bought by mostly kikuyus but also some pokots and other Kenyan tribes, they are also forced off their ranches by the ‘herders’

5. Several Politicians who have large herds of cattle in Laikipia who want a free grazing policy which has no boundaries meaning grazing can be done even in a crop farming area, these then politically incite herders that the land belongs to them communally-community land and that it is being grabbed by ‘outsiders’ this leads to a situation where a land owner can not even fence their piece of land let alone develop it. And if they try watakiona cha mtema kuni.

Who is in Laikipia to give us the low down on this matter?

Hii tukishughulikia na tukamaliza in another thread. Toka sana.

Purely political and expansionist , politicians from the pastoral communities sending their fellow tribesmen into private land to use them as canon fodder and later using their dead animals and bodies as soap boxes to stir ethnic hate towards the “Invading communities”

Laikipia MP breaks it down better in the link below

[MEDIA=twitter]928313328643928069[/MEDIA]

Just get rid of Mathew Lempurkel and peace will reign in the region

Homeguards protecting the colonists

Don’t think that by replying to you I have suddenly developed an aota of respect for you.

But what is happening in Laikipia is lawlessness from Pokots and Samburu.

I have a relative who lives in Ng’arua. About two weeks ago, herders drove herds of cattle into her two-acre tomato farm. TWO ACRES OF MATURING TOMATOES! She could do nothing. The fuckers were armed. Two years previously, they had killed her daughter - my cousin - because the daughter’s husband was vocal about the frequent invasions. They came in the night and sprayed the homestead with bullets. Two bullets got her as she shielded her two kids.

Anyway, if you know how dry Ng’arua is, you might have an idea of the superhuman effort that goes into nurturing two acres of tomatoes to maturity.

She has become withdrawn and is showing self neglect these two weeks. I fear this will be the end of her.

My guess is that you’re not a mzungu. Pole sana.

Awww!!! Am so honored. Blocking you ASAP bitch, peleka respect kwa nyanyako

Who gives a fuck about who you respect? Kwanza what are you? And who the hell do you thin you are?

Kikuyus have been in Laikipia for centuries what’s wrong with them owning land in there region???

Secondly pastoralism in the 21st century is dead. The solution is to have the government come up with proper demacarted grazing land known as open range where cattle will only be allowed to graze and water in these areas. The ranges will spread across several counties and these will be protected areas meaning no guns or violence will be permitted in these ranges. Communities will be allowed to share these grazing lands and all animals must be properly tagged and marked for identification.

The government will provide a constant supply of water and hydroponics fodder which will be set up where cattle will be allowed to eat tons of it because hydroponics fodder can be easily grown.

Example

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2BYvgIlJ2Fo

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=QjX7WITuWp4

These are the solutions that will end this pastoralist nonsense that seems to plague central and northern Kenya.

last straw would be me spreading poison and letting their precious cows go belly up , mimi huyo matatu ya nairofi

People will die,ask the Pokomo who tried it on the Orma, waliuliwa kama nzige

[ATTACH=full]137789[/ATTACH]

They are already killing people so give them something to think about next time they graze their cattle in peoples farms !

Same thing is happening to Kambas with Somalis grazing camels in peoples farms . I hate the entitlement mentality pastoral communities have !

My point is it’ll be a blood bath and it may never end

It will end, time is first catching up with them, other communities are tired of them , the government killing their livestock was a clear message to them to style up and stop the entitlement issues, keep the livestock that you can manage

Pastoralists, considered savages, are incompatible with sedentary, considered civilized, society. That is the problem.
Govt needs to start “rehabilitation” of their children by building boarding schools in those areas

Pastoralism is not sustainable especially with climate change. The pastoralist communities should be encouraged to embrace agriculture. Eg sorghum

Pastoral herders would rather watch their little children die from starvation then slaughter some of the animals to secure food for their families. They drive the huge herds of cattle far and wide and end up destroying fields of food crops in an effort to expand or replenish animals lost during dry weather.

Cattle herders cannot think sanely about cattle. Cattle are as god.

They need educating, a policy to enforce herd reduction during very dry weather. In dry weather- they reduce herds by selling some cattle and also slaughtering some animals, preserve meat food for families.

Laikipia may be earmark for cattle rustling - organised theft to order – Ques, who is the buyer???.